Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tentacle Smash

by BoxedMeatRevolution - Jam Entry





Darling, you're big! Sugar, you're greeeen! Baby, you're a two-tentacled alien monster of supreme destruction and you're being attacked!

Defend yourself by using your tentacles to fend off the attackers! Smash them into each other for insane combos!





INTRUCTIONS
-----------

Click somewhere in the screen to make the closest tentacle move towards the mouse.

Combos are achieved by bumping enemies into each other.

You have 3 lives. Make the most out of them.





Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#212Fun(Jam)3.51
#251Innovation(Jam)3.38
#318Theme(Jam)3.71
#431Overall(Jam)3.32
#437Audio(Jam)3.00
#572Humor(Jam)2.70
#663Graphics(Jam)3.08
#691Mood(Jam)2.89

Comments

eric777 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52am

This is the first game I've rated this time around. Screenshot must have caught my eye :)

Brilliant and original concept. I'm not sure I've played anything quite like this. It made me feel huge like king kong on the top of the skyscraper swatting down planes. Music & sfx were perfect for the mood.

Game played a little choppy/slow - maybe it's my browser? If I could restart without reloading the page from the "You Lost" screen, I'm not sure how.

Great job!!!

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

awesome ambiance! the gameplay is simple and fun, and I love the clean graphics.

wy477wh173 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13am

fun idea, cute spin on the prompt.

It was quite different.

-Kelsie and Wyatt

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

!!!!! This game is seriously fun!! Just improve it and sell, I loved this tentacle mechanics, just loved!

deathray says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58am

High scores for innovation and theme! I definitely enjoyed it. (My game is jealous of your tentacles!)

Monkokio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00am

Neat concept!

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01am

Hahaha nice one! :D

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01am

Nice one :)

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12am

Very addictive gameplay. Not the greatest visuals but they were mostly consistent which is nice. I haven't really played a game like this before and managing both tentacles on each side of the screen was actually quite hectic and fun. Well done!

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Interesting mechanics. I didn't know for sure how to effectively use both tentacles, but it was a fun to flail them in the air.

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Got to 400, idk if that's easy or not :P. Only complaint is that you only need to use one tentacle as its length reaches the entire screen, thus making it pretty much just a useless attachment.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Very cool gameplay.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:11pm

coll little game, get s hard a little too quivkly, but really nice, enjoyed it

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Bonus points for tentacles!

van noctar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very innovant!!

I like it!

It's very good idea to manage each arms!!

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23pm

The game ran well for me and I liked it. The music was very eerie.

But can the game be won? At the end I got the message "You lost", so can I actually win the game?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really fun game with very satisfying gameplay.

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Cool entry! The smooth, flat-colored graphics look really clean. Good variety of enemy types. The tentacle moves well, just a little slower than you'd like. I'm a fan of the way you can smack enemies into each other for combos, like Planet Punch. Good stuff.

A "Replay" button and persistent high scores would be icing on the cake.

-mildmojo

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I like the idea and the game is funny too! The graphics and music was nice aswell :)

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice little game! I liked the mighty feeling of moving the tentacles, destroying the oncoming swarm of small UFOs :)

adsilcott says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Fun and simple game. Like the tentacle movement.

Taldius says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Simple but good! Also, with that kind of controls, you should think about making a mobile version of it.
Anyway, nice job!

Drauthius says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Cool game. Simple and fun. :)

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:23pm

The concept for this game is great and you built upon it perfectly with all the diffrent types of enimies/projectiles. Great Game ;D

tayl1r says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Nice! A little easier to control than some of the other monster arm physics entires.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]