Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Elevator Monster

by MrKOHCEPBAHT - Compo Entry

Wow! You are the Elevator Monster!
Eat some humans, but watch out for right colors!
The rules are very simple: if your stomach have green acid - better eat green people.
Try to score as much as possible, the game ends at level 10.

P.S. Better play unity web build, PC is not tested, game is created for 900x600 resolution. Oh, and also you MUST have QWERTY keyboard to play this game.

If game does not start in i-frame, try Web link below (Unity web player is needed).

Downloads and Links




Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

I think you uploaded the wrong file. I get a download message instead of it starting.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59am

nom nom me some people!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05am

This is a fun game!

I think it could benifit from some sort of constantly depleting bar, which is filled by eating people. If the bar depletes, you lose. This way the game could be very intense.

As it stands, this is an excellent and original game.

BortStudios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05am

More varied sound effects and a better way to do bad would make this a decent teaching type game. Also, playing up on the only being able to have one monster per row is interesting - I was trying to do better by playing horizontally, even though I had multiple ones to get on a single column

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26am

Nice idea(elevatormonster). Easy to play.

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

Cool but what is the game over condition?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:33pm

The game ends after 9 lvl. The goal is to get as much score as possible. Now I realized that it's kinda lame, that I should have added some starving mechanics to increase gameplay speed.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:49pm

I found this a really good game. I may have missed it but I wish there was a sound or a better way to tell when the colour changes, I found quite often I was so busy watching the top half I didn’t notice I was collecting the wrong colour. However that is a minor gripe on what is otherwise a really good game.

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Cannot play the game, I get either unity3d file or it sends me to google drive ans says I don't have permission

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Very funny game also the sound effects are very cool.
Some feedback when the colour changes would be nice in advance. I usually press lots of keys at the same time, and get them with the old colour in the stomach.

wavertron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Interesting control scheme. Neat

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:38pm

No story and simple graphics.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:42pm

So I'm eating people? Nothing extraordinary in my life.


Anyway, fun little game.

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I was shocked when I saw I gave you 4* in so many categories I had to give you overall 4*. Take that as compliment!

Vladik Plays says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

This game is awesomely adictive! I got 7310 points! XDD

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I got 23000 max but I've played this a lot (I am the author).

stoarch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Good game. And interesting one.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Fun idea :)

folex70 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:23pm

i played a lot, very cool. Congratulations for this game! good work!

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Game could be fun with some time pressure and losing condition. The fact that you can get multiple people at the same time only if they're in different columns makes it interesting. I like the monster's look, and I'm impressed you had the time to add an intro!

cmayhem says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:45am

Simple and good, but needs a little something to make it a bit more compelling and interesting.

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:00am

Very fun approach to a puzzle-style game!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Thanks everyone for comments. You are really nice.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Simple yet addicting game. Good job !

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Nice concept! As some people say, it could be great to add a "starving" system to put the player under pressure

cyrixd says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:57am

Pretty fun little typing game. Had interesting strategy since you could only pull one row per column at a time, so you had to go through each column of keys. I was confused as to when the acid color would change, which made planning ahead difficult. Nice entry!

wooltech says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:38pm

More fun that it looked at first. Great typing-tutor style game, although it was frustrating when the colour changed without me noticing, or even changing when there was a colour already on it's was down.

gmaker says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:40pm

=) so fun! good job sir

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:26am

the game play is very original but very difficult to get trained to. Too many keys to play with. That's just my personnal opinion. You tried something different and that's a good point: 4/5 for innovation.

Oct 18, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :)

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]