Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Oko Furia

by Tselmek - Jam Entry

!!! Make sure to lower the volume before playing, this game might literally blow your mind ;) (loud audio)

### Dropbox' server seems to have some issues, please download the game from either Gamejolt or itch.io ###

This is the second Ludum Dare I participate in and this time I brought reinforcement as Mike Daw hepled me with the audio and design.
I felt really more accomplished with this game than with my previous entry and I really enjoyed making it so I hope you enjoy playing it :)

= Descritpion =
Destroy buildings, eat helicopters and spread terror in the whole city.
Dive to destroy as much buildings as you can while making the greatest combos possible, but don't get shot by an helicopter or it's game over.
Get the best highscore and feel free to show it off!

Make sure to tweet your highscore with #OkoFuria !

= Controls =
X to flap
C to dive

= Postjam =
The postjam only features a more or less lower audio and a resizable window.
Nothing else has been changed or added apart from these two things.

= Credits =
Graphics, Programming and Design by Tselmek (@tselmek)
Audio and Design by Mike Daw (@mikedaw2000)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#20Fun(Jam)4.09
#38Audio(Jam)4.09
#83Overall(Jam)3.88
#248Mood(Jam)3.50
#250Graphics(Jam)3.95
#259Theme(Jam)3.78
#470Humor(Jam)2.89
#560Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

Gosh it feels SO good to smash the buildings. My only complaint is the "flapping", it feels kinda clunky BUT after the 10th time it felt better. heh

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Controls could be better, and helicopters are pretty hard! Good game though

faemir says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Really satisfying to crush those buildings, the graphics in general was great (particular eating the helicopters!). The audio was on-point and the whole thing felt pretty tight.

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

SMASH! =D

reckhou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Highscore: 3
** RAGE QUIT **

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43pm

It feels great to smash buildings. Graphics and sound&music are alright. I wish it wouldn't get boring very fast but I guess it is the thing with these kind of games. At least for me.

Pietdagamer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Awesome audio :D

congusbongus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40pm

This is pretty well made, the gameplay is just great. The controls could feel a little better though, I feel the flaps aren't high enough and don't feel as natural as say flappy bird, and I'm not sure if this is a bug or intentional, but a flap immediately following a dive goes very high. Once I got used to it the game felt great.

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Interesting interaction between both the audio and the gameplay! Well done!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47pm

nice graphics and great idea "D

superfreak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:17pm

LOVE the catchy audio and fun gameplay - great job! Could play for hours

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:03am

Fast and fun. I really like the music

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:05am

Really great art style and music. Super addictive gameplay, would be a hit on mobile.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:08am

Very strong engine and nice visuals.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

It's a nice twist on the flapping formula and it has a nice weighty feeling to it, easy to get sucked in to. The art is also really nice, I loved the parallax effect on the background.

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:20am

Really damn fun. Smart combination of mechanics, felt like we could play this forever.

guoboism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30am

Yes, it feel very good when smashing buildings! And the sirens and screams really feel goods,too.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:53pm

yay 12650 points! I really liked the graphics, the music, controls... Nice work!

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:54pm

All in all this game does really well. You have the good "feel" going. I wish the eyeball was a different graphic. It didn't feel like it matched the rest of the game but everything else was outstanding.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:14pm

A bit too simple for me but quite fun. Well done.

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36pm

8300 points, only stopped when my finger got tired of flapping :P
Nice entry!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Super addicting!

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:26am

This is just freaking amazing you guys. Extremely fun, juicy, and addictive! Gonna keep this one after LD ends for sure!

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:57am

Very addicting little game, graphics are amazing and smashing buildings feels really good!

Shackhal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:17am

The gameplay is very good. Simple and solid. The graphics have a nice harmony, except the game over screen. It disrupts the flow. The music and the sounds are very good. The best are the screams xD

Overall, is a very good game. Well done.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:39am

Best gamefeel I've seen so far, I loved the concept, it's pretty well executed and really addictive. Great presentation too with a special mention to the audio. I really enjoyed playing you're entry so take a good score, sir :D

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:18pm

It's so good and thanks for entry! Very playable!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:24am

Fun game, lovin' that music :D

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:10am

Suck it guys, 78,000 points: http://i.imgur.com/ZRIavhA.png
I am clearly the master of Oko Furia.

I feel like a monster terrorising a city, the alarms and such in the background are great, music is great, visuals are great (barring the bullets from the 'copters), getting 78,000 points is great, game is 5 stars. Imma go play more Oko Furia.

jofra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Very cool game! very nice feedback and fell from the game.
Gj!

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:31am

Very frantic game. Liked the many elements added into it. Hooray for camera shakes!

I felt like being able to flap beyond the top of the screen was a pretty bad exploit for avoiding helicopters (even if it resets the combo counter). The flap physics didn't nearly feel as good. It would have been nice if each flap made you rise farther, and the gravity fall a little faster, giving a nice sense of tight controls.

Overall, very solid entry. Had a lot of fun!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:34am

It's a lot of fun to smash buildings and munch choppers. Graphics are great, specially for the background, and the song is awesome too!

block97 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:45am

Really addicting game. Very nice job on the art and the music.

block97 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:02am

Highscore: 195700!

Mantlair says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Very good. It just cathces the theme. I will probably play this some more time. To relax myself! Please make a mobile version!

jrhee says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Really fun game, crashing is super satisfying!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:43am

Excellent sound! THe city in the background looks great too. Nice and tricky to get the controls right, which I really like. Only thing is I wish my eyeball had wings :)

Great entry!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Nice game, not too much like flappy bird :P I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CvW_HEqR1oI

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Straight forward and satisfying to play! Great looking background sprites. That is one strong eyeball.

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:54am

Highscore: 11,150
The environment artwork is really good, I love the parallax effect. Smashing the buildings felt really good, and the constant struggle to keep the eye afloat added the right amount of stress to keep the gameplay interesting. Well done!

madmaw says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Love the music and audio in this (the screaming people and sirens in the background capture the mood nicely). Parallax scrolling backgrounds are a nice touch that makes it look professional. It's fun to play too. Good work

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Best combo 14! EAT THAT LUDUM DARERS! (nah, i really sucks) Anyway... Game was great! Simple but addicting. I played it a lot while i was waiting for download of other games :D

All in all, solid entry!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Saw this one in some streams! Feels really good to play it, laughed really hard after eating my first helicopter xD

Great art, sound.

The only critique I can come up with:
As a right handed person I would have prefered to play the game with my right and on the right side of the keyboard, my left hand is not used to press only a single button in quick succession - but this is only a very minor point :-P

Thank you guys for making this game!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:04am

Loved the music and graphics. This version of Flappy Bird was way better than the original. Much more addicting. Great job!

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:51am

Loved the background music and sound. Would've liked to have more than one hit point, but the game was still fun!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:40pm

A lot of fun, good job!
Also really like the graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]