Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Shark Swimulator

by Karai17 - Jam Entry

WARNING

This game may not work on older versions of Intel HD graphics chips. If you get a DepthBuffer error, please report it to us!

END WARNING

Shark Swimulator is a game about a shark who needs to "rescue" a diver from his underwater prison. Are you a shark enough dude to save him?!

Shark Swimulator was created using the *awesome* LÖVE game framework. We used a preview build of LÖVE 0.10.0 and that is required to run the source. The Windows build is pre-built so it should run fine on any hardware that supports OpenGL 2.1.

Shark Swimulator is translated in English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, and Russian and a bonus language. The game is also fully voiced in English, German, and the bonus language.

Hotkeys:
F9: Change the language
Pause: Mute audio
Alt+Enter: Full screen

Controls:
WS/ud: swim around
QE: Zoom camera
Mouse: Rotate camera

This game has gamepad support and should work with any Xbox 360 or compatible controller. If your controller doesn't work, try launching the game from Steam.

Basic Mechanics:
Slam your sexy shark face into the rope or cage to save the diver from his bonds.

Additional Information:
If you get a crash or the game won't run, you can grab a crash.log file from %APPDATA% (or your OS's equivalent). Please send us the crash log and your system specs in one of the methods listed at the top of the crash.log file.

Thank you for playing our game! We look forward to your feedback! <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#122Humor(Jam)3.68
#146Audio(Jam)3.65
#242Graphics(Jam)3.96
#267Innovation(Jam)3.35
#329Mood(Jam)3.38
#455Theme(Jam)3.55
#466Overall(Jam)3.28
#613Fun(Jam)2.94

Comments

q2k2k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26am

I like the concept of the game! Feels like there should be more divers to rescue though.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

Not a lot of gameplay, but amazingly great visuals and an insane (literally, in one of the voices) amount of voiceover work! I also thing the UI is worth mentioning, it feels super slick. Great job!

-Z

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05am

Ran kind of funny on my computer, with graphical glitches

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06am

Looks GORGEOUS, but I found playing it a little big confusing. Objectives are not well defined so as a player, I was not sure what to do next.

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:07am

Very nice. I liked the art style and the narrator is very good. And those shark puns... hu don't even get me started ;D. Very nice and very interesting. Good work.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:07am

Not much to do, but impressive development values!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11am

really nice polish on this game.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

Found it really funny :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18am

Very pretty game. I love the humor too. The gameplay is a little confusing, and it is short. Still, nice work!

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48am

This was quite cute haha. I really enjoyed the light humor despite the feeding.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12am

Good concept

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33am

Really good looking engine and graphics. Could have used a few effects to make it feel better...having the camera lag behind slightly while changing direction likely would have made it feel amazing.

conradte3 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:29am

Came for the puns, stayed for the puns. Gameplay is a bit lacking but it looks and feels great

duskpn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:30am

Short, but very interesting spin on the theme and nice gameplay.

Loved the puns. Great voiceover work!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:06am

Great game. Love the audio. Love the narrator!

DarthThomas says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12am

Cool game with nice graphics.

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

Really liked the voice acting, I couldn't understand how to chew on the rope but I enjoyed swimming

Rothens says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:15am

I like the concept, but took a while to "chomp" the rope :D

belva1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02am

Nice job, love it

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:11am

THE PUNS, WHY??
Haha, fun little game.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13pm

This is fantastic! Voice work, graphics, gameplay, everything is super slick. The only issue is that there isn't more! Very well done.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Thank you everyone for your feedback! We are aware that the gameplay is quite lacking as we ran out of time and had to cut many ideas to meet the deadline. We plan to spend some time polishing Shark Swimulator in the coming days or weeks and hopefully have a more solid game/demo/thing. We're pretty happy with what we accomplished in 72 hours though, but we definitely want to keep working on this.

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to hearing more in the coming weeks! <3

geckojsc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Nice take on the theme! Different languages gives the game a boost in replayability, the PHP CEO locale completely made my day x)

squarepug says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I can't play this, I downloaded it and when I tried to play it the screen said "Oh no its broken" and "We didnt get a depth buffer, bad things happen". Shame, if you know a fix let me know and I'll have have another go at playing.

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Really fun game, great voicework and fish puns :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38pm

First of all, that is a great name :D

With that out of the way, let me just say WOW. I remember your entry from the last LD, it was impressive to see a 3d game made with a 2d engine. This time it is just on a whole new level. The game is gorgeous, it plays extremely well and has great performance. The game felt very polished, everything from the menu and credits to the actual game. I am super excited to see what you guys will make in the future.

Finally, well done on the voiceover!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Well done, i respect the voice over work, i know from experience its a huge amount of work, i loved the visual, and it was very punny

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:17pm

@squarepug: Can you tell me your OS and GPU/driver version? You can reply here or DM me on Twitter @LandonManning.

@Windmill Games: Thanks! <3

conormn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:41am

Funny take on the theme and well executed :)

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:46am

Concept is good, but not enough content to experience.
If there are some item in water for us to see, the depth comparison will be better.

Bug : Shark can go through the ground

MrTwister says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:13am

Nice entry. Loved the puns!
Graphics are awesome, as well as the sound effects and the voice work!. It was too short though!

5 out of 5 Starfish.
P.S: Also loved the extra language.

Gil4 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:37am

"Well, at least you were delicious", haha.

eric777 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:51am

Localized Ludum Dare Game. Holy cow that's cool. Feels like a solid package with title/options/credits.

Graphics are simple but very tasteful. I felt the underwater feel. The sun brightness when swimming up was nice.

I think the diver should be in view when starting the level. It took me a while to find him. I think he was right on top of me. I'd suggest a chomp button for the shark biting the rope maybe.

Well done!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:53am

fun entry. liked the voice overs, the jokes, the twist, and the difficulty. A bit too simple, but hey, it was nice. thanks.

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:40am

Interesting take on the theme. The puns were great. I didn't quite get what to do at first, as I tend not to read directions the first play through to see how intuitive the controls and objective(s) are for any given game. I ended up eating the diver at least 10 times, before I figured out how to bite the rope. Controlling the movement of the shark felt very tight and easy. Nice work!

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:03am

AHAHOH oh G0d that pun in the title i'm literally dying right now oh my god

The controls seem kinda wonky IMO, but I love the game :p

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:10am

Cute voice, clean graphics, smooth swimming! Very nice! :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Great entry with awesome presentation (graphics + audio + mood) and smooth gamefeel. Awesome overall work, dudes.

Zettelkasten says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:36pm

You are a shark and try to rescue trapped divers.
While the graphics and visuals are extremely polished and very pleasing to look at, the game lacks contents (I think there are only two missions in the game). Also props for the very good voice-over and translation in 9!! different languages, I have hardly seen games that have been translated into even one.

Strike says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:40am

I saw you announcing the theme of your game on the IRC chan and I was laughing my ass off. Since then I really wanted to try your game. Now it's done and it is really funny. Controls are a big confusing at first but after getting used to it it's just great. Well polished, with good graphics and good music. Plus there are many languages supported. Awesome !

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:08am

It looks great! I think a few more sounds triggered on interaction would have added to the effect. Good job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:33am

Very nice concept and visual!

Boberro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Thank you for your excellent leadership, CEO.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:04pm

you've got good voice actor :)

superfreak says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:38am

Really nice looking game and adored the puns :D

zuurr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:52pm

fun game. very impressed with the localizations. this is actually a lot of work!

nice particles, ui, voice acting, and phpceo.

on the downside i think the gameplay was a bit weird and the game was very very short. also i dont know if i finished the game the correct way since it kind of bugged out at the end (there are a few seconds where you do not appear to be calling glclear or equivalent).

still, overall very nice.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:17am

Pretty cool concept and a nice interpenetration of the theme.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I like the voice acting, it bring life to the game, the graphics are nice, the concept too. This is a great entry! nice work!

OadT says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:38am

So many translations :O (I love bonus language :D)
Funny game idea, I also like the compile logs in your credits.
I just had a small problem in the last stage. It says I should press A to beat the boat. But I doesn't work, because it means the A button on a gamepad. I played on a keyboard, but luckily I had a gamepad connected and finished the game :D

Karai17 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:13pm

OadT: It would be enter/return on keyboard. :)

MicroMacro says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This game is very well made, especially when using Love3D. Very nice work!

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Very impressive, good to see Love3D actually working with models, collision and all that jazz. Also, having translations available is incredible for an LD entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]