Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Beat Eaters

by kirbytails7 - Compo Entry

It is important to recognize not only our successes but our failures, which are successes in their own ways.

Beat Eaters is a rhythm-action game. Build your monster squad, fight opponents with rhythm minigames, and steal the rhythm of their souls.

Collect music notes to summon new monsters. Each monster will randomly kick off a short minigame; win to attack your opponents. If attacked by an opponent, you can click the attack to block it.

Lessons (re)leared:
- Don't base a rhythm game on an event system. Things that need to act on the beat should check against it themselves, rather than be notified on the beat; this facilitates adding a tolerance around the beat. (This doesn't mean you shouldn't have some central beat manager!)
- Plan. Even for a jam game, take a half-hour or hour and just plan and research. Some people spend the whole first evening planning.
- Source control is useful, even for a 48-hour jam. It's basically as long as a work week, so expect the see a lot of changes.
- Double your estimates. Maybe triple them. I know I tend to scope out a game that I technically could finish in time but it's a tight fit, so any major hang-ups throw things off.

Source is included in the download, if you're interested. It's very sloppy. Coded in C# with Unity 5 and Visual Studio 2013.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#339Innovation3.21
#690Fun2.69
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

tigerrenko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Love the idea

Kizler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:14am

I like the general idea behind it. I'm sure a great game can be pulled out of this.

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:30am

I didn't understand what i was supposed to be doing.

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:20am

Innovative concept indeed. A little bit off the theme, but seriously interesting idea, I could see this developed as a complete game.

Vaclav says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:51am

Please add a short description how to play.

Demy says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:08pm

It wasn't quite obvious when and where should I click the rythm.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:11am

Not sure why I didn't include instructions, but they're there now. Anything UI related would be non-trivial to fix or describe, but I'd be happy to hear all complaints.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:37am

nice game!

Skoggy says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:39am

Cool idea, a little confusing at first though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]