Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Moon Witch

by Brightstar - Jam Entry

A side Scrolling Shooter starring a witch.


The first link leads to the post Jam version of the game.

The Second link leads to what I had done at submission time.

Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#654Fun(Jam)2.89
#664Audio(Jam)2.07
#773Humor(Jam)2.29
#987Graphics(Jam)2.15
#1007Mood(Jam)2.25
#1027Theme(Jam)2.42
#1038Overall(Jam)2.51
#1040Innovation(Jam)1.94

Comments

tigerrenko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Thanx for sharing with us

SKT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:43pm

You put your link in teh Web category but it's an exe (you should put in in the Windows catagory). That's a nice little engine you have done here, it just need some graphics and sound, and some more level to play but really, if you keep at it, you should end up with a nice game. Good work !

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:34am

You win! (Enter) Short sweet to the point that's how I like it!

Brightstar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:03am

Thanks very much for the heads up on which category I should put it under. I changed it to windows. And thank you for the feedback. I've been working on adding sound and graphics. A new version will be posted tomorrow. ^_^

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:22am

Really simple but it's working great!
Graphics and sounds are minimalistic but I found the gameplay quite good. Lots of games are hard to play because their difficulty is not balanced. I think your game is well balanced and actually enjoyable.
I'd like to see it with more polished art and music.
Great job!

DruhinM says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:41am

Simple game but well done. Good work

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:02am

Please label the post-jam game appropriate in the download link by calling it something like "Windows (Post-Jam)

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:16am

"

The game is fairly minimal, but good job with it anyway! I can see this is your first Ludum Dare, so good job. I managed to beat it without too much difficulty. There are a few things that are lacking in the jam version, but I think the most significant is some type of interesting game mechanic. Obviously there are things like graphics and sound that need fixing, but you can miss those and still have a fairly fun game without it.
Other things you could add that make a difference is visual effects and polish. A good example of what effect they make is this game here: http://grapefrukt.com/f/games/juicy-breakout/

I played the post jam version as well, and the graphics and sound effect did make a big difference, even if they were pretty basic. I think the bats' wings were flapping too fast as far as the animation goes.

Hope you do Ludum Dare next time!

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:34am

Thank you. I fixed the link.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:41am

Very helpful advice. Thanks for playing both versions. juicy breakout is very helpful. Thank you.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:44am

The links included with juicy breakout are helpful too to anyone else that might visit it. http://grapefrukt.com/f/games/juicy-breakout/

Good stuff.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:20am

I played the Jam version. Definitely a good start to a game (despite the placeholder graphics, missing audio, and err... lack of levels, it's fun), and I think you should work on it a bit more... oh wait, you have!

ChrisFagan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:32am

Fun little game, polish those graphics and sound and it would be even better.

Aaranos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I think with time it could turn into a nice bullet hell game, just need to find something to make it stand out above the others. You have the bare bones just needs the polish.

nassi says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:49am

Tried both versions, although I could've done with standalone exes instead of installers. The jam version was indeed pretty barebones but the post jam version already expanded the game pretty nicely. I pretty much agree with @Jezzamon here.

DeepBlueJeer says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:17am

Very nice!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Nice little shooter , graphics looks good would though consider maybe adding a couple more frames to the bats and slowing your image_speed a notch :)

reiknight says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:33pm

The post jam version is way better than the jam version, it is simple but I have a nice time so take my like sir and I like it that you finish the game :P

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:30pm

the gameplay is very good - but maybe the sound of bats' shots are a little ennoying =P
Some more polishment will make it better. but it's a nice entry anyway! good job

Brightstar says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Yeah the bat's sonic scream is a bit ear piercing I agree.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:27am

This is hardcore....
I really was thinking about when this level would end until i reach the giant bat and couldn't take hime down, geez :D

It is quite fun! well done!

HellBlazer says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:27am

The jam version is very bare-bones, obviously. The post-jam one is already much improved, keep it up.

Agreed that the sound effects are a bit grating though, especially since they seem pretty loud at default volume.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:57am

Title [enter]
Though it was minimalist it was very fun to play! Controls and mechanics were nicely implemented.
For the post-jam version, the graphical and audio addition was good, but the level got too long I think. It's also a kinda hard to track the hitbox. Bat animation was a bit too fast too.
Although I really liked the setting, I found the theme usage a bit weak...

Anyway great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]