Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster System

by freaknarf - Jam Entry

Jam submission :

You're an old monster, and you seek revenge for being awaken by humans. You'll probably find peace destroying cities and anihilating human race.

Dash/atack : control

Jump : Space

Fireball : shift

Moves/climb : arrows

It should be playable with a gamepad.

I had a (+or- random?) bug that made the game crash just before i uploaded it, if it happens to you i'm sorry :(
It's an error about sound emission. I'll try to fix this (at least...) asap.
I took an extra day because it was originally designed for compo, and still it was not enough... But hey, here it is, another one. Now sleep.

Edit 1 : Ehe yes, i needed sleep. So let me explain : the goal is to destroy everything. Destroy the all the buildings, then kill everyone still alive, and that's it :) The game is about 4 (poorly designed) levels like that. Think Rampage... Also it seems i uploaded a *crunchtime* version in which you can spawn soldiers with mouse click. Just get that mouse out of the screen please, and blast your keyboard/gamepad... Thank you for playing !

Edit 2 : Thank you all for feedback ! i made some minor update :
Sound bug that could crash the game fixed
Ugly cursor spawning soldiers removed (in fact it was removed before the deadline... just messed up with uploeading the right fils, with fatigue...)
Interlude and game-over text aligned. Some of them were not well displayed.
It's officially tested and beatable :) Thank you all once again for feedback.
I've also added GMS source file of the deadline version.

I'll try to find time to finish sprite work missing, polish some stuff,and add a keyboard remap somewhere...

Edit 3 : I uploaded a HTML game port, yet it's not embeded because of max resolution.

Cheers ! and Have fnu !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#398Theme(Jam)3.61
#518Audio(Jam)2.80
#612Graphics(Jam)3.20
#618Humor(Jam)2.64
#735Fun(Jam)2.78
#866Mood(Jam)2.63
#907Overall(Jam)2.75
#984Innovation(Jam)2.29

Comments

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39am

Honestly I was immensely confused about what I had to do. Still destroying buildings is always fun.

The control scheme feels a bit ankward though (ctrl and space work fine, but with the finger in that position shift is hard to reach... maybe put X as an alternate key for fireballs?)

Ah and I quite enjoyed the phrasing of the tutorial, and the aesthetics are quite nice.

Thijs Tak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:35am

Not sure if this was intended, but if you hold the left mouse button a stream of soliders would fall from the sky.

Otherwise fun game.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Cool game, the cursor seems to be broken, just a blue box

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Totally got the rampage vibe, good job - I ended up with -216 health at one point.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:57pm

And he shall push submit to voice his opinion...
I wasnt sure what I was doing but I guess I was doing okay by clearing levels. Hard to see those tiny soldiers who tried to kill me all the time (monster's live?)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23pm

I really like the monster animation! Great soundtrack, really gives this game some old-school sweetness :) Well done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:25pm

The controls feel akward, and the cursor image is incomprehensible. Was that intended to be left in the game? It just causes some confusion.

Other than those things, cool game.

brombatti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

this arcade way was very good. In the best old style.

daydalus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56am

Pretty cool pixel art and style, really matches the theme. Jump + monster attacks felt a little weak, wasn't a good indicator if attacks were damaging enemies. Clicking the mouse spawns enemies - is this intentional. Nice job finishing up a game for the jam!

pkenney says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

Took me a bunch of tries to get the hang, and I only made it to the second level. I think there's some nice graphics, cool sound, and a fun idea here. But I think it has a couple of small problems that add up to a tough experience.

The #1 thing is the jump. It took me forever to realize that the jump behaves differently when I'm standing in front of a building than when I'm not. When I was in front of a building, the jump is TINY, and it basically is no good for dodging shots (or that's how it felt to me anyway). I was getting beat down hard for most of my time because I would jump to dodge a bullet, but land right on top of it anyway.

Second thing was the lack of contrast difference between foreground and background elements. While the graphics individually looked nice, they didn't combine in a way to alert me, the confused player getting my ass handed to me, of what was important. The soldiers don't really stick out, and even their shots don't "pop" quite enough when I'm in the crazy storm this game drops you right into. When a game has SO much going on (which can be an awesome thing!) it has to take extra care to make sure that stuff sticks out like crazy.

Third thing that made it hard was that there were three action buttons to learn, and some of them had long-hold options to do something slightly different. I hardly got a chance to even sort out what did what because the game was right on top of me. I would advice either more breathing room to learn, or less to learn.

Those small criticisms aside, I think you did some cool stuff here and it has a lot of potential.

I remember your DEATHMETALSLUG game from a previous jam had that same thing: a lot of different interesting things going on and a nice feel, but it was right on top of the player so fast there was no time to even figure out what the heck was going on.

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:12am

Cool graphics. I wish the keyboard controls were a little better (or mappable), don't have my controller here right now. Congrats on the entry!

DragonGino says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:10pm

nice game but the paticles are a bit too much.and the shift key make it crtl or space.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:24pm

DESTROY ALL THE THINGS

Really fun game - Couldn't work out the down-button attack though...

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:25am

I just had to play this, I had a master system back in the day and loved it so much. Your entry is cool, I like the master system style. It's chaotic for sure but good fun!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:29am

It freeze while I was in the border and the music was still playing after closing... I had to restart my PC lol... Nice graphics and concept anyway...

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Really quite intense but the graphics could be more polished

intXparts says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:59pm

I'm so happy to see a rampage inspired game. Awesome entry!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:59am

controls are a bit hard to get with, but it is a good work for something that was originaly designed for a compo! Good job ;)

reiknight says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:21am

5/5 in the title name if there was a category for this.

Nice graphics, nice audio but a bit confusing at the beginning.

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:43am

Very funny, good interpretation of theme and fantastic graphics. In otherwise, control is a little tricky, but it's fun destroy everything, I like it a lot, good job ;)

The name is great, extra points.

LordKawaii says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:22am

Over all not bad, but I had a problem understanding all that was going on will all the particle effects.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:52am

Really liked the pixel art style, and you had some great over-the-top effects like screen shaking and tons of explosions. However, these same effects made it difficult to interpret feedback, and it was hard to tell if what I was doing had any impact. I also think I had an endless soldier respawning bug :(. Nice work though, with a little polish I reckon it'll play very well!

adsilcott says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Fun destruction game. Better one I have played so far.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Hey this game is great, nice pixel art, funny and smooth gameplay and really enjoyable idea! Well done! :D

I love you for getting the JABBERWOCKIE thing in my description ;D
You are the first one, thank you ^^

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I know it's often a good thing to add "juice" to a game, but it's kind of a fx apocalypse here XD It's a nice game, apart from that

freaknarf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:01am

@Eingya 

You were doing the right thing :] to clarify the gameplay : you have to destroy buildings, then ennemies stops to spawn, and level is cleared once you killed them all.
I know many people don't like my controls, i'll dig this... But I think a gamepad use is recommended here, sorry i have my (bad) habits,back from a time when keyboards had less keys :]

@Thijs Tak @Wevel @TerraCottaFrog

Sorry about the mouse cursor, it was not intended to be here. With fatigue i uploaded a version with this cursor that was used at a time for debug. I was tired when i uploaded files for submission, and in my folder's mess i uploaded the wrong files, that were compiled with this "debug cursor".
I warned people in the game's description, then added a version with a few bugfix i which it should not appear anywhere.


@humanatee_studios

Thank you :] life keeps decreasing after death, i'll try to remove this and made the corpse explode.

@AzureAspect

Initially i wanted to make all vilains with a red color and sadly i did not work on any vilain's sprite. That's a shame to me, and some

working AI are not even showed in-game because i didn't make any sprite for them. Some other have very ugly colors and a total lake of work...
Sorry, working on sprites will be a priority when i'll put hands back on it.

@DinnerInTheDark

Thanks a lot ! I spent a huge amount of my time working again and again on the monster's sprite... a lot more than i should have ;)
Soundtrack was made quite quickly but is a mess :) I used LMMS for the first time, so i'm quite satisfied.

@brombatti

Thank you :)

@daydalus

Thanks ! Sometimes jump feels weak, when you're in front of buildings. It was not really intended but i did not removed it... I'll try to find a way to reenforce the damage count/feeling.

@pkenney

Thanks a lot for your review, i really apreciated it:] I'm also quite proud you remember DMS, i remember your games too ;) I'll try to take all you said in consideration because i think that was a very clever analyse. I also planned to make way lot more levels (and building to destroy) ; here level design is once again totally rushed, leaving the player just with a small bunch of instruction on how to play instead i shall put this in-game

@randoman

Thanks, i'll try to add some control menu or additional keys...

@DragonGino

Thanks, particles were rushed too, it was added at the very end of the jam and it's not really working as intended too :) I'll dig on this because i agree it's too much (and quite ugly).

@inbetweengames says ...

Thank you :] I'll check about the down attack bug, it may be the same bug when character is in front of buildings.

@SecondDimension says ...

Thank you ! I still turn my Master System on from times to times late in night when i'm at my parent's home :) Still i could not beat

alex kid !

@Dizzly

That's weird i did not have any of those bugs at any time :/ Sorry about that, and thak you !

@peterthehe

Thank you, and you're right i totally half assed work on visuals, spending most of this time drawing and re drawing the player's sprite

:) I also used some time to work on buildings but the rest is really cheap and fast made, sorry :] Time....

@intXparts

Thanks a lot ! I'm happy to make you happy :) RAMPAGE FTW

@crucknuk

Thank you ! Last LD my work really lakes of gameplay because i was in the hurry to submit my (first) compo. Bad idea, or bad scoping. I still have some trouble to have the right scope it seems :/

@reiknight

Thanks ! The name came because I needed one, that's a totally spontaneous name:] I usually feel myself bad at finding good names... I'll try to make intensity a bit more levelled :)

@SlayerEXE

Thanks a lot, i definitely need to add/change some controls :) I'm using this ctrl/alt/space combination for more than 20 years so it's some kind of bad habit that I have :]

LordKawaii
Thanks, like i said particle effect is not really working the way I wanted and was rushed...

@cyrixd

Thanks ! I'll try to make shakes and effects moreconnected to damages made:]

@adsilcott

Thanks a lot ! Hope i could make it even better:]

@Nikteddy92 :

Thanks a lot ! I agree reading game's description is often a good start, but how many time do we unpack and use things without reading instructions :] In the other hand i like to try things without reading anything about it, to see if i can figure what i shall do.

@bodsey

It's not juice, it's FX apocalypse :) That's true... Thank you !

Thank you all once again ! It's motivating and a good insight into what must be done. And good job with your games :]

Cheers !

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Was always a big fan of rampage so like that this reminded me of it. The monster looked great and the game got pretty hectic, pretty quick. As others have mentioned controls were a bit awkward but like any LDJam it's always easy to run out of time and you've definitely made a fuller experience then the last one which is great to see :)

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:50am

Enjoyable game. The only negatives I have to say are the repetitive gameplay and poor smoke effects. Everything else is really well done!

terop says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:17pm

pretty neat.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]