Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Birdy Bridge

by LastLeaf - Compo Entry

************************************************************************************************
Hints:
* Play to the end to see what the monster is.
* If you feel a level is difficult, you can go back to title page (the "T" button in the left bottom), and the next level should be clickable.
* This game would preserve level progress. You could come back and continue play in future.

Updates - EASY MODE and MOBILE SUPPORTED:
* If you find the normal mode is very hard for you, try the post-compo (the second link). I personally do not suggest to play the easy mode on PC, unless you fail to pass a level again and again and you want to enjoy graphics and music in further levels. Level progress are always preserved and shared between two mode!
* You can play the post-compo version in mobile browsers! Try Chrome on Android! A short URL: http://goo.gl/Qvbzhf
* It is done after 48 hours, so you should judge the gameplay for the normal mode!
************************************************************************************************

Target: build a path for the girl to meet the boy (?)

Major Tools: CreateJS, Google Noto Fonts, Rosegarden, Inkscape. More details at https://github.com/LastLeaf/birdy-bridge

I have written a report about how I made this game in 48 hours. http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/30/my-first-48-hours-experience-with-ludum-dare/

Bug Fixes after 48 hours:
* Removed wrong storage limit hint for some browsers.
* Jumping and standing detection are accurate now (girl might sometimes fail to stand on birds before).
* Fixed a sprite sheet bug.

It is an HTML5 web game. Please play with latest Chrome or Firefox for best experience. If you feel the game does not work right, try another browser (reporting it as a bug to me with OS and browser information is welcomed). For the "audio on the right" bug, I would like to know what OS and browser you are using. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#165Innovation3.52
#166Mood3.50
#171Audio3.38
#262Overall3.40
#354Graphics3.30
#416Fun3.10
#756Humor1.91
#933Theme1.89

Comments

fuzzalicious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

Music was only coming from right speaker.
Fun puzzle but it's hard to see if you can make the jump or not.

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:34am

Great audio, very innovative. Difficult, I couldn't quite pass the second level, though I tried for a while.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

I like this game a lot. The presentation is very pretty and the mechanic is simple but used in some clever ways. The only thing I'd complain about is the lack of some sort of "undo" function. I have to play an entire level over again after one mistake, which feels overly harsh. It would be nice if I could step back one crane at a time and work from there.

Kahztein says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27am

Very frustrating xD
It's a fun little puzzle game, the music suits it well, and the graphics are nice. Good job!

dingotime says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28am

Pretty cool. I made it to the asteroid level - almost made it by them... but they kept smoking me.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16am

Gosh it's hard!
but nice too

voxel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Made it through to the end. The game is not difficult if you show a tiny bit of patience. Theme felt a little forced but the presentation is very nice with appropriate music.

Romaing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Good idea, i like the way we have to progress in levels.
I don't understand how the game is linked with the theme ?

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:54pm

A really stable and well-made game. Brilliant concept, QiXi having passed mere days ago. :) Maybe add a little bloom?

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Only music on the right side makes it painfull for headphone users.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Good Puzzle Game. Quite Hard one.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36pm

very nice music, graphics and frustrating but good gameplay. I gave a great rating.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Interesting mechanic! I like it!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Great music, I thought the meteors were a little too chaotic though (even if there was a pattern).

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Nice puzzle game !

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26am

Very cool little puzzle game, but does not seem to have anything to do with the theme?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

The best one I have played this far. It has wonderful graphics, music and gameplay. I just didn't understand what this game has to do with the theme. And the game might be a bit too hard, maybe.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32am

I'm not yet completely through the game so I can't rate on the theme. Need to revisit later. But I really, really like the style. The game delivers this mood nicely.

Sanju says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13pm

I liked the graphics and style, but can't find a conection to the theme

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

It would've have been nice if the jump function was smart enough to figure out short hops versus long hops. I found myself dying too often from over jumping...

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39pm

It's lovely this. I got frustrated with the meteor shower though, I'm afraid.

WillysJerry says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Hard game, made it to the end though.
Really fun, nice graphics and fitting music, good job!

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Neat game!

The difficulty ramps up quick, and by that I mean, it's difficult from the first level. You should try ramping it up gradually. Perhaps in the first level, you would only need to place one bird to get to the end, which is horizontal to you. Then in the next level make it so you have to place several, then in the next level make it so you have to go diagonally, etc.

I like the stars that you can make disappear temporarily. They serve as a nice time pressure mechanic. Though I think they should indicate when they're about to become solid again.

The meteors are tough as heck. It's a big challenge to not only remember the pattern, but to remember where exactly they travel, which is especially difficult for the ones that move diagonally. The latter problem could be solved by having them leave behind a trail that stays around for a while.

This is a really creative mechanic though so I'm more forgiving of those things. Good job!

dos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47pm

So hard! Meteors were too much... Yet it was beatable :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Wow, this is a really good game! I enjoyed the mechanics quite a lot, a nice mixture of puzzle and timing. It would've been nice to be able to jump back to previously set birds. Also, the meteors were kinda hard, especially on the level they first occured. After that it got better, because the timing was somehow more predictable. I made it to the final level, but couldn't figure out how to beat the bird monster. The boss level itself however offered a very nice, challenging gameplay experience. Graphics and audio are also really good. Overall, I liked it very much, good job!

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Cool audio, very innovation game play. soft pleasant graphics 10/10. Nice job!!!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Fun game but the jumping was very weird, I wish t here was checkpoints because sometimes the girl would jump over the entire bird on the final jump!

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:05pm

At first glance seems very relaxing game... but it's not. My only problem is, how I don't get the connection with the theme.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Haste makes waste never rung truer than in this game. Peaceful yet infuriating, but I made it. Nicely done.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Graphics and audio where amazing! Gameplay is simple yet pretty dificult!
I really liked it, I managed to beat it in normal mode. Good job

QuexD says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Music only on the right.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Wonderful game! It's so beautiful~ I actually thought of this tale if the theme were "A World In The Sky" xp
It's pretty difficult, but I made it to the end! At first I thought the meteor shower was random xp. Didn't quite understand the ending though....
Graphics, audio and mechanics are great! (although it was hard to tell where the girl was going to land) Congratz!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Very fun, surprisingly addictive. I just had to beat every level, despite the incredible difficulty. I played with the audio off, but from what I listened to it was beautiful and very fitting.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Cool, nice story telling piece and an interesting mechanic that could maybe use some work to make it a little more forgiving. But impressive work!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Cute and fun game. I actually enjoy the "easy" mode better than the original, mostly because it gives the player to learn the level, try different paths to avoid the stars, or just not punish the player for simply being a few pixels off when placing a bird. A dotted line indication of the girl's jump trajectory will also help diffuse some of the frustration!

Overall, the art, music and story come together nicely. Great job!

Saiyanator says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Wow, very cool game! I enjoyed to play it. It's not really clear how it is connected to the theme, but nevertheless, the game is quite good! Well done!

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:32am

Fun little puzzle game with nice music!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:01am

Very fun and hard

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:25am

I felt like a colossal idiot when I finally figured out after innumerable tries in the second level that you could just jump backwards to get more space! Hard little puzzle game. Well done!

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Very interesting game mechanics! Looking too easy but when I tryied - I had stuck at third level =(

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Great work! Must be the most original game I've seen so far. I'm happy it works on my Linux, unlike most entries that have a Linux link.

amras0000 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Girl jumped straight through the final bird in the first level. That is, there was no hitbox to catch her. There were times when the jump arcs would line up in such a way that the girl would leap over the final bird. The graphics are very nice, the mood was excellent, but the game is frustratingly difficult from the start. Some more knowledge of the jump arcs would've been nice. Also, the game doesn't seem to tie in much to the theme.

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I really like this one, really challenging in a good way, it felt rewarding to finnally beat it. One of my favourites!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Five stars for innovation! Graphics are very well done too! audio makes me a little upset after a time, but i think every music did that, so it's normal. I wasn't able to pass through the second stage too. Overall, great and beautiful game!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Pretty hard stuff, but manageable. The theme seems a bit tacked on, but I guess it works.

oakus says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:15am

I like the inspiration with classic story. I think the graphic design fits the story well and I really enjoyed the playing. I appreciate the new challenges in levels. The game is really well balanced.

sprawl says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I liked the atmosphere and visuals. Great game.

The only thing I would point out is that the meteor showers felt somewhat unfair. I can't make it past the level before the last one.

I'm guessing the theme comes at the end of the game so I'll abstain from voting on that since I didn't make it.

collaboration says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Pretty cool entry, I like to kill this girl, I don't want to help her, I like to kill her - that's good. Well done!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:05pm

This put me in a really nice contemplative mood, I love the story elements and the relaxing music. It's really stress free and satisfying and doesn't punish you or tax you too hard. Very nicely done

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Why would you make that? It was sad and it made me swear a lot! Haha, I was determined to finish it and it was tough but doable. Not sure how it fits the theme though?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]