Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Eat Free

by Team Myopia - Jam Entry

Eat Free
For Ludum Dare 33 "You are the monster"

Theme
A play on Ski Free where you are the monster of course. Run up to the top of the mountain and enjoy the fast moving buffett along the way. Just make sure you eat enough!

Controls
* W A S D - move around
* F2 - restart
* F3 - pause

Credits
* Dillon Shook (http://dillonshook.com) - Programming, Game Design
* Brandon Valosek (https://soundcloud.com/bvalosek) - Music and SFX
* Wing Wang Wao - [Sprites](http://www.vg-resource.com/thread-8939-post-168194.html)

Source
https://github.com/dshook/ludum-dare-33

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Humor(Jam)3.91
#84Theme(Jam)4.08
#123Fun(Jam)3.67
#280Mood(Jam)3.45
#338Audio(Jam)3.23
#404Innovation(Jam)3.17
#527Overall(Jam)3.21
#774Graphics(Jam)2.83
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Ski Free but istead you ski you eat.

Don_Martinez says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Fun game! Maybe a skier should be worth more than 2 seconds of gameplay.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:35am

It's a sin that the food doesn't last longer cause I could play that much longer than my skill allows. Love the throwback to Ski Free from the other side, hilarious!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:38am

Nice tribute game :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:39am

Nice! It just sucks that I can't play for even a minute at a time because of all the long times with nobody to eat.

Flaid says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:43am

This is a perfect idea for this theme! I mean, who doesn't remember sitting down at their computer playing this game?? Oh, memories...

It seemed like there were some pretty significant gaps where there were no skiiers... not sure if I was just too far in one direction on the X axis or something, but there were a few times where the poor monster almost starved to death.

I made it to the top, but there was only trees blocking my way, and, in the end, the monster succumbed to hunger and died.

5/5, would eat free again.

lanestp says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:48am

I love, love, love, love the eating animation. Only problem with the game is there aren't enough skiers. I couldn't eat enough of them to stay alive. Still awesome though!

Team Myopia says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:49am

Haha thanks for the comments, it is hard to balance the skiier spawn rate. Too high and they clump up and it becomes too easy, too low and there isn't anyone around...

Team Myopia says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:50am

Also, for people looking to get more fun out of it, download the source, open in unity, and tweak the spawn rates! I definitely had a lot of fun cranking them up and going nuts

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

Invokes good memories!

Interesting concept too!

Fun!

Hard!

niiiiiiiceo ne

Felipe Tasca says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:59am

Guys, I had a very similar idea at the beginning of the event! Pretty crazy that someone has implemented it!

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:00am

Ooh, looks cool. Any chance of a Linux build? Or WebGL?

aucguy says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:48am

There weren't enough people to eat and the game ended pretty quickly.

bowlercaptain says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:10am

Up arrows suggested I run upwards: There were no skiiers to be found up there, at least that I saw. The idea is sublime, and I commend the finer touches on having skiiers run into trees, but it was remarkably difficult to survive - my high score is 4. Beautiful use of the theme.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:52am

Loved this. So much fun. Got repetitive after a while and I just let the monster starve to see what would happen. =P Great Job!

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:00am

I love it!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:40am

Soooo good. At long last I can get revenge on those damn snowboarders. Thank you for this.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:41am

I liked the art style, the music and the animations. The gameplay was also very cool, but it could have more features. Overall, it was really fun. Congrats =)

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:25pm

This was quite hilarious... I loved the little animations. Starved to death a few times, it seems skiers aren't that nourishing. whoever said sport is healthy...

BUNN1E5 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Absolutely awesome~!

Realize2D says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Now at the last rating day I'm finding games with similar idea of mine. It's fun!
I've made a compo entry so I've spent a lot of time drawing the graphics, but I think your game has a better gameplay and it's more challenging than mine.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]