Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bring Me Your Weak

by ErgoMeSmart - Jam Entry

Get the heroes to the forest bosses in a weak enough state to be today's meal! Place down signposts in the dark forest and direct wannabe heroes to fights against your minions and their eventual doom, because, after all, a monsters got to eat.

How To Play

Goal: Get the heroes to the forest bosses (the slimes) in a weak enough state to be today's meal.

Hero routes are outlined with blue lines. Placing signposts will change their route.

Place signposts by clicking on a spot on the board. The direction of signposts is rotated 90 degrees clockwise on every click, with the signpost removed after a full rotation.​

(Older build: Place signposts by clicking on a spot on the board. The direction of signposts, as well as the option to remove them, is selected from the left side of the screen.​)

Heroes have to reach the bosses with 1 health. Health is lost from them attacking the other enemies on the board.

An attack head-on will cause a hero to lose 2 health. A side-on attack will lead to the loss of 1 health, while an attack from behind will change to no loss of health.

Routing a hero into the forest/off the board, killing them before a boss or bringing them to a boss too strong will lead to defeat.

Rotate the camera up, down, left, right by holding down the right mouse button and moving the mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2355Coolness0%

Comments

Warxen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Hard game in my opinion. Had some trouble with intuitively knowing what to do. Not knowing when I am able to kill the slime, or how I will be able to do it. I figured the lower the counter the better, but I ended up losing from normal mobs. Also it would be better to turn cast shadows off with those trees, it causes tremendous lag. Also for the pointing system, you might be able to simplify it by just having to click on one point to place a sign, where every next click on it is a 90 degrees rotation of the sign, having extra feedback on the direction of the sign would also be nice. Very cool concept nevertheless, keep up the good work.

ErgoMeSmart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

@Warxen Thanks for the feedback! Have just heard from someone else that the shadows were causing lag for them as well, so I've done what I can to try and reduce that. Also good call on the multiple clicks to change rotation, I'll be sure to add that in if/when I get round to working on this further. I've also added the 'How to Play' text to this page and the download page to hopefully make it a bit clearer what the aim of the game is.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:02am

It was a good game with very impressive graphics but it just kept giving me lag.

Team Myopia says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:55am

Nice little puzzle game, I made it all the way through, though not all of them with 3 stars. The biggest need of improvement is placing the signs since when you rotate the camera all the directions are off of course. Perhaps a click and drag on the point to show which direction.

There was also a bug where the camera couldn't be raised which was solved by restarting the level.

Overall a solid effort though.

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:34pm

really nice idea.

Louspirit says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Nice graphics and I liked to find out a good away, the game is quite long. Two little things : the music was stressful and you get lost with the arrows if you turn the camera!

ErgoMeSmart says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Thanks for the feedback all! Hear what's been said about the sign placement and work will be done to fix that sometime this week. Some work will also be done on reducing the lag caused by the high-detail trees and shadows, although setting the game down to a lower quality will hopefully reduce that issue in the meantime.

For those who don't want to download the game, a WebGL build will also be up shortly (AKA, once GameJolt actually lets me upload the build).

Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Maybe the best loop I've heard on any indie game. Fantastic work. Game is okay too.

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Didn't know what to do at first. But it's ok. Takes some time to adjust.

ErgoMeSmart says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:07pm

New version is now up for Windows. Lag should be less of an issue due to new trees that use 100 times less tries, the camera bug should be fixed and signpost placement is now done using multiple clicks. The older, original build is still available for download if you prefer to play the game in its original state though.

Kai20 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:15pm

intressting but i am too stupid for that

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]