Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Beast Is Within You

by mickanio - Compo Entry

A fullscreen, in-browser, turn-based, rogue-like about robbery and violence.

http://newbeings.com/beastiswithinyou

You play as someone who just got out of prison. You have nowhere to go, no money, and are addicted to drugs. You must rob properties to get money. You can buy items to increase your skills. Different properties have different amounts of risk and different payoffs.

Technologies used: Javascript, HTML, CSS

Libraries used: AngularJS, Angular Material, ChanceJS, lodash, Sass, Jade

Inspired by games like Drug Wars, Dwarf Fortress, and FTL : )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#54Innovation3.86
#241Overall3.43
#271Theme3.69
#312Mood3.21
#348Fun3.19
#626Humor2.33
#850Graphics2.18

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

This is a very interesting and impressive entry!
It seems like something I could really get into.

However, from what I've played so far, it seems that violence is the answer (when it comes to this game, of course)

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I really love this kind of game. This is awesome.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really nice concept :-) Would be nice to have another slider besides violence. But I understand what you did here, in order to relate it to the theme.

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Pretty impressive for a game made in 48h

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Cool idea, would love to see more of this!

dhargan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:58pm

most innovative compo game i have seen so far. also i love roguelikes. however, if i need to criticize something, it's not 100% suitable for the theme in my opinion. apart from that, it is a great game, good job! :D

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Cool game, there are a lot of good ideas I think and I played it quite a long time without being bored.
I think it's a bit difficult (50% of the time I spend more money than what I won). The interface could be improved too (the font is difficult to read and it's too big, there shouldn't be any scrollbars)

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

So hard to find a decent house to rob these days; I had to work for 37 years to get that car and those 10k$.
The gateway driver seems like a good option each time you you have no money and before rehab/car. Apart for that I tend to try 60%+ success rates 1 or 2 times before going for less risky "jobs" (~90%). I also buy everything as soon as possible, except the shotgun.
Before rehab you can't aim for 100% success rate each time because you'll lose more money on drugs/hotel/stuff than whant you rob.
Thus on my 2nd attempt i spent only 6 years in jail (got caught only once, ouch) before living the american dream as a good citizen (2233 nights total).
The game's fun, it makes me want to try again and again until I can beat it without getting caught and in less than 50 nights, I'm sure it can be done, right ?

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I liked this a lot, kept me playing for quite a while. A small suggestion is to mark visually in some way what items you own.

sorlok says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:43am

Very cool mechanic! It definitely had a Mafia Wars feel to it, but with more spatial goings-on. I didn't get far enough to where I needed to conserve my violence. Otherwise, very fun!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:57am

Violence pays! =)
Spent quite a while playing this game!

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:18am

This is great!

whalebot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:28am

This is a fantastic entry. It's one of those games that speaks to a deeper problem and lets people experience a side of life they wouldn't normally experience. And screw that get away driver... he didn't help even once...

BNeutral says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:37am

So hard to find getaway drivers that you can trust these days.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:51am

Bleak, thought provoking and really fun. Values well tuned, I couldn't even afford a car after spending my entire youth in prison.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57am

Great game for 48hs :P, i really enjoy it.

Justo Delgado says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:47am

Nice game, it was fun but I always got caught ;-;

Aelius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:05am

Why would violence solve everything? Are all citizens of this damn city at home 24/7? :P

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I played The Beast Is Within You at Ludum Dare 33 and all I got was **SPOILERS** ;-D

Rehab's totally worth it. O_O

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Really cool idea. I would love to play a more polished and tuned version of this game.

conormn says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:09am

Very interesting take on the theme! Your game left me with a lot of guilt :)

mubox says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Very interesting idea. :)

psychonull says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:53am

Nice, refreshing entry. A possible small improvement would be to have the store in a separate pane, so there is no need to scroll whenever you click a tile.

SecularBaron says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:34am

This was a super cool game. I love the concept especially.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]