Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lair of the Scare

by RockhopperGames - Compo Entry

Heroes are invading your lair! Deal with them like a Gentlemonster, by scaring them away!

It took me all night to put it together, but this is the most satisfied with a Ludum Dare entry so far! Not that I won't pretend it's well polished, or includes everything I wanted, but having a bit of time left at the end of the compo to hunt bugs and add a tiny bit of audio was a great feeling!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#69Theme4.08
#174Humor3.39
#199Innovation3.45
#425Overall3.18
#433Graphics3.16
#440Mood3.03
#475Audio2.70
#536Fun2.92

Comments

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

This game had tons of personality. The character is simple yet works so well. A gentleman monster. That's just brilliant. And it's not just a story element either, it's gamplay one too, since you don't actually kill anyone but just scare them as you don't believe in violence. It gets even better when you realise the louder your scream is the more scary it is. And that reflects in the sound design as well since your scream goes from a skreech to a cute roar to a monster-like roar. Other than that the gameplay is functional and the graphics have lots of charm to them. Overall, a good entry that put me in a good mood.

-muffin- says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I loved this game! Especially the wimpsy scares!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Great little game. Not super clear why it's sometimes really easy to scare and sometimes not. Also hard to tell the difference between a confident and scared hero. Wonderful game, huge potential. The ability to buy some passive traps would've been interesting!

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:45pm

I dig the art. The idea of a monster that is not destructive is definitely refreshing. Some music or ambient sound would have been good.

Dukio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Very original. Not the best graphics or sound (there are any music?), but I think that the gameplay is innovative and so fun. Nice work! ^^

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59pm

It wasn't extremely easy figuring out when the knights are frightened, but it's a solid idea and that was really the only gripe I had with it.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47pm

It was good, my only issue was that the space bar was used to advance the screen and scare, so at games end you moved through so much if you were mashing the space bar. Maybe ENTER instead?

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Nice story. Funny and on the theme !
It's very hard to defend the both way at the same time ! A map would be useful. ;)

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

Funny and cool story and gameplay idea. I also like the different scream sounds depending on how loud the monster screams. It was just a bit hard to see the difference between confident and frightened heroes, but during gameplay it was actually quite clear.

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00pm

The idea is really cool ! The gameplay is quite easy to figure out, and the game itself it nice. The only thing missing is a music, for a better ambience.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far!

I was worried the scared heroes might be a bit hard to tell apart from the confindent ones. It was pretty clear when I was working on the sprites up close, but once I zoomed out it became a lot harder to see. I might add some extra panic markers to scared ones if I put together a postjam version.

Music would definitely be something I'd like to add if I get a chance, too. All the sound effects so far were made with my mouth, but if anyone has a recomendation for a music program, I'd appreciate that!

@goldenindiegames: I hadn't thought of adding traps! That could be a really interesting addition for a post-jam version!

@Elenesski: Hmm, I prefer keeping the range of buttons low, but I'll defintely looking into what I can do to stop people missing their score screen!

@LeoM: I was originally intending for there to be a range of monsters with different abilities, one of which would be able to detect heroes off screen, but that was way outside the scope of 48 hours. I'll see about making them easier to find, though!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I think you had a really good idea but realization is not that good. It becomes repetitive too quickly. There could be more stuff happening like different enemy types or some other dangers.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:30pm

That was a great use of theme. The bar for your roar was a nice touch, from the wimpy "boo" to the "RAWR!" lol

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:25pm

That's a good one! I'd like to see more of it! Keep it up!

TLansdale says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I enjoyed this! Fun concept and fun sounds. Would've been nice to have some indication of where to find the heroes, but it worked well!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Sweet game! Love the hairy little dude! The texts were awesome as well! A bit hard to see the difference between a frightened and a non-frightened hero, though was awesome animations of them fleeing when getting scared! Awesome!

30dogs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Clever idea. Took me a few tried to get it but it was fun.

I wish there was a little more difference between the types of heroes...thought you were trolling us for second there. The overall look and story was really great though.

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:30am

really good game, well made, nice controls, nice textures, but I can't really beleive this is made in 48h, did you wasted some time somewhere ? I don't know how to play it even it there are a lot of help text, and I found a bug, I scared the guy in a dark area over him while running and instead of having back the death screen, the cam was just infinitly scrolling left side down.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:22pm

@commodoreKid: I would like to add more enemy types for a post jam version, but I worry it could dilute the character of the enemies. The square-jawed, broad-shouldered hero is such a cliche that I can't really think of anything else worthy of standing alongside him.

@bouletmarc: I did have to pull an all nighter on the second day, but in the end I was glad with what I'd achieved. I did waste a little time accidentally spriting the hero at twice the size I needed (you can see that sprite on the Game Over screen), and originally I had a movement system that let you move around the middle of the screen without it scrolling. It was meant to make it so you could keep your focus on the heroes while you were avoiding them, but in the end it was just limiting visibility and causing all sorts of bugs. Thanks for your bug report too, I'll see if I can replicated and eliminate it!

And thanks for all the other feedback too! I'm glad to see people seem to be enjoying my game! ^_^

mar3k says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:46am

Really cool idea. Nice game.

humbleness says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:47am

The monster's roars are hilarious and the pixel art detail on the heroes are amazing
Solid entry in my opinion

CheesyRamen says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:12am

Pretty interesting, nice take on the stealth genre! =)
Good job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:04pm

the idea is original. I liked the roar :))

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:06pm

cute game, but i didn't know why i always died when i scared them from behind, i thought they wouldn't see me.

Anyway nice little entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]