Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fragmented Reality

by merrak - Compo Entry

Can you escape the mind of a madman?

Arrow keys / WASD to move, enter doors, etc.

P to pause. M to mute/un-mute.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#4Mood4.43
#51Audio3.81
#71Graphics4.11
#73Overall3.82
#274Innovation3.31
#406Fun3.11
#426Theme3.46
#655Humor2.27

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Really nice entry! I love the graphics, this is one of the most beautiful games I've ever played! I also liked the audio, I think it fits the mood perfectly.

merrak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:22am

Thanks! I wasn't sure how the art would come out at the start. I wasted a lot of time on another game that I just wasn't into.

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57am

Inventive graphics/gameplay and looks pretty.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

Really fantastic visuals, I love the use of photographic imagery! Really solid narrative game.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07am

Hard to control well

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:09am

Very lovely game with some solid level design. I bet there are a lot of people deeming this entry as "pretentious" or "art game" but it's a pretty interesting narrative told through level design, visuals and text. Everything fit nicely together and for 48hrs that's really a big accomplishment since it also is finished and not abandoned halfway through (ahem...). Best entry so far, very well done!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:09am

I remember seeing the devlogs of this! Wonderful graphics, loved them. especially the character. Otherwise ok game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16am

Very nice game, loved the background/effects. I cant put too much for humor but mood on the other hand. ;) Great work!

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24am

Nice entry! I like the art style a lot, however I found that the colors were incredibly distracting.

I like the way you told the story through the level design, but I found a lot of the execution lacking. In a trial-and-error based game, it's really frustrating to have to wait so long to respawn.

HOWEVER, I understand that this is part of the rhetoric of the experience. The frustration and visual dissonance creates the feelings of the character you are trying to portray, and I commmend you for being so ambitious in a ludum dare!

If anything, though, I personally think that subversion is the best vessel for this kind of mechanic-storytelling, so you should at least give the player something to rely on before pulling it out from under them. Bright white tiles that 'hide' the dark tiles that are the actual terrain is annoying if it happens from the start, but tricky when it happens later on. You explored this a bit with the 'find yourself level', which I liked, but I think we didn't get enough time with anything straight-fowrward to be able to see a 'descent' into madness. It's simply madness.

All in all, nice entry. Congrats!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

Nice music. No sfx, but I think it was better without them. Not really my style of game, but I couldn't help but play it all the way through. The controls were a bit off... for so much precision platforming, it felt like I was sliding off platform constantly. Good graphics! If you ever played Jill of the Jungle on DOS a million years ago, this reminds me a lot of that.

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:19am

Very smart mechanics+colors choices. I liked the mood a lot too. Very good and interesting entry.

Chris M says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30am

Great mood, I did start going a little loopy :P

I kinda wish I was more explicitly told or shown the contrast trickery nearer the beginning of the game. It took me an embarrassingly long time to figure out the white blocks weren't in the foreground - but before I realised that was the whole point.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45am

This is probably my favourite platformer I've ever played in ludum dare. I liked the take on the theme, the story, the atmosphere and the music. Really well done. You have my felicitations.

ceosol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:58pm

I love the silhouette art style. It made for really nice graphics and feel to the game. I agree with others that having it be a trial and error game made it feel a little repetitive. Also, I did not see a strong link to the theme.

Overall I do like the game. It has an impressive amount of design for 48 hours.

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10am

Good atmosphere. Interesting concept.

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15am

Very amazing game. Fantastic job. This story is one that really drew me in and I had a great time.

Novaki says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:32am

Great game!

jodizzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:39am

Great game! At first I was confused by your choice of colors and the design of your blocks, but it quickly became clear how it all played into the level design. There are still places where those aspects become frustrating (I had some trouble finding the door in one of the levels), but it was fine overall. The hints at a story are also weaved in with the gameplay, to mostly positive effect.

In terms of criticisms, it would be nice if the "mirrored" image levels had a bit more to them than just a mirror image. There is the level where the player touches their mirror image, and sometimes being able to see the mirror image gave a tiny bit of help in the platforming, but I didn't notice any significant benefit (other than perhaps story purposes). Also, it would be nice if there were "look-around" camera controls; the game relies a bit too much on the a die-try again-die cycle, at least for my tastes. Maybe there can be some greater consequence for dying? Further descent into madness or something?

Again though, nice entry.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52am

Awesome game, loved how it made use of the theme. Very dark and depressing. Also, the art was superb especially the end cutscene!

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Great, great job on this. Great use of storytelling through the level design. Hopefully players will get through the first couple levels to see how intentional the design was. Great ending!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:51am

Wow. That is one of the most enthralling games I have ever played. The graphics are great, the music gets the player into the mood, and the storyline is killer. Literally. ;)

4.5/5 overall. It would be nice if there were a little more variety to the gameplay, but other than that, it's perfect.

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:20pm

I love this concept. At the start I didn't get it, I couldn't get to the first door, because I couldn't tell it was a door. But once I figured that out I understood the game. Big thumbs up from me.

alkazar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice music and atmosphere, but very confusing (I guess intentional). It took me forever to get past the second screen as I thought the game was a riff on the super mario bros. castle levels and you have to fall down the right path to progress. The confusion comes from falling in the first screen, so I thought falling is okay.

Donni11 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Wow !!!!! Rated everything 5 star! Great game !

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:18pm

That was really wacky and cool. The atmosphere created was awesome.

NuSan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Realy cool game. I like how you play on optical illusions. The mood is very good, keep up the good work!

CheesyRamen says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:26am

Great use of colours not only for the art style, but to convey the atmosphere of this game! Nice job =)

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:36am

So much texture to this one. The graphics were a bit difficult to comprehend, but that may have been the point. Either way, I got the hang of it. One of the most interesting games I've played this LD.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]