Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Groll's Revenge

by cyrixd - Jam Entry

Welcome to the Kingdom of Etheria!

In this high-score arcade game, you play as Groll, a generally peaceful monster who's decided to take revenge upon his human antagonists by destroying all of their corn-transporting wagons. Angry as he is, however, Groll cannot betray his peaceful nature, and will not attack any human directly. That doesn't stop them from hunting you down with swords and arrows!

Try to destroy as many wagons as possible while evading the guards. When in doubt, retreat to the forests where no one can see you!

Controls:
WASD to Move
SPACE to Lunge


Tips:
- Plan your movements carefully by sticking to the forests and moving out when it's safe.
- Lunging at the right time can dodge missiles and evade speedy knights, but be mindful of the cooldown!
- Cherry picking easy wagons doesn't earn many points - try to keep track of wagons on long routes!
- An apple appears when you're below half health. It'll bring you up to full if you can find it.

UPDATE: After reading lots of feedback (thank you!!), I dove into the code and discovered a couple of pathfinding bugs that I believe were making the game much more difficult than intended. The fixed version is below, as well as a new Web build (Unity player).

This is my second Ludum Dare entry. I struggled coming up with a good idea until I had the current design of attacking merchant routes. It was only after spending an entire day coding that I realized how similar my idea is to a game called Hoard, released in 2010.
I haven't played it, but it's clear both games are of the same unique genre, raiding supply lines. That said, I think Groll's Revenge offers a stealthy and less-destructive experience when compared to Hoard.

I hope you enjoy Groll's Revenge! Let me know your best score in the comments.

- Tyler Paul

Audio: "A ninja in the oscillators" by Rolemusic (from FreeMusicArchive.org)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#412Innovation(Jam)3.15
#534Mood(Jam)3.11
#544Theme(Jam)3.43
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#582Humor(Jam)2.68
#622Overall(Jam)3.10
#720Graphics(Jam)2.98

Comments

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:10am

Good job

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:32am

All links are pointing to a Windows version if I'm not mistaken. Couldn't run on my Mac

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34am

A bit simple, but fun.

By the way, I downloaded the Linux version, but what I got was a Windows executable. It didn't matter since Unity's Windows builds work fine through Wine, so I was able to play the game.

cyrixd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43am

Sorry about the confusion - the build is a Windows executable that should run on Linux/Mac. I'll remove the Linux/Mac links to make that more clear!

van noctar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37am

Good job, easy moves. Great!

Keon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38am

I love the concept of a stealth caravan raider game - it's something that I had never even considered until I saw this, but now that I have I'm shocked I haven't played one before.

There's just one thing about the gameplay that annoys me: there doesn't seem to be a way to avoid damage while you raid a caravan. If you get close enough to touch the corn, the archer protecting it is close enough to take a free shot at you that you can't really dodge. I can lure away the melee units, vanish into the forest, and grab their caravans, but the archers don't have such a tactic from what I could tell.

Maybe I'm missing some strategy, but it seems like it's inevitable you will take some archery damage from the guards. I think adding something like if you hit somebody with your lunge they get stunned for a second so you can retreat without getting shot?

Anyways, I'm getting sidetracked. The textures were nice but pretty simple. There were a few moments where I was fleeing from a huge mob before hiding in a tree or preparing to snatch three caravans at the same time when the game really got exciting, but in general the game gets dull after a few games.

That said it really was a fun game to play and I think I need to try something in the same genre later. Well executed all around, and thanks for the game!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

It's got the great aesthetic and the difficulty of an old school arcade game for sure! Good job with that! The enemies are super fast to react you coming out the woods though and I found that a bit frustrating at times, but it might just be me not understanding all the mechanics correctly.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Easy moves, great game in the end. Congratulations

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14am

Clever idea, punishing in execution. Any reason for the odd start/restart keyboard shortcuts, BTW?

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Much more strategic than I was expecting. Well done!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:46pm

A good, solid entry. It was fun lunging out of the woods to destroy a wagon, and then dash back to safety. It was pretty brutally difficult, but overall you've done a good job. Well done!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:33am

The hit-n-run gameplay was pretty fun :)

freaknarf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:39am

It seems like a pretty hard game !
I felt weak, a more destructive dash could add some fun. Music tune was good btw !

ChrisFagan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:38am

Feels like an old school arcade game, very cool!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:38am

Highscore: 4500 points.
Keyboard: doesn't know how close it got to being snapped in half.

dregamr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:56pm

It's a little hard, but fun!! ;)
Very cool music, good choose!

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:01am

Good game. Fun and addictive. Maybe you should add some "scare scream" button to scare humans around.

Oh, and also I don't get the story. Why is this monster destroys wagons but not humans. Like "I'm peaceful and will not touch any human, they will die later anyway by starving. Winter is coming and I destroy their supplies".

Anyway, this is the game worth to play.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:54am

Brought so much nostalgia to me. Awesome music and fun gameplay. Great game!

euske says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:43am

Nice mechanics.

JoJoX says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:35am

I don't know if i didn't understand but i can't avoid damage. The concept is cool and the old school realisation is great.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:45pm

unfortunately, the web links isn't loading..

I liked concept of the game! it's a really funny gameplay!
some points importants to commentL spacebar seems do not work sometimes and its kind strange start with "T" and reload with "L". There are unusual letters and t would be cool if there is only one key to both actions. Overall nice entry!

ManuelGF says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Nice game, the idea of assaulting caravans is great!
A bit hard but I don't have a problem with that. Actually that is how old school games were

berkano says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I found this via your post-mortem post. It's very much the kind of game I would create so I thoroughly enjoyed it! I understand why players might find it difficult at first, but with a little patience / thought it becomes clear how to stay safe and rack up the points (ambushing passing caravans from the forest is fun). In my opinion it is very well balanced, the possible exception being how fast some of the shooting enemies are to react to your presence. Great job!

dollarone says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Great game, the music and graphics gave me strong Zelda 2 flashbacks. I found a sweet spot in Corner Forest by the south western city, grabbed 20k points before I quit. Seems like being a Groll (who looks a lot like a Tarrasque!) is pretty tough!

disperse says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:55am

Solid entry, it's like the Zelda 2 overworld map as the main game.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Nice work with the idea, and I enjoyed the simple graphical style too. It's a shame it's so hard to avoid damage, and that there's not really much of a chance to wait and pounce once the knights start roaming. All in all a fairly solid entry, though!

Louspirit says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Nice pictures and graphics. Please think about non qwerty keyboards...

REIN1 says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:35am

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]