Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bus Crush

by Selzier - Jam Entry

Bus Driver on duty! You must pick up all the little brats and take them to their final destination! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#139Humor(Jam)3.63
#296Fun(Jam)3.39
#466Overall(Jam)3.28
#611Innovation(Jam)2.90
#716Mood(Jam)2.86
#830Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:57am

Great job! This game makes me feel like a terrible person, lol. Physics are hilarious, 5 star in humor.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

Excellent graphics, tons of fun, would let little jimmy fly through the windscreen again.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I literally LOLed a the end. Nice entry!

thegdr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:19am

nice!

Piotrek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:12am

I made frontflip! Game was very fun to play. Nice ending. People in bus would look better as sprites and you should think about better ui skin but anyway graphics looks nice too.

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:20am

This is really funny. Not totally sure how this works with the 'you are the monster' theme, which is a shame. Perhaps you could have just gave the bus a monster design and at least there would have been some link :)

Selzier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Thanks for the comments guys! Squarepug, at the end of the level when the train collides with the bus you get a high score for having the most kids on the bus!

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:16am

Nice quick and easy to play.

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:29am

Wow, dark! I feel terrible, but I did enjoy the way the kid models can fall out of the bus model.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:16am

Haha, "final destination." Nice choice of words!

I was having too much fun going fast, so I was only able to get one kid to the end. But the rest were probably mortally injured from falling out of a speeding bus anyway!

I love how the train tracks are just beyond the school. The kids must have all been like, "Wait, where are we going?!" And then...

You know what this game needs? It needs screams.

Cool game, hehe!

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Driving the bus over the terrain is really fun. The passengers are a total afterthought. I started ignoring the passengers entirely, attempting to speedrun the level. With passengers, my high score was 5800. Without, 5500.

That firetruck needs to be a playable vehicle! Color the passengers red and make them firefighters!

-mildmojo

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:39am

and the kids on the bus go round and round, round, and then on the ground. Awesome, great job man.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:48am

The end is great! It doesn't count if people bump out of the bus?

freaknarf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:01am

Fun game ! i liked physics, it reminded me freerider :D That was a bit short, but background is well done and nice, and trying to bring those kids on rails without throwing them out of the bus was quite hard ... Cool idea, i think hitting kids with the bus could have been rewarding too and makes the player feel a bit more he is the monster, at least before getting hit by a train!

eddynardo says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:08am

Loved it.My favorite so far ;)

dregamr says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Ja-ja-ja!! I drive like Otto. Boys...boys everywhere!

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:18pm

My kids love to play your little game. Funny to watch the kids flying around. Nice entry!

StaNov says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Oh yeeeah, I liked that :) But I wasn't able to get a single child to the end. They all fell off. Hmpf, today's kids, ya know :)

Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:15pm

- looks good
- physics are a bit wonkey, but that made it kind of funny
- good music
- bus looks weird, no shading, tiny tires
- buildings in the background look great
- very difficult to control and keep kids in the bus
- doesn't seem to fit the theme
- after several tries i can't get to the end, i feel through no fault of my own

Mase says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Some better graphics for the kids would’ve been nice… the background looks great though.
It’s frustrating when one of the capsule-kids falls out, and then when the bus rolls over it the physics go insane and all of the other capsules launch out at 500mph as well.
Also my bus always seems to politely stop before reaching the tracks… just before the train arrives.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Funny. I like physics and fresh aesthetic, but where is the monster? With more time I think you can do something great. A good entry. Thank you ++

placatedduck says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Fun entry!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Funny, fun to play! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/fxtKngYPsCg

lanestp says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice little physics racer. I had a lot of fun even though I am terrible at these games.

dcolgan says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:18pm

A game so nice I played it twice. I showed my wife and she slapped me.

sikosis says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nice physics game. No monsters but good mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]