Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fired

by Evergreen Games - Compo Entry

​You are a bullet.
You have been fired.
Obey the master.
Destroy them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#70Innovation3.81
#135Mood3.58
#283Overall3.36
#348Fun3.19
#455Theme3.42
#531Humor2.56
#533Graphics2.95

Comments

avultima says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27am

Super creepy, but extremely satisfying. The bullet control mechanics are odd. I would attempt to explain what I mean, but simply playing it will answer that question.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27am

Really cool concept! I had fun. Really hard on the track pad.

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:30am

Solid job. I found the controls unintuitive, it's actually hard to go down.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:23am

Really strong entry. quite polished and even though I feel like the idea is similar to a VR game I saw recently I still believe this is a strong idea and game. just wish The controls were a little easier to use and that I could turn better when in slow motion :)

Jezz0r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19am

Really original. I found it very difficult though.

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

This game raises the important question:
WHO IS THE MONSTER? THE SHOOTER OR THE BULLET?

I like the creepy atmosphere.
Enemies on the ground are kind of too tiny, but it kind of makes it interesting.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:40am

The mood is great, the concept is pretty cool, but it feels let down by the controls. It seems like the bullet is following some kind of invisible mouse cursor on the screen? The lack of visible or tangible feedback makes it incredibly frustrating, as you don't know what your mouse movement is going to actually do, and when you're steering a bullet through the air, you really need a good degree of understanding about what you're doing.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29am

Bloody good job

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38am

Some kind of tutorial would have been nice.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:59am

I wish there was an option to lower mouse sensitivity so I could play this more (tendonitis and tiny hand movements don't go together well) because this was a lot of fun. Occasionally the controls reversed or something, though... didn't seem very consistent.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Great concept. Greatly done.
The firing moment is really cool!
But kill them all? Without touch floor or ground? Too hard I think. But I sense a lot of potentials on this game. Picked by GB.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Great concept!

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Cool concept, innovative mechanics, addictive gameplay. This game has it all! As already said, pretty solid entry.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:39am

I liked the idea that you're playing as the bullet rather than the shooter but like others have said, the controls need some work (I couldn't even tell whether my mouse pointer was influencing the bullet's path).

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:39pm

This has to be the most skillful man on earth to fire bullets like that ._.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Hey, great job on this. I actually liked the controls, they were new, so required some learning, but that fit with the challenge of the game. Nice touch tying a story to a bullet. Clever!

Yrr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Really interesting gameplay mechanic, if a little hard to control.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:26am

I like this concept a lot, and the game over all is good and creepy, but the controls are really wonky. It's unclear how the bullet responds to mouse input, because it seems to change every second. I would suggest either binding the bullet's left and right rotation to two separate keys (Q and E, etc.) or bind the mouse tracking the same way: moving the mouse in the left half circle will rotate one way, right half circle the other.

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Nice - excellent job on the creepy mood. Would have liked a little more transition time between the slow-down time of hitting something and speeding back up - I would often crash during that time.

astrophics says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Very cool concept! I usually don't play the LD games that I rate for very long but yours just drew me in! Excellent game!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:48am

Wow, perfect entry. I love the take on being "the monster", perfect difficulty, really enjoyed playing this, spot on.

conormn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:22am

Incredible game and mechanic. Really hope you keep going with it :)

QuexD says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:29am

Loved the bullet mechanics!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:51am

Nice entry - controls were really smooth and the idea behind it was really cool :D

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:25am

Controls are a bit shaky, other than that quite an entry! :D

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:43am

I really enjoyed this. The graphics were really subpar to be truthful(im sorry to say that >.<) I think to help fix the graphics you should be more consistent and explicit with a style. Right now it's bordering more of low res images rather than pixel art. Moving on from the art though I really enjoy the design of the game. It's a difficult challenge and it's tactile and fun just to move around. I think the time slow down is awesome although it could maybe last not as long. I hope i wasnt too harsh about the graphics but those are my honest thoughts and i think the game is very good and I rated it as such <3

radcorps says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:55am

The bullet control mechanic was fun, I found myself reefing the mouse in every direction and managed to get up to the "You are a monster for killing innocent creatures" level. The bullet/mouse mechanic could have been slightly more sensitive my liking. Great job though and quite unique :)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:31am

This was one of the top entries I've played. Perfect mood and theme. Controlling the bullet was really fun. Could definitely see this game being streamed on Twitch or being played by the Button Masher Bros (Guys who are currently playing LD games). It wasn't short, and it was fun. I ended up freeing the bullet. The ending was very touching believe it or not. I really felt for the bullet. Perfect way to end a game. Music was nice too. Overall it was awesome. Well done! :)

Aevek says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:48am

Normally I find games that have deliberately awkward controls to create fake difficulty annoying, but it is actually done really well here in a way that does not frustrate the player. Thats a tricky one to pull off, very well done. Keep up the awesome jam games!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:38am

A simple idea that is very well executed. Only small bug I found was that the bullet activates the slow motion effect, when it hit a dead bird. But overall well done.

Enrymion says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:39am

Not sure if using a trackball made the game easier or not but it was interesting to play anyway.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:18am

Overall, I love the idea of this game. I felt that the graphics were actually very good. I also agree that the controls were quite weird: I couldn't quite figure out how they worked/were supposed to work. I'd suggest (like others) binding the rotation to keys or to left/right movement of the mouse to rotate: that's what I thought it was initially, but then... it wasn't. I REALLY love this idea though, and would be great to play once I can determine exactly *how* to do so. Look forward to seeing where this goes! (also, I know this wasn't the tone you were going for, but 5/5 in humor for the description :P )

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:51am

Gameplay is a bit hard but very interesting. Very innovative. It has great potential :D

freaknarf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:55am

Nice concept, it was a bit hard to control at first. There are some nice polished effects, and atmosphere is quite oppressing and dark...

Denis347 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Great concept, it's hard to get used to the controls, but it was fun anyway!

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:12pm

I really loved the mechanic! I don't think I've ever seen "be the bullet". Truly innovative and appropriate for the theme! The controls were really hard for me, and because I died a lot, the slow fade-out fade-in when you die was starting to drive me nuts. Plus, the "slow down on hit" caused more than a few of my deaths. However, the fading, slowdown, and bullet tail were all fantastic effects and really added gravity to the game.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Really interesting gameplay mechanic. Liked that you had to control the bullet to take out the targets but did find the controls on a trackpad a bit difficult, especially when going for the little guys on the floor.

yokcos700 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:58am

Moving the bullet is unnecessarily hard. Like, give us a crosshair or something. Slow-motion after hitting something only serves to increase frustration, as it's hard to know exactly when time will resume at its normal pace. I do like that it's there; having a moment of slow-mo after hitting something is a great idea. I just think the implementation leads to unfair deaths. Speaking of deaths, the restart time is way too long. It's about five seconds before I'm back in the action, forever in game time. Also, while every individual graphical asset looks good, they don't belong together at all.
I must say though, that the audio is fantastic. The ambiance and hit sounds are great. The general idea that you have here is great. I simply think that the implementation is a little lacking and it bugs me to no end because I very much like this game, but these few little things like the slowmo make it unpleasant to play. That said, I did play it to completion.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Very cool, liked the controls and mechanism a lot more than I expected. Would have appreciated a checkpoint or a time-reversal mechanic to reduce the frustration, but I do like what I played. Wonderful job!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:57am

Very good idea, but bullet control is very hard due to limited maneuverability

Mantlair says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:01am

Very good mechanics. Bullet control was neat, it wasnt even clost to being buggy.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Nice take on the theme, fun but challenging game. I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

Ellian says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:46pm

That's a really neat idea, both for the theme and as a game concept as well. Kudos! :)

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:21pm

My video review: https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
My personal best was 3 hits with a single shot. If the mouse pointer had been visible, I'd done better.

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Awesome game, awesome take on the theme! The complete package.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

You've captured the mood really well, with the ominous music and the slow-motion. I decided to shoot the man at the end :)
Incidentally, the Unity graphics were set by default to "Fastest", which made your sprites all blurry. When I set them to "Beautiful", the graphics looked a lot better!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]