Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

MadMonsterMassacre [MMM]

by AwesomeAlliterationAlliance - Jam Entry

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Small Team this time... nevertheless we are satisfied.
Also fun is the main reason we´re doing this every time ;)

But hey, looks good, sounds good and it works! Play it and tell us what you think.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to play:

Q-W-E-R or Left Mouse to select attack and Left Mouse again to trigger.

Left Mouse without selected attack triggers basic attack.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

The game gets harder with every enemy you have killed.
There are different enemies that will spawn with your increasing kill counter.
For some enemies you have to time your ability's properly.
All of your ability`s are important.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rage-al and Pöppi - Graphics and Animation

Janosch - Coding

Nitro SPL - Sound

Special Thanks to: Mighty Juliane, Stronghold 1 (Some Sfx) & PowStudion (Smoke/Bloodsprites)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------


//Are you really the Monster after all?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#4Theme(Jam)4.52
#8Fun(Jam)4.23
#28Overall(Jam)4.14
#88Mood(Jam)3.89
#113Graphics(Jam)4.29
#126Audio(Jam)3.70
#171Humor(Jam)3.54
#245Innovation(Jam)3.39

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25am

That was fun!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28am

This hit the spot. Easy to play, and wonderful graphics. Fits the theme perfectly!

jphelps says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28am

Good stuff. I had a blast with it

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

Addictive clicking madness!

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36am

super awesome! the concept, art, and music are great, and the gameplay is very entertaining. very polished!

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Really good job, I particularly like the art style

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41am

Nice, love the graphics! Thought it was really funny too!

emongev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Great game, had lots of fun playing it! :D

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:35pm

This looks amazing! The gameplay is a bit repetitive, but at this lenght it's fine. There's enemy variety, some humor, a nice tune, and some fun to be had.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Well played, fun, balanced the monster looks awesome, music s good, you nailed it

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Real fun to play! I loved the armor guy with the shield, and would have liked more specific enemies like that, but well, I really enjoyed it :-)

Lonely Vertex says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Very nice game, nice graphics and funny gameplay.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:48pm

So nice experience, really fun!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:04pm

1756 enemies!

Love the graphics. Wasn't sure what the third ability did though, i'm guessing some kind of defensive move for use when everything's on cooldown? The pacing seemed a bit slow to start with - i thought i'd seen everything and was about to quit, just when i saw that "big wave incoming". Then it got hard really fast! Pretty fun though, very satisfying to SMASH.

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Nice game play, very nice aesthetics! I was hoping for games like this to pop up this Ludum Dare :)

uvwar says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:53am

Very very good! One of the best games I've played so far! Took me a while to realize the roar deflected arrows, then I realized how well balanced everything was.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:25am

Very fun game. Good job

imalerich says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:41am

Awesome work! Thought the health bar was a little bland, but all the artwork otherwise is awesome.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:48am

Slow going to start, but gets interesting later on.

KBF123 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:48am

This game is so much fun! Great job!

NuSan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Excellent game. I like the Art and there is diversity in the enemies, and a bit of strategy in the clicking. Keep up the good work !

magenta says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:46pm

A simple but solid bridge defence game. Wonderful presentation with a bold art style, the variety of waves will keep you entertained.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Solid game with nice art and story :)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Great fun!!! Love the monster 'fake scared' look..LOLOL Great artwork and sound effects.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Great artwork, funny, awesome, addictive. Killed 3800+ enemies.

Controls could be a bit better - it was a little frustrating to have to left click to activate the attacks. If you could just left click to shoot fireballs and use the three buttons to immediately fire the other attacks, I think it would be even better.

dollarone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Cool game! I liked the abilities and the different enemies - the shield guy being an interesting addition. I liked the humour too! Overall, well done!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Beautiful art, fitting music, fun gameplay, it's really impressive!

Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Pssst - You are featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK8Ya1OP2ZI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]