Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Meal For The Gods

by Code Medicine - Jam Entry

A Ludum Dare 33 entry, created in 72 hours. Game jam theme : You are the monster

Legend tells of a great beast that once terrorized a small village. A being, known only as the keeper sacrificed many brave souls to appease the gods and keep the village safe.

You are the keeper, feed your villagers to the beast to keep him satisfied. Compete for the top spot with GameJolt leaderboards!

Click and hold on a villager to pick him up.
Move your mouse to drag him around.
Release to toss him to his doom!

Skyler King - Design, 3d Assets, Programming
Torin King - Audio
Chris Hutson - Animation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Audio(Jam)3.76
#161Humor(Jam)3.56
#169Graphics(Jam)4.12
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#259Innovation(Jam)3.36
#320Mood(Jam)3.39
#456Fun(Jam)3.15
#461Theme(Jam)3.54
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56am

Simple but quite fun. The animation and sound of the monster have a lot of personality!

Kizler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:00am

I haven't successfully thrown a single villager in that mouth. :( I love this game so much, I just wanna see how it's possible.

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:14pm

That was a treat, thanks for making it!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I liked it... Kinda like Clumsy Ninja but into a dragon mouth. On my Mac hard swings with the would cause the game to minimize and then crash, but I got the idea. Nice work!

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

This was great! Took me a playthrow to get the throwing mechanics down, I was trying to fling the mouse too fast. Slow and stead over the rock was the trick. I liked the assets, the lighting was nice, and the audio was perfect for setting the atmosphere. Great job!

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:25pm

A simple bit of fun.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I really like the overall design of the game. The visuals, the audio and of course the physics oriented gameplay feel really nice together.

I did find it quite difficult to actually get the people to properly fling into the mouth. I found out later that it was much easier for me if I grabbed them by their body rather than their heads. The heads are the obvious thing to grab though because of the proportions.

The people felt really "heavy" to drag and it was quite easy for them to kind of slip out of your control because of that weight. I had to kind of drag them back a bit before I flinged forward otherwise they wouldn't have enough momentum to get even remotely close. I also found the perspective to be somewhat confusing at first, since you're dragging left and right but there's some depth there that's hard to gauge. You do get somewhat accustomed to it over time though.

I wasn't sure if it ended at some point or not. I played it over a couple of times and enjoyed myself. It's fairly difficult but also ends up being pretty rewarding when you do start getting the hang of it. I found the satisfaction bar perhaps drains too quickly though for most people to be able to manage it without spending a fair amount of time failing (which might be frustrating to some).

- Dylan

BUNN1E5 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:45am

Really Good. Liked the models a lot, they looked really good

Felipe Tasca says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:44am

Not able to play. I not get it. All my villagers have fallen! Very hard...

superfreak says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:19am

Love the art-style and how much personality the monster had :) I was god-awful at actually throwing villagers but had a great deal of fun trying!

Odefus says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:26am

Really liked the art style. Throwing physics objects with some weight to them is always a good time if you ask me. Some of the lines of the sacrificial villagers were pretty amusing. Fine work.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:25am

Very nice art-style, was entertained

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Fun game, but tough to get a feel for the physics. Nice art style and goofy audio. Great work!

Twinters says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Cool idea, but as said before: it was quite hard flinging the villagers (as my first intuition was grabbing them by the head, and even when grabbing the body, they always fell before I could feed them to the dragon). The animations, audio and 3d models looked really great though, the screenshake is really well done! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]