Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Troll Toll

by Rulrite - Compo Entry

As the local troll, you have 90 seconds to feast on as many unassuming villagers as you can! Just don't let Sir Skinnytall spot you; he'll waste valuable time if he does.

--- Instructions ---

Click on a bridge-crosser to eat them!

Look out for a questionmark appearing by Sir Skinnytall's head; that's when you should hide (stop eating). You can also listen out for his sound cues.

Monk - 1 point
Wizard - 2 points
Witch - 3 points
Princess - 5 points
King - 10 points

Share your high scores in the comments, and please enjoy my game!

--- Notes ---

Music randomly generated by cgMusic: http://codeminion.com/blogs/maciek/2008/05/cgmusic-computers-create-music/

If you like what you see here, you can also visit https://rulrite.wordpress.com/games/ to check out my portfolio (aside from some current projects, it's pretty up to date).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#48Humor3.90
#91Mood3.69
#93Overall3.77
#95Theme4.00
#96Audio3.57
#125Graphics3.90
#128Fun3.61
#480Innovation2.97

Comments

TRON.dll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33am

141 points here! Really liked the game!

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56am

I played the Windows version, great job on the art and sound.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:46pm

This is hilarious. Arts and sound are awesome. Some background melody would be awesome. 109 points so far but the game will stay on my device for a while. Let's see hohe Mann points I'll get.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:48pm

*how many

Damn you, German auto correction!

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

Lot of fun when playing this game x) really good job ! Simple but efficient

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

Played the game on my Android and it worked great. Fun game :)

donaldm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

Great game! This was very fun! I really liked the artwork and the game play addicting.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:22am

Very cute! I can see kids being very entertained by this on a tablet. Very colourful and storybook-esque. Great work!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:12am

The sounds made me die

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Lol, why is the big troll afraid of a small knight? Cool art and addictive gameplay!

Here're my video reviews: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 28:49

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Very well made game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/NqmWO8MUX6c

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:45am

I loved the art style 79

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:48am

Cute to death.Thank you for your work, Amazingļ¼

eric777 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:58am

Very fun. At first I thought that I wasn't supposed to grab certain types of people, but then I realized it was when the knight was looking. Very very cool. I had a lot of fun playing this. Music was nice. Graphics were outstanding. VO was great too.

Nicely done!!!

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Unfortunately I couldn't run the Android version on my phone. It gave me a message saying it had trouble parsing the file.

Rulrite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:14pm

@garygreen Sorry about that! I can't say I've ever heard of that problem before... Hopefully you still managed to enjoy the Windows version, if you can run that one.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Score 199 ! Great mood and funny game.

broknecho says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:19am

208! That was fun! Nice job. Simple concept but effective.

Good job!

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22am

I like the art style and the little voice clips are a lot of fun! Gameplay is a little simple and could definitely be expanded upon.

rudra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Great one. Nice art, and very hilarious! Well done!

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Hehe. Fun game. It made me hungry.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Played it on Android. Good looking and funny game! I think the gameplay is a bit limited though.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:04am

228 was my highest score. For a randomly generated song, it was very appropriate for the game. Despite that, a nice simple game executed with a great amount of polish. The graphics are great, especially the very detailed background. Good job!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:15am

Fun game with simple concept really well executed. Got a top score of 181.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]