Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ameba Warfare

by kingpirux - Compo Entry

The Mad Scientist did it again! He discovered a new microscopic lifeform that lives peacefully in fungus and some plants.
This little creatures have the hability to create a lot of things, so the Doctor did what all good Mad Scientist should do: Created Microscopic Medieval Weapons and give it to them to see what in hell can happend.
In this toy - game you will find:
- Crazy IA, unexpected plays every time
- A lot of combinations
- DNA Fussion Lab to evolve the creatures (i have no idea what can happend, i didn't have time to test it well...)

CONTROLS:
Mouse - Touch
The first option allows you to populate the screen with random microscopic lifeforms.
Second Option will allow you to capture some of this creatures and storage them in database to use later or to DNA Fusion.
The third one is DNA Fussion, With the first option you need at least 4 captured lifeforms, with the second one all lifeforms will explode and create a random new one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Innovation3.63
#457Humor2.71
#807Overall2.68
#814Mood2.29
#879Fun2.26
#895Theme2.26
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

cicanci says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Nice game, very innovative.

Reisen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I don't quite get it.

So, you need to put monsters on the field, then capture them again to use them to create bigger monsters, which will kill your smaller monsters, so you should quickly capture your smaller monsters for you to be able to create more big monsters?

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25pm

It was fun tinkering with the different variations, and seeing what kind of weird amoebae I could breed :-)

Colthor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

This feels like the beginnings of a cool "artificial life" mechanic.

Sublustris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice little game :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice concept.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I wish there were more ingame instructions however I struggled to work out what to do and what (if any) was the objective.

I really like the look of the lifeforms, they look really entertaining, however there are stat bars next to them but no obvious way to know what they relate to.

kingpirux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:58pm

thanks for the coments!
:D as i said, the game is like a toy, there is no "win" objective, more than try to pick an specimen and make it grow to see him kill litle other ones or create a monstruos specimen and try to kill it with small ones :)
luckly there are a lot of people who liked it and give a lot of great ideas to add in a future complete game! so thanks and i'm willing to hear more cool upgrades to add :D

lurumdurum says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I liked combining my captured monsters, I just wish more would happen with them. The concept itself is very fun as it made me very curious what would happen.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:19am

So, umm I started playing, and the little guys were fighting, I stuck some together and they got bigger, but the other little ones didn't like that and took up a pacifism strike leaving their weapons behind. So the big one's felt bad too and dropped their weapons and I thought everyone was going to be happy. But no, the weapons then started attacking by themselves, and the little guys got scared and started vibrating. I panicked and tried to get rid of the weapons and just pressed some buttons and the little ones all turned black and ran in circles then did some kind of magic dance and the weapons disappeared. I thought everything was going to be fine until one of the little black guys started to grow, took over the entire screen and then my computer started to freeze.

THIS ALL ACTUALLY HAPPENED.

So what I'm trying to say is, what did I just play?

In seriousness this was super funny and super random. I'm not entirely sure my inputs had any real effect, but it's great to see a program purposely go off the rails like that.

kingpirux says ...
Sep 17, 2015 @ 7:43pm

@dalbinblue xD you experienced the pure reason of the game! lol very funny story i have to archive this kind of stories to share

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]