Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

My Little Death Machine

by Zed - Compo Entry

Take (remote) control of a tall, destructive robot and wreak a moderate amount of havoc, punching buildings and stomping on tanks, until a surprising boss battle happens (after about 3 minutes).

FEATURING:
- Voice acting!
- Upgrades!
- Punching buildings!
- A comprehensive tutorial!
- Subtitles!
- Eye lasers!
- Nukes!
- A.. Cheat button?!

Yep. I really want people to see all of the game before they rate it, so if you're REALLY stuck, just leave it running for 10 minutes, then check the shop for a button with 'cheat' written on it. This will give you infinite health and ALL of the money, so you can get through everything the game has to offer!

But I would definitely suggest you try to beat it 'properly' first. Make sure to check the tutorial! Not only because it'll tell you what to do, but also because I worked hard on it and I'm incredibly egotistical...

Oh! And there is a *BRIEF* 'ad' at the start for a Youtube channel I run. I just put that in there because I cross-promote stuff I do, including how I talk about Ludum Dare to all the people I know on Twitter, and I didn't think there's anything wrong with a bit of cross-promotion. Hopefully it doesn't offend anybody.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Audio4.07
#31Humor4.00
#79Graphics4.07
#143Fun3.56
#186Overall3.54
#203Mood3.40
#213Theme3.78
#416Innovation3.07
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I didn't buy anything at the end of level 1 because I wanted to save up for the shield upgrade. But when level 2 started, I had 0 dosh! Where did all my dosh go?

Love love love the art and sounds. Zelda shop music was a nice touch. Didn't like the ad at the start but that's the world we live in I guess.

Solid entry.

Zed says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Ah, the 'ad' is just a channel I run. I cross-promote everything as I think it'll drive more people towards LD etc. Everyone wins!

Also the dosh counter in the level shows how much you've accumulated on that run. All your total dosh is still there in the shop. Thanks for playing!

wicht says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Funny entry, kept me busy for a while. The tutorial is awesome :D

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

AWESOME!! Love the papery art style and the voic acting/music is top of the Ludum Dare line. Would not surprise me if this makes it to the top 10 or 50!

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:01am

The intro scene, and tutorial are really funny! It has very good depth considering the short amount of time in the jam, phenomenal effort. I couldn't work out the lazer first, I thought a press would fire it, then I saw the crosshair, once I twigged that the points started racking up. I like the decision to use drawing and your voice effects, makes for a charming game.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:21am

I love the sound, I love the paper concept. I ll definetely try out next time.

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Lolz, funniest game I've played yet!
(Among games meant to be funny, of course.. :/)
Humor 5/5. Nice work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Graphics and Audio very cool.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:13am

great game! love the graphics and audio!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:21am

I missed this!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:34am

I thought the controls helped to make it feel more like a robot, so good job there. Smart idea to include the cheat button.

I was playing it normally but got bored after a while so it popped up at just the right time.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:24am

A really simple and fun game.

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:54am

I loved how the art style and sound effects blend together! Really fun game :)

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:29pm

The tutorial cracked me up. Fun game!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:12am

Well, this is bloody lovely :D

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Love the art :) Really funny game!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:53am

This was a rather humorous entry. The intro had me in bits plus I liked the hand-made art and sound effects.

General says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I really liked shooting the lazer! I hope you'll release your game :)

My video review: http://youtu.be/S-puJwH9Sq0

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Items cost a lot. It takes too long to upgrade just one thing.

Fun game besides that. Keyboard controls would have been nice, but the mouse makes the game require more skill / harder to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]