Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dive Demon Dive

by MrSun - Compo Entry

Use Your Butt!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.44
Coolness72%
#7Overall4.28
#46Innovation3.93
#111Audio3.54
#115Mood3.62
#132Graphics3.88
#154Humor3.46
#371Theme3.53

Comments

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

I couldn't really figure out how to play this game. I used the keys but I just kept slamming around. The blue blocks disappear but how do I get out of that room? Is it supposed to be a puzzle? I tried for more than a few minutes to figure out how to play, but I couldn't.

I feel like I am missing the meat of the game, but I reviewed what I was able to play.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

That was one of the most fun puzzle games I think I've played in a long while. The last level was quite tricky indeed.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12am

Fantastic! The sort of game that made me wonder why I didnt think of that! I love the visuals as well, the background tiles are really striking.

ehtd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

Yeah! I win. Nice game, hard to master the two controls, but fun

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15am

Decent. Nothing really innovative here, per se, but a solid entry. Good job!

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

Nice idea, good mechanics. Good feel too, the impacts felt very forceful!

Completed it, but not too easily. I did forget I could walk normally at some points, but I can't blame you for my being a spaz.

Nice touch having the enemies that can do the same things you can. It got challenging when the green and red guys showed up. The solution to the last screen felt unintuitive to me, but I got there in the end.

Well made game.

Latency says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:05pm

That was a ton of fun, cool concept and wonderful action puzzle design, loved the final few rooms. Great Job

cicanci says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

Nice game, great job! Loved the puzzles!

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38am

Really amazing. One of few. Good job.

lowercaserho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38am

Loved this.

fmdud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

The best Ludum Dare 33 game I've played so far.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

I really liked this puzzle game. I would love to play it more! :D Love it

BaseCase says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

Great puzzle game! Really enjoyed the different ways you designed the levels.

AuthorX says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

Really fun, mechanics are unique but simple. Favorite entry so far and feels like a short but very complete game.

daveh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

Really enjoyed it. Liked how it built up to facing enemies that were the same as yourself. Wasn't sure that last room was possible for a while, but I figured it out. Great art style as well.

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43am

Really fun, colorful graphics and cool mechanics.

Monkokio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44am

Wow! Overall a really solid game. It strikes an interesting balance of being an action game and a puzzle game.
The ramp up of enemies and obstacles from level to level was perfect, stayed interesting for a while.

Great job!

thedashdude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

I like the game, I would have expected the gravity thing to be part of a puzzle game, but the action was nice!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:34am

Nice gameplay and puzzles, although I think arrow keys would have been easier than IJKL. Anyway, I had fun.

Gammel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Great game!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Yep, one of the best. A snappy variant of the gravity-adjustment concept. Terrific fun.

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:32am

5/5. One of the best entries, really entertaining and smart, great job!

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:00am

That was a lot of fun. Cool mechanics and cool use of them. Great work.

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Finished! :D
Hahahahahah.
Very good. o/

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:44pm

amazingly fun 5/5

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:28pm

very nice game idea. the dual controls sometimes feels awkward. still had a lot of fun.

mickanio says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:05pm

w00T! great game! i love the grunting sounds

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:13am

It is a bit confusing at first, the difference beetween asdw and the arrow-keys, but after you eventually understand it, it is really fun! i also managed to beat the game (last level was difficult). very nice and interesting!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]