Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Alieanum

by Kaev - Compo Entry

Story:
You are an evil alien who's attacking the earth.
The humans saw your spaceship through telescopes and are attacking you right now.

This was my first Ludum Dare and it was so AWESOME.
I learned so much in the past 2 days and i'm really happy that i joined the competition. This is my first game which i can call kinda finished.. :P

Programming: C#, SFML.NET 2.2 library
Graphics: Paint, Photoshop
Sounds: bfxr

Well, i hope we see us again next Ludum Dare! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#599Humor2.40
#628Audio2.16
#730Mood2.53
#784Graphics2.42
#799Fun2.48
#849Overall2.59
#889Theme2.34
#905Innovation1.91

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:50am

Web version links to a download, couldn't play it in browser (Chrome or Firefox)

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54am

Sorry, no web version.
I thought that would be for the web page..
Removed it from the list, thanks for mentioning it.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:27am

The yay:
- power-ups (two)
- allow player to play own soundtrack *whistling*

The nay:
- no hi-score storing!
- no difficulty progression (got score 200 until borequit)
- graphics are inconsistent (especially the moon compared to the nebula thing)
- sounds often seemed to be cut short, kind of like the next replaced the previous or something (instead of both sounds being mixed)?

The meh:
- gameplay
- story
- use of theme (one could change story to have humans sending their pilot against alien invasion and rest could play the same)

Tips for the future:
- if you make hi-score based game, make sure the best result isn't forgot the instant player closes game over screen
- simple yet consistent graphics are better than mix of crude and polished
- find way to handle sounds properly in SFML.NET?

Good luck with further gamedev-ing~!

Kubees says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:31am

Interesting little game, in my opinion airship is little bit slow so I didn´t attemp to hit almost anything.

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:01am

@Sunflower: I actually never used the sound part of SFML and it was my first try. I played around with it, copied the example code and so on but never got rid of this. Don't know if i just didn't understood the sound part or if it's a bug in the library. But i thought better a little buggy sound than no sound at all. :)
Thanks for the detailed review!

Also big thanks to everyone else for you feedback and votes! \o/

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:12am

Despite its simplicity, the game was surprisingly fun! Could have done with some music or slightly varied sound effects, but what was there was very retro, and satisfying. The graphics were interesting and good enough to not hinder the game, but could have been a bit nicer. Overall, I really like this one!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:20am

Welcome to Ludum Dare!
I first learned making games by making a shooter game too!
One important thing to improve game dev drastically is to use entirely consistent art as soon as possible, even if it means making consistently low quality art at first. Once there is consistency there will be style, which will set it apart from all beginner games.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Good solid entry for a first Ludum Dare so congratulations on finishing, always a great learning experience so keep going.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Great work for you first game. Surprisingly fun in the end! I love how the game felt. Power-ups are awesome

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Great power ups! Very fun game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Hi, thanks for letting us play your game!

Congratulations on finishing! Really liked the outer space mood and classic-shooter setup.

Development for the future: Would have loved some music and as others have mentioned, slightly more consistency on the graphics.

Good work!

mar3k says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:00pm

this game is really hardcore. I'm ashamed of it, but I rage quitted :D

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:50am

Solid gameplay, I like that you get upgrades. Also, the horizontal missiles are a nice touch.

Audio glitches after a while.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:27am

That's pretty impressive for a first game, comparing to my first game for the LD29. Keep participating!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]