Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Where-Wolf

by mde - Jam Entry

You play a werewolf that is imprisoned in a cave since ancient times and finally comes free. The werewolf can change between a wolf and a human form depeding on whether he is exposed to moon light or not. Try to escape the cave by solving different puzzles.

Controls

A/D: Walk left/right
Space: Jump
W: Interact/Climb up
S: Climb down
M: Go to main menu
F: Toggle fullscreen(only for Web version)

The downloadable version can also be played with an Xbox 360 controller:

Left Stick: Walk left/right, Climb up/down
A: Jump
X: Interact
Start: Go to main menu

If you have problems with spacebar scrolling the screen try to use fullscreen (press 'F') or download the Jar-File

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Theme(Jam)3.85
#276Overall(Jam)3.52
#309Fun(Jam)3.37
#364Mood(Jam)3.33
#364Audio(Jam)3.17
#384Innovation(Jam)3.19
#609Humor(Jam)2.65
#646Graphics(Jam)3.11
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

vanZeben says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

You don't seem to be capturing mouse/web input or cancelling the key events making the space bar scroll the page and jump in game... A little difficult to play like this but I really liked the direction you went with it. And great music!

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16pm

@vanZeben I have had problem with input not being captured, but I tought I fixed it. What browser are you using?

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:18pm

@vanZeben you can also try to play it fullscreen or play the downloadable version.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:47pm

I liked the look, music and idea behind this game, but the page kept scrolling when I jump which made it much too difficult to play after a point.
I'll check back later to see if it has been fixed.

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38pm

@peterkirk I'm working on it, but it seems to be a bug with the engine I'm using. Try playing the game in fullscreen mode (press 'F') or downloading the Jar-File.

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Fixed the "Spacebar Problem"

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19pm

It's a pretty solid entry, nice concept, nice take on the theme

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21pm

This is a great idea! Cool twist on the platforming mechanic. However, the amount of sliding that the character does, particularly in werewolf state, makes everything feel kinda floaty and makes it difficult to position yourself in the one-block moonbeams.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:24pm

It took me so long to realize the beams were moonlight, not water. Even after the mirror. It did seem odd, I didn't *think* werewolves were traditionally a water-themed monster, and water doesn't usually reflect... but for some reason, I didn't question my initial assumption.

Good job, though! It does get a bit frustrating when you keep falling. It can be hard to judge jumps due to the momentum changes when you transform.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Very interesting mechanics. I like how the different characters control. Surprisingly long given the time constraint. Good job!

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Interesting concept. I love the way the levels are designed and the concept of integrating the transformation into the platforming.

Halfbus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Pretty nice mechanic, add better control on movement and it'll be pretty nice platformer

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:44pm

The mechanics ended up working better than I originally expected. The platform mechanics themselves were kind of clunky, but forgiving enough to not be a big issue, but the puzzle aspects with mirrors and such was interesting.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Nice use of the theme and using the moonlight is an interesting idea.

Yrr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Really nice to see someone else using a moonlight mechanic!

demogorgon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Holy crap this is awesome. 5/5 all the way. The werewolf transformation is quite cool. Hitboxes were a bit large, but past that everything ran smoothly.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Really good game, loved the puzzles!

undef says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Very clever idea!

darklightteam says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Nice puzzles and levels, although I didn't really like when it came down to trial error. Nice entry.

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Please consider adding arrow key functionality to you games in the future. Where I live, keyboards have an AZERTY layout, instead of QWERTY, so our A/Q and Z/W are switched around, making it very hard to play your game without remapable keys.
Simply supporting arrow key input fixes this problem for any type of keyboard.
The game is nice, so it's a real bummer about those controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]