Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

PONY!

by Phil Strahl - Compo Entry

This didn't go well. First concept was way too ambitions, so that's what I ended up with: PONY!. You play as Wheat-Pony who wants to become an evil monster. For this you have to perform a few heinous tasks and act badly. And you see how much of this "plethora of evil deeds" made it into the game. Well.. sorry!

I am totally aware that this game is unfinished and that it misses the theme rather substantially, gameplay wise. Again, I am sorry that you play this as there is nothing much to it.

Sorry.

Windows standalone-executable, 2 MB (Windows 10 tested)

~~~ CONTROLS ~~~
- Movement: Arrow keys or WASD
- Action: [SPACE] or [ENTER]
- Quit: [Esc]
- Restart Level: F2
- Screenshot: F12
- Heartfelt apologies from the dev for horrible game: Roll eyes

If download won't work for some reason (over quota, virus warning, etc.) try this link:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j8k6inmcw53pxtp/02-PONY%21.exe?dl=0

~~~~
And here's a little post mortem of the game's creation (with pictures!)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/24/pony-post-mortem-with-pictures/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#69Graphics4.12
#72Humor3.74
#143Fun3.56
#293Mood3.24
#325Audio3.03
#375Overall3.23

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:15am

Norton blocked me from using it. Sorry. Looks cool, though.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Naughty Pony Simulator 2015

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Awesome game :D love it


PONY!

QuexD says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53am

Yes please more.

otato says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

As someone who also had a game that definitely didn't get finished, I still found this very amusing. You definitely rocked the graphics, and the world reminded me of a certain counterstrike map. Keep up the good work :)

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:23am

Nice graphics but pony's nose kinda fat. really cool though.

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

Eh, I had fun with it. The kick animation/sound is satisfying, and I made one guy cry.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59am

@otato: Ha! Glad someone noticed :)

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:22am

Hahah this horse is a jerk! :P

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56am

Made me think of some kind of cobra commander base with a horse that just decided to kill everyone inside. Thought I might have to lure guys to that X, it would be fun to be some kind of warlords horse that does horrible things to his troops behind his back or something.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34am

I was pretty entertained by what was there haha.
Don't feel down, this is the start of some really good stuff!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I think you're being too hard on yourself friend. The game is light on content, but what's here is actually really satisfying. The audio/visual feedback that comes from landing a good strong horse kick feels great, and the game's short length helps prevent that simple action from growing overly repetitive.
You did a really good job.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Thanks for the suggestions and all the encouragement, you guys!! Then maybe I keep on working on it, adopt it as a little silly pet project. Already have a couple of ideas that I couldn't implement given the time.

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Awesome graphics, but as u said it feels kinda unfinished.
Good gameplay though!

NAUGHTY PONY!

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09pm

nice game, the graphics are nice, but the map and the characters are in different perspectives and it feels weird xd

Anyway great job!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Those pony kicks are so satisfying! I would personally change the hit detection on the kicks to be a little less forgiving, but other than that what you have feels really solid, good job!

mar3k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11pm

The graphics are really nice and cool sfx. It's a bit sad, that you weren't able to finish it, it could have been really fun.
PS: Norton blocked the game for me as well, but if it happens to anyone, just click the message and then click "restore" (small text on bottom) ;)

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14pm

It was fun, however, I must say that there is very limited replay value, as the humor of kicking people gets, well, a little stale. I think it still has potential though, the time restrain just brings it down a bit.

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Nice pixelart graphic. PONY do the work well.

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Error:

"G:\MiniGames\LD33\PONY.exe not an application Win32."

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:52pm

andreymust19: Wait till your download finished! :D

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Had a blast playing this. It's basically a backwards beat'em up! Also, love the dust2 background!

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Fun! Presentation is good and premise is hilarious. I'd wish it had some more challenge to it. I think you should finish it. There's a great little game here if you just make it more difficult to win.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Hilarious idea, I like the artwork. I also like the aptly Dust2 themed map and counterstrikey terrorists given it was ESO this weekend. Well done!

ilikescifi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I L-L-Love it! PONY!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

All the graphics look good and the gameplay feels good, it is just super short.

Also don't be sorry because there is nothing to be sorry about, you are pretty darn talented based on what this game does have.

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

Yes more of this plz! :-D :-D :-D

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I'M SUCH A NAUGHTY PONY. Bwahaha, had a good laugh with this! The death animations are just... the best.

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:19pm

i loved this art and gameplay! TAKE MY MAXIMUN NUMBER OF STARS!

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I had two really pleasant minutes with your game. It is definitely better than you make it out to be. Your visuals are superb and the de_dust reference was delightful.

Only negative: not actually offensive!

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Very fun gameplay. Nice sounds.
A bit hard to understand where is a walkable area tho. But this is not a big problem for a small map.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:10am

Fun little game, thanks :)

Gil4 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:01am

Would love it to be a bit harder (with enemies trying to hurt you or something like that), but really solid entry overall, from concept to sound. Also an extended edition could be nice.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Really dig the art style, and a very satisfying sound effect. Critique-wise, it was hard to understand where walls/hitboxes for objects were sometimes, particularly with the over-layers.

I dig the spirit, even if the execution didn't get all the way there. Even if you're just kicking ninjas in the face, in my heart you will always be a monster, Pony.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:26am

As you said, there isn't a ton of gameplay here, but the controls feel good, and the kicks are pretty satisfying. Would be interested to see what more comes of it if you keep working on it.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:05am

Very short. Naughty pony. Much Sfx. Kick people in the face. Fun :)

parDal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:49am

Uncomplete but yet very charming.

Your pixel art is amazing and the sound work is very solid.

The only flaws besides the absence of a winning condition is the collision, sometimes I can't hit the enemy even when I'm very close to him, his hitbox must be very small, and in the middle wall there is little indication that you can pass under it in that specific section.

I liked your minimal intro and desktop icon, maybe they are unnecessary details (considering you didn't complete the game) but for me they still add to the game's quality.

By the way, Is your game based on Counter Strike or something? This map is clearly some kind of retro de_dust.

P.S.: You really should consider teamworking with a coder, if you don't already.

Yrr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Pretty fun little game!
Being dust2 I wished I could go to Long, A site and T spawn tho.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:55am

Such positive feedback! Such wow!

I re-did the collision detection and started with refactoring what I have so far to add new stuff and a more robust development.

uvwar wrote: "it would be fun to be some kind of warlords horse that does horrible things to his troops behind his back or something" -- haha, that's a hilarious premise, love it!

@kaitokidi: Yes, perspectives don't match and it's embarassing that I didn't really notice. The tiles for my first demo level were correct, but when I was copying the Dust2 layout from a plan I apparently missed it. Will work on that!


@MortalWombat: It's hard to gauge what people find offensive, jsut look at the E3 trailers. I thought, well, a cute pony is kicking people in the head might offend somebody ;)

@Gil4: Working on make it more of a game than what it is now

@Solifuge: Agreed, level graphics aren't really consistent and/or easy to read when you don't get the dust2-joke.
(btw, I dig your gravatar, reminds me of Phil Fish a bit)

@parDal: Thank you very much! Collision is flawed, I only had time to code proper coll for the pony, the dudes only have one-fit-all hitbox. And yes, I thought the de_dust2 map would be a fun little in-joke. And there's always time for a desktop icon ;) Currently I am going solo, but who knwos that the future might hold :)

@Yrr: Yeah, I ran out of time, half the map exists in the level editor already but I had to fence it off for time constraints, though.

@EVERYONE: Thank you so much for all your nice works concerning this little piece! So much love here!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:05am

I like how nobody even reacts when a pony is killing everybody. It seems like a good start, there's probably a game to make out of it

kidando says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Oh Pony you :). Pretty neat. These are those kinda games you wished had more... please make more. And give pony hero music please

Patomkin says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pretty funny! I wish this had more maps with references to other games. Half-life facility, perhaps? ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]