Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lovers on a Park Bench

by peterthehe - Compo Entry

Having travelled across London, 1v1-ed in the rain and engaged in intense afternoon of coffee-fuelled coding, I HAVEN'T collapsed in exhaustion but instead present you with this:

'Lovers on a Park Bench' is essentially a typing game following the story of a square, his ex-girlfriend and a series of intense and very-confusing-at-times metaphors and allusions (they're pretty obvious). All of this is topped with narration by award-winning robot voice, Stephen Hawking (or whatever Audacity can do to emulate it).

All instructions are in-game but here they are if you miss them:

Type the red text as it appears.
Attack (becomes enabled half-way through the game): Space / Click
Change Attack: 1,2
Enable and Disable Narration: F2

Heads up - shooting is random (it's all part of the convoluted metaphor).

There are 3 possible endings.


And finally, a disclaimer.

DISCLAIMER: I'm only 14 and therefore haven't actually been in a romantic relationship before (life is short); I hope this will be an insight into how opera and television have contorted my view of life in general. Thank you and enjoy :P

Software Used: Unity, Photoshop, Visual Studio, Audacity, SFXR, Kawai CA 95 Keyboard, 2nd Speech Centre, Good Old Notepad ;)

Soundtrack and the 'mysterious' third ending can be found here: https://soundcloud.com/peterthehe/sets/lovers-on-a-park-bench-ost

Post-Mortem coming soon but now it's time for some SLEEP <3

____________________________________________________________________
Post-LD Change Log

25/08/15: Lowered music volume (as it was overwhelming the narration)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#117Innovation3.64
#125Mood3.59
#141Audio3.46
#241Humor3.23
#347Overall3.26
#461Graphics3.11
#599Fun2.82
#758Theme2.84

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:48am

A thoroughly silly and irreverent game. I love it.

Mizipzor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51am

An interesting mashup between a typing game and something with heavy narrative. Good writing. Music was too loud and it was often difficult to hear the voice, especially at the end. I'm really impressed by this given your age.

elemel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51am

Trippy game with good atmosphere. I ended up killing my ex. Oops! I enjoyed the first part of the game the most. The combat part that followed felt disconnected from the first part.

martijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51am

The download link for the Linux version is missing the data folder.

Overall it is a nice game. I can't think of serious problems with it.

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:52am

I found this very amusing and the theme idea is very original, also don't worry, romantic relationships are not that brilliant!

I gave this a high rating :)

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:52am

Twice I killed ex, once it said me I am stupid I ended doing nothing. Did I do something wrong?

Voice acting was funny (spoderman, is that you?), but other than that, it was boring.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:52am

Oh man "Stephen Hawking" pronounces it as Ludlum Dahrey. The game is quite good, the story was a bit on "Indian drama" side. I loved the use of the theme.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53am

oh crap, looks like i killed my ex-gf :D
sweety game, good job!

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53am

Good idea, music is at the end too loud so i can´t hear the voice correctly.

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54am

Whoops I killed my ex lol
Interesting idea and I liked the music and the voice :D

reecpj says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:56am

Nice experiment with the typing "thoughts" turning into speech! It was a bit hard to figure out who was the monster and why the shooting came in. The music was great, though a bit loud and I couldn't hear the end voiceover properly. Great job!

Gaga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:05am

Loved it ^^

Chris M says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:08am

I think I lost :(

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09am

"Do you love me, JOHN!?!?" haha
The game is so weirdly funny... the first time I played I thought it was a serious game quite beautifully done. Then I spammed meteors and killed my ex and now I am really confused what to make of it. What is it all about?
And I think I killed the blue guy but it says I killed my ex. How do I get the third ending?

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:31am

*SPOILERS - SCROLL ON IF YOU AREN'T INTO THIS STUFF*

@theholychicken The third ending comes when you fail to kill either of them (logical, eh?)

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:53am

Nice job for so little time and for such a young developer. Love the music even though the volume is bit too high and cover the voices, also love the synthesized voice. The problem i'm having is that there isn't much gameplay, all is good until the black cloud appears and at that point I'm lost and don't know what to do, yes I can shoot but can't direct it and don't know what I'm shooting at. Theme adherence is not really there since there isn't much gameplay, well there is until the black cloud appears. Was another theme, this could be a winner. So keep up with the good work and don't get disappointed, you have great potential!

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:54am

I love this, being a Dave I found it really enjoyable. You really captured a mood and I instantly wanted to know more about the story. I hope this entry does really well.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:55am

Cool idea. I love the art style and the music. Stephen's voice could be louder. :P Enjoy your well deserved slumber.

Split82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:41am

Very interesting. Love the strange mood.

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:54am

very original, i like it.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20am

I would prefer some more precise typing rules (proper timing, etc.) to make it harder, but in general it's very interesting. Also making mistakes could alter the story etc. This is very nice idea. Great job.

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:25am

I think every Ludum Dare game should have your warning at the beginning of it. Well done...this has my highest rating so far :D

K1llercake says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

Oh goddamn it. I hate it when other teens make better games then me. Awesome job though, didn't realize attacking was with mouse till the end.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

I am a murderer :( Good job though, nice to see a bit of typing gameplay!

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:09am

Lol what I like most is that at some point if you get annoyed you just kill the ex randomly haha
I like the innovation and mood, though kinda annoying to both shoot, read instructions and read the plot.

bbqbaron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13am

Argh! What is the narrator saying at the end?

I wasn't clear on exactly why I needed to kill the ex, as his existence didn't seem to affect my score, nor was I clear on the effect or nature of my attacks.

All that aside, it was a pleasant aesthetic experience. I enjoyed the music and prose. For some reason, reminded me of Einstein on the Beach (Philip Glass, not Counting Crows).

Well done.

bbqbaron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13am

Whoops; forgot to vote.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:47am

interesting naration of event, Good atmosphere. Killed the ex so i guess that's the best i can do . Great game what so ever:D

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:28pm

It was a little hard at first, but this gave me good vibes of happiness. The music was a little loud but this was a great game, visually and with the story. Good job.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

One of the best entries so far.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24pm

I really liked the gameplay and the music. The story was fun and had really nice atmosphere. Good work

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24pm

It is a great game with great atmosphere after I played in Windows. The Linux version is not playable.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Very interesting and cool art and the idea for your game is original.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Perfect! This game made me laugh a lot. Awesome sound work and art work. Awesome work!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Had me at the "not for big babies" xD
Also, you're a genius. Awesome writing, awesome sound, awesome art!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Interesting concept. I am not sure what my 'playing' did to the story, but made very cool. Sometimes the music is too loud to understand the voice.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:59pm

How bizarre. But it's also oddly affecting. I like it.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I'm a little confused. Also drat, I killed my ex. Guess that's a bummer. Had me laughing, but the narration had an entirely different mood from the game, which was confusing. Well put together, background is beautiful, music is great.

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I loved this. I loved exploring, trying to see what I needed to do. Great!

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:02pm

The narration is silly and the graphics are awesome. That's a recipe for greatness if anything.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

That was really unique! Great job

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I really enjoyed playing this. To be honest, I didn't really understand the shooting element on my first playthrough, but I felt that the game was fine without it. Quite beautiful, really. :-)

Demetz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Oh man, i really enjoyed the style of this one! haha.
Overall pretty fun game, but the music was bit louder than the voice, making it difficult to hear what the narrator said.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I killed my ex!

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Really nice twist on the theme

Ithildin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I killed my ex...oops 0:-D

Nice atmosphere you've got there, and I really liked the concept, although the typing part felt slightly disconnected even if the words were actually related.

Great work!!

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:41pm

"Drat you killed your ex". hahahaha that was awesome. 5 stars

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I loved this. Couldn't figure out how to aim, but the mechanic of revealing the story and the thomas-was-alone-esque lover action was really interesting. Well done!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Very original take on the theme. Music was too loud, about the only change I would make. Good Job :)

Integershift says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

That voice was the best thing for this game. I don't know if this was meant to be funny.... but it was. Creative idea I had fun playing.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:59am

Hilarious little game, nicely done! XD

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39am

Trying to play on Linux. The zip folder only has the executable with no data folder. Maybe try repackaging everything back up again?

EwChap says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26am

Very unique. I did kill my ex by accident though. Ooops.

andyman404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38am

Hahaha. Well done. I love the twist.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43am

Very creative. I tried a few times, but ended up killing my ex every time- Apparently I wasn't good at the combat part.
The writing was great, and I liked the mood of the game. Nice job!

Mikhail says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:44am

Not a bad game. I enjoyed the game. Great job btw being 14 and competing. I know it can be hard cause im only 16 but keep it up man!

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53am

This is hilarious and I cannot recommend this highly enough. The "twist" so to speak is pretty great and the overwrought dialogue with the voice synthesizer is just the icing on the cake. Terrific job here!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07am

Nice fun idea

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:45am

Absurdity! Nice!

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:01am

One of rare LD games I replayed 3 times out of curiosity. Kid you're a genious o.O Btw voice is more like a cross between Hawking and grandpa Simpson.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Nice writing, I started pretty silly I thought, with the robot voices, but then I got kinda moody by the story. Too much started happening at once when the shadow appeared, so I got a little lost there of what it meant. There was no text in the narrative at the end, and due to the music volume I couldn't discern what was said.
Awesome music, really sets the atmosphere.
I think you really got a knack for writing, nice work!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Just tried the windows link and it says the file no longer exists. Web still works though so was able to play it through that. This game was really well done, nicely executed and felt really polished. Played it all the way through and got the "best" ending. The dialogue is great and can't find any fault in this. Impressed at your age and this is now on my list of favourite games this Ludum Dare. Oh yeah, before I forget the music worked really well in setting the mood.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Nice work! Clean look, funny juxtaposition of narrative, typing game and... well, I won't spoil the ending.

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Holy batman, you're 14? 14?!?!

This is so confusing, I feel like it's a joke that wasn't intended, or an accidental art piece, but it is wha it is, and it a different thing to whoever interacts with it I guess :)

No aiming to the attack, so you just spam it?
No point to the score?
No real point to the story?

Yeah, just like american tv romance, really :)

Good job :)

gty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Amazing idea, very well done.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25pm

It was sad when I killed my ex.. interesting game dude!

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Haha, what, I was not sure what was going on in the end. Liked it a lot though. Might be nice with some more info on what is happening during the combat :) (Who am I? Who do I want to kill? Did I win or lose when I killed my ex?)

Well done. My life feels a little bit richer after having played this.

Claire1605 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Really interesting idea, I really enjoyed it! Loved the change in mood in the narration and the words that mirrored that :)

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Well this is so unbelievably strange and confusing but this didn't stop me thinking it was great. Love the voice synth (or is it a voice synth effect?!).. and the story. And the art style really worked too. I killed my ex (only in your game though)

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

The voice acting was good but a bit difficult to hear over the music.
The visuals were simple but portrait the right amount of emotion needed to tell the story.
I really enjoyed this. Great work.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

A really original game, telling the story through typing gameplay is something I have not seen before. The voice acting was cool and I dig the visual style. The combat part caught me by surprise though and it was kinda hard for me to focus on both things, the typing and the combat. Overall though, a really nice game!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:43am

This was an excellent game. I loved the art style, and microsoft sam was a nice touch! I was curios how the monster theme was going to fit in there and you pulled it off very well. This is probably another one of my favorites in this game jam. :)

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:21am

Remarkable! I'd rather play this than that other quadrilateral game, thomas block or whatever. Tasty!

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:26am

Hilarious... can't find other words to describe it. Loved it, really. Awesome job !

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:40am

That was reeeeeally fun, love the idea and graphics, palette is also great, and this voice at the beginning is just hilarious. Awesome! 5/5

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I kill my ex :) I like the music, the voice narration is so weird, but there is a great atmosphere. Good submission!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Well that took a dark turn! I didn't care for the computerized voice, but the story was engaging and the attacks were fun. Pretty well done game. Good job!

Zammalad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Firstly, well done for an entry of this quality at your age.

Interestingly weird game which I really enjoyed. Audio needed a bit of fine tuning to get sound levels right but were good none the less.

Nice narrative in the game and nice concept for the control mechanism.

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:03am

Pretty good! I think it was a bit confusing,, but it kind of adds to the charm there. I found it really funny you can just shoot stuff and end the text typing stuff.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:05am

Interesting idea and I liked the music and the voice. However the game is so weirdly funny. Well done ++

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:08am

great mood and innovation. The sound is well done and fitting

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:31am

ohoho, it's very good for 14 years young dev.
Nice try! i like this game, it's so funny because the dialog is weird.

Goutye says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Kill 3 times my boyfriend. Kill the blue, kill the red, and kill everything :> Thank for the game (Niiiice moood)!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Excellent music and a lovely mood overall! The only thing I can say against it is the time it took to actually get into the game (obligatory 30s ad, followed by unskippable warning)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Wonderfully original. A good experimentation.

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:06am

Very awesome game

kaype says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:16am

I found the game to be kinda confusing, but overall it's still fun and the Speakonia/MS/AT&T voice is pretty funny. I love the graphics/art style.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:34am

I wish voice was done a little different. I loved the mood though.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:35pm

"Do you love me. JOHN?" is some serious Christopher Walken stuff. Made me laugh really hard :D
Cool game :)

FrederickK says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:21pm

What a strange and conceptual game.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:39am

Hey! I kept trying to download, but the download fails at about 90% :(

iapc says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:21pm

A pity it isn't actually voice-acted well.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:14am

Thanks for the feedback guys :) The voice acting was deliberately done as such for comic effect :P

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:49pm

A bit difficult to type, read the story and try to kill your Ex. But then I understood that you don't need to kill anybody.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:00am

Great, very experimental and artsy I think :) I loved the narration, and trying to play it differently to see all endings. Backgrounds and particles are nice, and I'm quite impressed by such clever metaphors from a 14 kid. It has a real weird atmosphere, and nice (weird) humor. Sadly i can't kill the guy, i keep on killing "my ex". So i guess I miss one ending, but i'm not jealous about him :)
Good work !

Big Cow says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Abstract, interesting, artistic, poetic. Experienced two endings one where I didn't kill anything and one where I killed my ex. I like the narrative element and the way it made me imagine this jealous ex lover (yellow box) watching this scene unfolding.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Great concept. Not sure exactly what my weapons are supposed to be though...

jofra says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Very nice! Loved the mood!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Liked the style. Unique entry that was both amusing and fun to go through! :) Producing this at the age of 14 is quite an achievement - well done! :D I killed my ex :(

Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Interesting story! I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CgBnxdy5Yfk

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Hey, thought this pretty cool. Those robot voices sure take away the gravity of the situation, making Dave's fireball attacks all the more silly. Thought it was a pretty interesting deconstruction of exes depicted in popular media. I certainly ended up killing the ex, which felt like a deliberate design decision.

I do think proper voice acting would drastically improve the deconstruction part. The typing was a little strange, too.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:38am

ooh!! That has an intense mood! ^^
The music, graphics, story and gameplay create an impressive atmosphere. It's pretty different than the other games that I have played on this LD. Besides, the interpretation of the theme is quite interesting. Good entry :D

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Impressive entry! The game was quite silly but I loved it. Good work!

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Really nice! Good job, especially in the short timeframe, had a good feel to the game and I did play through multiple times to get the endings!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Please, add the ending subtitnes. I'm a non-native English speaker and it was hard for me to understand the synthesized speech without any accompanying text.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]