Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dr.Particulus: monster within

by goodbadokay - Jam Entry

Dr. Particulus has been carried away by his crazy experiments and now his laboratory has become a plant for production of monsters. What should he do?
Use special mutagens to defeat hordes of monsters creater by his own genius!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#371Graphics(Jam)3.69
#456Humor(Jam)2.92
#485Fun(Jam)3.11
#549Audio(Jam)2.68
#569Mood(Jam)3.05
#574Innovation(Jam)2.95
#576Overall(Jam)3.16
#624Theme(Jam)3.32

Comments

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Nice sprites, the sound was abit annoying though.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:11pm

The idea is fun and I love the artstyle. But find it a bit too difficult.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I love this game! The graphics and sound are good and the random weapons are great (the best is the tentacle helmet)! Nice job!

Ivan Volkov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Pertty fun to play, got 34 at endless. But I think control needs to be different, not left mouse button.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Great art!

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The powerups are a lot of fun and I really like the variety, but I don't think it makes sense to use the mouse button to activate them, space or any other key would be more intuitive I think especially since you can't aim. Other than that I really liked the game, nice sprites, ok sounds and a cool idea. Well done! :)

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:14am

Good game, nice 2d graphics are good, and lots of randoms in the game.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:47am

Very clean art! I feel like the monsters take too many hits to kill though. Kind of makes things feel slow. There was also a part of me wishing I could jump off of the monsters' heads, haha! Nice job.

Vladirien says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Quite fun. Graphics are good and the weapon system is nice but it's a bit too hard

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Cool graphics! The random weapon generation was a cool idea, but the game felt a bit slow overall. The main music track set a nice mood, with sound effects to be applied to the powerups it would have been really cool.

Nice job!

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Graphics, sound and game really good. Controls bloody annoying and needs to be changed as it makes the game much harder than it needs to be.

AdayMC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very good idea, it reminds me The Binding of Isaac because of random objects, I loved that.

Maybe the enemies are so hard to kill and make it difficult but is a good challenge, very good job

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I love the art style and all the wacky upgrades.
Mouse button for attack seems an odd choice when the mouse is not used for targeting. I remapped the controls to an xbox controller which the game way easier.
The platforming felt a bit too floaty.
Also the green blobs you can shoot disappear when they go off the top of the screen which was irritating.

Strike says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Because the power ups are random, and because I was VERY unlucky in my first runs, I ended up being very clueless about what I was supposed to do in this game, pressing every possible button to try to find some attack move XD

After I got the first power up that allowed me to attack, everything became more clear. The game is actually really fun.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Love the graphics in this game, but the randomised weapon spawns are a bit of a turn off for me. The ingame music is okay, but the death jingle is incredibly loud compared to the rest of the game. Pretty solid entry, keep it up!

Dejvo says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:41pm

a bit tough to controll but nice graphics i guess...

Flaid says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:19pm

With the power of the purple pants I shall move unbelievably fast!

The game was pretty fun. I liked the random weapons, but I found myself wishing that spacebar was jump instead of W.

The music was a little bit repetitive, but I think it fit the theme and the overall mood that you were going for.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:56am

i liked the random objects you encounter.
It is a idea worth looking for, not much headache or anything, its just cool :)

like to play it, well done :)

Arnage says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:47pm

The art and variety of the mutations was great.

The double jumping was really hard to pull off though, which made reaching the higher platforms quite difficult.

Daisuke909 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I really liked this one. It was fun to see what all the different powers did, and I actually liked the music.

eddynardo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:42pm

The artwork was extremely well done!The concept was good too.I didnt like the sound very much but overall it was a really good entry!

Catmoo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:03pm

The art was really cute and I loved how the parts randomised in the environment, it meant with every death I got to experience lots of different modifications. I found the enemy health was quite slow at going down (when I had the gun mod) but I really enjoyed playing it!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:51am

Why you made it so random. Key is to pick up electric head and then jump trausers. Your graphics is inspirating for me.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Innovative platformer. Easily one of the most fun entries I played. Keep up the good work!

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

Ohhh, btw, you asked for a Sir Uthyr and Nemea DLC, I did some Post LD work and here it is:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/53at19om3alcus6/Post%20LD%20%2333%20Sir%20Uthyr%20and%20Nemea.exe?dl=0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]