Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

BrainZ

by tphx - Compo Entry

You are a zombie. Avoid the people and collect the heads.

This is my first Ludum Dare entry. I had to cut out a lot of stuff that I wanted to include but at least I was able to complete a working game in time. I wish I had more time to polish it and and add more stuff but it is what it is. I learned a lot along the way and had a great time. I can't wait for the next LD.

Known Bugs/Glitches

- Jumping can be a little weird when you hit blocks (it ends the jump if you hit the side some times).
- Sound glitches out at the end of levels.


8/23/15 - Note:

I had some trouble setting up the Git repo. Mainly with the directories and builds. I didn't actually change anything in the game after the submission time but I did mess around with the repo. All the changes can be seen in the repo.

8/24/15 - Note:

I changed the included font to a free font to avoid any licensing problems with redistribution. Check it out here: http://www.dafont.com/lycanthrope.font

I also added a license file to the release build.


8/26/15 - Note:

Uploaded a .zip as suggested rather than using the build in the repo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#632Audio2.13
#691Humor2.20
#744Theme2.88
#816Mood2.27
#823Graphics2.29
#865Overall2.56
#889Fun2.18
#901Innovation1.93
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:19am

The idea is good, but it needs some more work in my opinion. The character jumps slowly and the sounds are a bit irritating. It's also a good idea to pack your binaries into a ZIP file for the users here to make the download easier.

parDal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:10pm

It's pretty bad.

The jump arc is bizarre, the hitboxes are confusing (I lost a life one time, although I was one box above the enemy) and the overall feel is not good.

On the other side, I liked your level design, I can see that there are ways of finishing the levels without getting damage, considering that, I think you should polish it and make a post-LD version, maybe nobody will play it but, at least, is excellent practice.

emongev says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Fucker stabbed me while i was on top of a tile nex to him D: The idea is simple but the jumping feels weird, but hey its a compo entry so props to you dude, i think its a great job nonetheless :D

MAnimal says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Nice final score font. i hope i ll see you and your next game in next LD. Its hard to begin :)

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:36am

Physics seem a bit off. You move too slowly and it seems less like jumping, more like antigravity. Still, could do a lot worse for a first entry, and hopefully you've learned a bit to make your next entry awesome (I know I did first time).

Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:12am

Well, I see you did get a bit of harsh critics, but for a first Ludum Dare entry I feel it's kinda fine.
Of course, the sounds is a bit irratating and I can see that other things require some work too, but keep up the good work, I'm sure you'll get better and better at this. X)

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]