Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Village Terrorizer

by Flygamer101 - Compo Entry

Made by Flygamer101 in less than 48 hours for Ludum Dare 33

PLAY THE TUTORIAL LEVEL OR YOU WON'T UNDERSTAND

Well, got a late start, and in about 30 hours ended up with this. Pretty fun, rate as you wish.

UPDATE: Added web playable.
UPDATE II: Mac and Linux Added

=======================
This game can be for the cruel of heart, or sparring of minds (lol that sounds weird). In here, the player can choose, to throw fireballs at innocent people slaughtering guards and villagers alike with you bare hands, breaking apart walls all to get home, or to simply observe a village, watch it grow. Watch the buildings rise. Watch the fires burn. Watch more and more people come until the village is overflowing. Then try to break it open. An army awaits inside. Can you defeat it?

Includes 3 levels and tutorial..


CONTROLS
W
ASD - Move
F - Melee attack
G - Ranged attack, based on Mana

Q and E - Move Camera Left and Right
F1 - Reset Camera Position

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#321Audio3.04
#502Graphics3.02
#558Mood2.87
#558Overall3.03
#561Innovation2.85
#601Theme3.18
#731Fun2.63
#735Humor2.04

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:37am

Try to read the Discription xD

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

Linux package isn't. Just contains a .exe. Can't rate.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

Sorry about that. I will fix it tomorrow

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07am

Well, it's fun. Graphics are simple, but effective. Sadly the biggest part of the screen is not used (I would love to see the action from a little closer)
The music is really cool too!

quill18 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08am

Remarkably chill to just watch the village grow!

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

great, still has some bugs. looks great though

SudoDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

Cool concept, if you plan on expanding it you might try and make it a sandbox thing, I'd love to leave it on one of my screens and watch the village grow, then when i'm board go wipe out a house or two.

Arcadonauts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

This looked good (though the sunlight was a little too much for me). I love the idea of this game supporting multiple play styles, but I feel like the scoring system undercut that (there's no wrong way to play it, but if you don't play it the right way, you won't get points... what?).

This is really great, and my feedback is really just minor nitpicks. I can't believe this is only 48 hours of work!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13am

@SudoDave
I did think of the sandbox thing! Placable tiles and houses. Maybe I will expand it.

Freebios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16am

Funny little game!
Camera movement a bit "hard" when changing direction but except this I like it :)

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

I liked the graphics, but it was kind of difficult to tell what scale I was operating on.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:19am

This was a really nice game. :)

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:19am

music is great! every soldier on the map died at once for some reason. but other then that great job

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24am

Neat idea to have the city live and grow over time! I thought the visuals had a neat style and the music went well with the pace of the game. The bloom effect makes things hard to see, though, especially the text in the tutorial. The game felt very slow to play. The attack speed, mana recharge time, and the amount of health enemies have add up to make the levels much longer than they should be. It also doesn't feel like there's any challenge to the game, since the soldiers don't seem to chase you much. You can just shoot fireballs and make your way through the levels without any difficulty.

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:25am

Nice little game with some simple actions to kill some tribesmen off of your way.

I loved the contrast of the jovial music in contrast with the blood spilling from the peasants.

Nice little game!

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26am

Nice smiley face. Good game, one thing i'd suggest adding would be to make the soldiers start attacking you if they're hit with fireballs.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

@kewleus I know what you mean xD You can just snipe them from a distance. I worked on the Guard AI last, and added with working on the GUI, I had no time.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

Nice relaxing game. It is easy to get to the other side in the first level, but the other two levels are really hard.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

@RadioLemon
My friend said they were too easy xD
The third one is very hard. . .
The second one just takes careful timing and strategy

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

it's a nice little game that fits the theme well, unfortunately, the combat couldn't hold my interest for more then a few minutes. but I did like the music quite a bit.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

Nice game! Simple clean graphics. Good work!

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

I think it got little bugged out. couldn't move when I hit the fence on the other side of the village. :/ anyway nice looking game. Relaxing music. :)

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59am

THOSE GRAPHICS <3

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:15am

I had fun launching fireballs at villagers and destroying buildings. Seems like I could only fire fireballs in one direction but the melee attacks worked fine. The music was very catchy. I also like what you did with the shader and particle effects. Great job! <3

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40am

nice

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04am

The art style was nice and simple. There were a lot naked! :P
Well done. Nice theme music too.

bradur says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Relaxing game. I loved what you did with the village, making it grow over time. The effects went nicely with the blocky graphics.

FiSilva says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I like the music and the concept of the city growing. A sandbox game with this concept would be cool.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:09pm

@FiSilva
I may just expand this game for sandbox. Thanks for playing.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I think the controls/player movement could have been a bit faster or smoother, I love the graphics though and it fits the theme really well :D

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01pm

You sir, just created a jerkotron - this game tempts you to be an ass*ole and then tells you "good job" by the end of the level. This is hillarious ! haha good job! XD

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Mana should regenerate a little faster.

I also encountered a few bugs -
Sometimes the player stopped.
Lines appear above trees.

Knights should be easier to kill, and archers would be a nice addition.

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Game reminds me of a game I played at Gamescom.

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Dunno about this melee combat. Seems like the knights have more range than I do?

I love the feel of the game though. I just wish things died faster (buildings especially).

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:59pm

The village growing was pretty cool, though it was hard to fight the guards without dying.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:12pm

You should add more contrast to graphics. Now it's a bit too hard to separate the sprites from the background.

Anyway, nice little game.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I have to admit I did not wait for the village to grow :D

belva1234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I really like this game, nice music, image effect and simple graphic

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Relaxing music.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:58pm

@TerraCottaFrog
Didn't have time to make archers, but it did cross my mind. As for the player stopping, I don't know enough to fix it yet, but you just go back, then forward.

conrad123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:03am

The music fits great!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:55am

Great entry, the sounds really set the mood. Loved the graphics, I feel like it was a bit too well lit though, night time was nice :P

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

I love that there are many different ways to play this. Nice take on the theme.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice music. Make you feel peaceful while destroying villages.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

minimilist art style really works well. music is decent too

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:17am

It's really cool to watch the village grow, haha. I didn't actually want to destroy them.

This is a weird game, because the objective isn't really compelling and the alternative is more interesting. It's actually a pretty good interpretation of the theme.

The lighting here is gorgeous, and the simplicity of the graphics really works. The music is a bit annoying after some time, however, and some sound effects would have been nice.

Cerberus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33am

it was a really interesting game. the controls were a little stiff but they were ok. i thought that the environment pixel art was great but the characters pixel art could have been better. I found the gameplay a bit slow. i enjoyed it, great work!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33am

Simple, but fun and to the point. There's definitely something to the balance of letting the village grow and just destroying stuff.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:52am

Graphics are awesome, love the blur and the particle effects, unique idea, gameplay if fun. Excellent work.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:22am

i was watching more how the village grow than i demolish it.
the game is over simple to understand. but the enemys need some tweaking to it.but i see also some potential in it.

ronsap123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Pretty good! I enjoyed the gameplay, Good job!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23pm

A cool concept, but I wasn't interesting for a long time watching the village grow, and I didn't have enough self control to let them.

I enjoyed that you could choose to be peaceful. But you had to be a monster to progress.

The combat was good, and you did a great job on the graphics. Particles and all!

Really good job making this whole village growing system. It was very well done, and great fun to knock down!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Just, no.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49pm

A really nice game overall. Controls could be more sensitive. The graphics are really cool but I don't particularly like the blur to the sides - it doesn't fit in with the pixel art.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:39pm

I just watched the villagers grow out the town, pretty impressive.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I ended up holding down D+F to move forward while punching. After I died there was no end screen I just laid there while people pushed around my corpse.
I like the music in this game and the visuals are well done. It could have used a bit more polish but a good entry regardless.

Insality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:15pm

ooh, this graphics so sweety. And great+ for tutorial and nice UI, it's rly sweety!
good game and good fun from it ;)

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48pm

@ThomeTheMagician
I see what you did there :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Cool idea, there should be something you can do to help the village, although that doesn't fit the theme

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:56am

If you die the game still move on, and sometimes you get stuck in the air. Graphics are good a i like the game music.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very cool. I like the depth you were able to add here. I like the pixel art and the overall aesthetics of the game. Good job!

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:46am

Great graphics, audio, and well put togeather game. Maybe add archers?

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:44am

@Feetsalot
I've decided to start work on a post-jam game. Good Luck to me :D However, with school, I might not have too much time to put into it.

Hint: Archers Confirmed :D

Wumbo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:13pm

great game but, I would work on the graphics

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:41pm

interesting concept! Had some good fun playing it. However, I couldn't shoot fireballs to the left. Being able to jump would also really help.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Good compo! Seeing the village getting is nice

Zeriver says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really solid entry, i like this retro style. It's nice that you give player options to just watch village grow, i found myself enjoying observing how people just keep building new stuff.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Looks promising. A game over screen when you die would be nice for a future version.

Forlorn79 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:33pm

As others have said, the biggest problem is that things go too slow, and you can just snipe the enemies. I think just making the destruction and attacks go faster, and making more levels, would have helped the fun factor. The best part was the overall look and feel.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:18am

I like the idea. The graphics is neat. Nice job!

voidstar33 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Cool graphics. Nice light shards. Excellent work.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:08am

Liked that you could choose to watch the village grow instead of attacking, thought that was a nice addition but did have a bug in the tutorial where I couldn't keep walking forward and the camera kept stuttering. Only lasted a few seconds though and then I could keep walking to the cave.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:45am

Nice use of the theme. I liked how the monster was really just trying to get home. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/U5AMORGkiRk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]