Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Combover Monster Campaign Manager

by andyman404 - Compo Entry

"Rated 10/10 Combovers" - The Donald's Combover.

THE DONALD doesn't like losers.
But you're not a loser, are you?
Obviously not.
That's why The Donald hired you as his new campaign/combover manager!
He's rich. Really rich.

SYNOPSIS: In this political-satire campaign-strategy discovery-sandbox game, you are the manager of The Donald's Combover's Presidential Campaign. Use his monster combover powers to help improve his ratings to secure a party nomination in this confusing media madhouse that is the US Presidential Election Process.

YOUR GOAL: Help The Donald reach 40%+ polling for the Republican Party Primaries and hold it for 30 seconds. (Look for the orange TRUMP bar on the left side.)

How you do it is up to you to discover and figure out. The complex process of campaign management doesn't come with instructions, except for the instructions/spoiler section further below.)

DISCOVERY/SANDBOX: Part of the fun of being a new campaign manager is discovering how your actions affect voters, and how that affects your poll numbers. If you don't know what you're doing at first - it's ok, just be observant to the colors/logos on the voters' signs, and figure out their correlation to the polling results numbers on the left side of the screen.

CONTROLS TO TRY:
- WASD/Arrows
- Spacebar
- holding down shift
- E or Enter

Escape to Quit, R to Restart

SORRY NON-AMERICAN GAMERS: Sorry to those of you who are non-US gamers, unfamiliar with the circus that is the US Presidential Election Process! (Lucky you!) You might have a hard time understanding this game/simulation/mockery, or the media monster significance of "The Donald". You may want to just skip this game and move onto the next.

Enjoy a hilarious original soundtrack of Donald slow-rapping. See a feed of real live tweets, fetched from all the presidential candidates' timelines being thrown around as ammo. Made in 48 hours for the compo. Unfortunately, I didn't have enough time to add the SuperPAC and media outlets features, and barely had enough time to put together a super quick and dirty title screen.

Tools Used: Unity 5, Blender, Gimp, Substance Painter, US Map Generator (http://usmapgenerator.com), Audacity, GarageBand

___________

(It's more fun to discover it yourself)
SPOILERS/INSTRUCTIONS BELOW:
SPOILERS/INSTRUCTIONS BELOW:
SPOILERS/INSTRUCTIONS BELOW:
SPOILERS/INSTRUCTIONS BELOW:


CONTROLS:

- Move: WASD or Arrow Keys. Voters, walls, and other candidates can block you when you are in your normal talking head mode. You can stomp over them while in monster combover mode.

- Fire off a Tweet: Spacebar. Voters that make contact with the tweets will be converted into your supporters. The more supporters you have, relative to other Republican candidates, the higher you poll. You cannot convert blue voters (Democrats) unless they are dazed first, with...

- Monster Combover: Hold Shift to transform into the giant combover monster. Any voters you come into contact with will be temporarily dazed by your awesamnity, and will forget who they were supporting after they wake up. You only have a limited amount of combover power though, which recharges over time. This also smashes down walls that you build...

- Build Walls: E or Enter. These walls can be damaged by yourself and other candidates, but are useful for strategically corralling voters. The Donald loves building walls along our country's borders.

- Quit: Escape

- Restart: R


TIPS:

- A poll is taken of all the voters (the little sign posts) every half second. You're only concerned with the Republican (red) voters and how you're doing against the other Republican candidates (the large signposts with red boxes on the bottom). You can see the poll results on the left side of the screen.

- Use The Donald's rapid fire tweet ability to win over voters and boost your polling results. Though unwieldy to fire, when a tweet make contact with a voter, it will change the allegiance of any red or undecided voter to you. You'll see their signpost become orange. You can lay the tweets down as traps for voters to stumble onto. Keep converting voters into your own until your rating is high enough. Beware - other candidates will try to convert your own voters to theirs by firing their own tweets.

- Use the MONSTER COMBOVER power (hold down Shift) to transform into your true form, a giant combover, and temporarily squash/daze other candidates' supporters and make them "undecided" when they wake up. This is useful for converting blue (Democrat) voters into undecided voters that you can capture with your tweets. Or you can use it to allow Hillary to convert them to blue, so that your opponents can't convert them. You're only concerned with the polling among Republicans, after all.

- Build walls (E key) to keep out the other candidates. This is an advanced tool for deeper strategy. Don't box yourself in though. These walls can be damaged by other candidates and yourself, but not by voters.



__________
END SPOILERS/INSTRUCTIONS SECTION

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#8Humor4.49
#20Audio4.09
#51Innovation3.87
#161Overall3.61
#176Mood3.48
#216Fun3.40
#250Theme3.72
#354Graphics3.30

Comments

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:10am

Seemed like it would be interesting if I knew what to do, but I had no idea how to play, even after reading the instructions multiple times

Laddo D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13am

masterwork

the height of the craft

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

Very realistic!

monetai says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37am

Very funny

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

I'm sure you'll upset some people with this one, but man am I glad you went for it. That was quite simply amazing.

FerraWare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

What. The. Shrek.

Pros:
-Freaking Donald Trump!
-Funniest game I've ever played
-Love your take on the theme :P

Cons:
-Hard to understand

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46am

This feels too much like novelty shovelware at first glance for me to feel the motivation to put the time in to understand and play it. Sorry.

lulublululu says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:25am

BEST GAME

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:26am

Trump comb over super power.. didnt see that coming

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

That just happened. Feels surprisingly deep for what I though would just be a comedy effort.

Aelius says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38am

100% accurate. The gameplay is a little one sided once you get the gist of it.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46am

Trump is funny.

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28am

This was way too much fun. Can't believe you made this inside 48 hours. Kudos.

The music + DT rapping = awesome.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:54am

Does it seem to anyone else that this game is a bit trumped up?

Also, the wall wouldn't work. Mexico would start sending their olympic pole vaulting drug dealing rapists at us.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43am

Masterpiece!! So funny!

martijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:27am

Funniest game so far.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46am

That was amazing.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:26am

Liked the soundpiece

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:46am

THIS IS DEMOCRACY AT ITS HEIGHT. I had no idea what I was doing, but still did it for 5 minutes

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:47am

Bit hard to wrap my had around.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27pm

I have no idea what's going on, but I was very happy listening to the music and pressing spacebar!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Very good art style which adds a realistic effect.

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:33pm

FROM THE DEV:

If you don't understand what to do - this is a political sandbox for you to experiment with different strategies. Just make sure that orange bar on the left in the poll results section keeps increasing.

Try different things and see how they affect your ratings. I've added extra descriptions of what to do in the game description, but I'd recommend just trying things and have fun discovering what kind of effect they have on voters to come up with your campaign strategy.

SIMPLE BRUTE FORCE STRATEGY: move around and shoot your tweets (Spacebar) at Republican voters (those little red signs) and Undecided voters (signs with black "?") to convert them Trump (orange voters). You should see your poll results (on the left) go up if you convert the voters fast enough. Get the TRUMP line to 40%+ and stay there for 30 seconds to win.

flokitall says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Read the spoilers after playing the game, must say I didn't expect that depth for the mechanics. However, I did just brute force my way through the game, holding down space and moving around the map.

This is the kind of game I could see going on Last Week Tonight or something :)

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:03am

This s quite possibly the best thing anyone has ever made ever.

Also someone else made a Trump related game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=40468

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:55am

LOL, I love it so much. You should put the web version on Newgrounds and Kongregate, and make some ad money from it. Last time I checked every 1,000,000 plays was worth around $1000. So you too could become officially rich! But more importantly you need to share this with the world.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

Hello Fellow Trump-Dev. I like how we both went for the 'hair destroying things' angle, very nice.

Much Trump
~ Tyler

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56am

11/5 humor

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:57am

PLEASE tweet this to @realdonaldtrump! God damn hilarious. 9000 peppers out of a pepper.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03am

Hilarious! I love it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01am

I feel like I have a deeper understanding of American politics.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:29am

Very creative entry, though rather confusing to keep track of everything. :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Nice work, quite difficult to work out how to win

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Well that was interesting... great game, really funny and I must admit I like building walls too

dcolgan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This is amazing. Excellent use of the theme.

RovingSquid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Funny, but seems impossible to win!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:29am

Amazing.

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:49am

Echoing a previous comment: "Feels surprisingly deep for what I thought would just be a comedy effort."

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:20am

I am not American, but I know who this Donald fellow is. I think the sound bites work really well, but was a little too complicated so I was trying to hard to concentrate on what I was doing rather than taking in what was going on (if that makes sense?)

Great effort though, glad to know that this dude is not representative of all Americans too ;)

garygreen says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Wow! That was the scariest combover I have ever seen. :-O Clever idea and well put together.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:38am

Masterwork, truly a piece of gaming art in a way. xD

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

superfreak says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:27pm

There are no words for how hilarious this is... 10/10

handkor says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:09pm

The tweets and quotes were a great idea.

Krunoslav says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Hahahaha, very fun game! Voting games should be developed, thank you!

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Funny, and a bit more depth than I was expecting!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

This Game is really so Innovation!
Very unique!

Oct 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Super funny game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/wEgI5I5KLKY

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:25am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]