Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Some Knights Left

by farwyler - Jam Entry

This is our entry for the Ludum Dare 33 Jam competition.

Some knights are still left and you are sick of beeing bullied.

You are the monster. It´s time to behave like one.

Trampel them down to gain power. Use your powerful attack to beat the boss knight in each wave.

Made in 72 hours for ludum dare jam 33 #LDJAM

by @farwyler, @shakemeluzifer, @bmuig

--- Controls:
* arrow keys / wasd
* space
* kill the bard to start the wave

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#52Theme(Jam)4.17
#56Overall(Jam)4.01
#79Fun(Jam)3.81
#80Audio(Jam)3.83
#94Humor(Jam)3.77
#113Graphics(Jam)4.29
#134Mood(Jam)3.75

Comments

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46am

Very, very cool! Really well designed, I love the art style, and the audio was top-notch.

Though I hit a state at the start of one of the waves where nothing spawned. Just kind of wandered the map aimlessly trying to find them :P

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Amazing. I wonder of giving that first night such an annoying voice in order for the player to try and kill him was intentional, as that sure was my first experience of success here. Great one, 5's across the board.

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47am

looove this one!

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:25am

Good game! Simple and solid in every aspect

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27am

Gorgeous graphics and spot on audio. Game play is solid and fun. This is an extremely well rounded game. Excellent work.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27am

One of the best games I've seen. I love the graphics and the attack mechanics!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

The little cute singer being smashed XDDD
nice entry =]!

gdquest says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

It's quite interesting! The sound effects are pretty nice, and the game definitely feels polished. A little bit slow to my taste, but it goes well with the overall mood. Good job!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Oh my god I love the bard!

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Never before have I wanted the archers to stay still as much as this game. Great job.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Great gameplay, well paced, and fantastic presentation. I felt the monster was a bit slow which made chasing archers annoying. Stellar job!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Hey, that was great!!!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Woah! This is a great game! It could have been harder, I enjoyed finishing it

Vaida says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:35am

Good music, great graphics! The gameplay was fun too, with varied units. The world felt a bit bare, though; some houses or something would have been nice. The little things the units said were hilarious. I enjoyed it, good work! :)

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:20am

Woah, this is just amazing !

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:03am

This game is amazing,we love the graphics and gameplay!!

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:13am

Terrific idea and very simple. Loved the monster. Hated the cooldown on the attack. Horses and soliders very comic.

AngryRebel says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:14am

Neat game! Great art!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:18am

Well made all around! It's mood made me smile!

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:36pm

The folk singer with the string instrument is the best thing ever!! The game is fantastic! I don't remember being so entertained by a LD entry!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:15am

looks really polished. very cool

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:17am

I really enjoyed this, played it all the way through to the end. It was a nice, simple idea and had a lot of character. Good work!

SamH says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:21am

★★★★★ Amazing. The beast is undefeated! But is it also satisfied? NO! IT WANTS MORE!

Excellent ideas here and there, the “voice acting” is really funny, the music and SFX blend in very well. My nitpicks: there is something odd with the monster walk animation, the legs and arms seem off sync, but I can’t really tell exactly; also I could not find any feedback on whether my special hit count was.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice game. Love the bard!

Sanju says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Loved the graphics and gameplay. Fun game.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice, great visuals, and sound. Loved the little narrator character as well, that was really innovative!

Kizler says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I really like the waves aspect of this game. And the bard between levels is hilarious!

jofra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:26pm

5 star game for me! loved everthing! X) awesome entry.
Very well animated

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:57pm

This is a good entry! The feeling and the atmosphere is great! smash knight is fun! good job!

graebor says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Cute! I like the use of the bard as a tutorial you can skip/kill whenever you want. Nice audio work :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Good design. My favourite part was the bard.

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Clearly one of the best jam game I've tested so far :)
I love the bard :D
Cool pixel art, nice music and sfx, fun gameplay... Great job to you guys!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:04pm

gorgeous game!

superfluous says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:49pm

One of my favorite games of the jam. So much fun, and so funny. I love the little bard.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:37pm

This is super well made. I love the animation!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:49am

Fun game. The character movement was a little slow for me. I really dug the graphics and audio.

m43c0 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:00am

Me wanna SMASH!!!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:56pm

The sass on that BARD! Hahahhaa I love this entry! Stars all around. The bards' shitty music made me angry and I love it.

Great job, guys!

-Loi LeMix

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:55pm

wow, so cool. Loved so much of this, the knights, the bowman, the horse, the bard, the monster. The genius! Things i didn't like. Man it was slow. Took soooooo long to catch some of those archers. :/ that damped some of the fun for me. Otherwise awesome!!!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:17am

Oh, the limit on attacks made that hard, but it was fun though! I think the size of said monster to enemies/heroes was perfect, something about it made me feel really good about attacking!

SelfTitled says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:21am

Love the pixel art, the little guys are so cute almost a shame to kill them . . . almost

It would be better if you had more than one attack though

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:22am

My favourite entry so far. Looks and sounds great and I love that bard. Slightly painful trying to dodge and chase archers when you are so slow but I guess that is a part of being a monster! :D

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:27am

everything about this is really great! very well done!

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:27am

I enjoyed playing this entry a lot. The game mechanic works well. I hope you will expand on it. Would love to see such a game evolved into a giant raging beast feast of gore.

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Awesome game that loooks very good. Can get a little repetetive though

tGiant says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:21pm

I love this game. The fine details makes it amusing.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:00pm

The bard is really lovely, could we crush him more?

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Very fun and polished game. Audio was great too.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:28pm

The bard is the best part :D Awesome game!

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Fantastic game. I enjoyed the concept, the art was top notch, audio fit perfectly. It was pretty much perfect, I can't think of anything I didn't enjoy. Five stars all the way. :)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:09am

Really cool game! The gameplay was really fun, and it was pretty funny to read those dialogues coming from the bard. I loved how you can kill the bard whose giving the tutorial, most awesome skip button ever! :D

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:33am

Really great game!
I love the art and music! It's amazing what you managed to do in such a short time. The gameplay is simple but well balanced (I think) and fun.
I had trouble figuring out how many knights actually remained, during the final wave I had two different messages "only one knight left" from the guard and "44 knights left" at the top of the screen. Maybe it was 44 guards left?
Anyway, that's a really great entry! Good job guys!

LeoM says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Very fun,
And a nice mood too.
But, is their a way to "no kill" the bard ? ^^

scorched says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I appreciate graphics and humor! Well done!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Absolutely amazing! You nailed the audio, with that charming bard voice and the positional sounding horse hooves. Amazing.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:49pm

ALL THE STARS!! Loved this. I played through the whole game and really enjoyed the humor and the feel. It was slightly too easy, however I did die on the last level, after winning the game an arrow hit me. =P Neat little bug having the bard tell me that I was undefeated over a "Game Over" background. :D Amazing entry, be very proud of this!

mar3k says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Great looking and fun game, it gets little bit repetitive after while, but I still had fun even in the last wave I also like that bard at the start and the music. Really nice game!

megapaul108 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:02pm

It was made really well I loved the graphics the last level was hard for me I didn't finish it. overall really good.

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:03am

nice art and animation. You feel the weight of the colossus by its animation. You should change the music ;p Good job.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:15pm

I'm not quite sure what the appeal is here. The art is nice. The concept is sound. But it's an extremely simple game, and fundamentally I don't see that it requires much skill. Of any game I always ask: what's the difference between a skillful player and a poor player? In this case, you walk around and bump into little guys. I'm not sure that a good player would be much more successful than a weak one. Where's the fun?

Matzigon says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Quite nice entry. Could have been a bit more challenging or complicated. Good job! :)

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

This game was very charming! I loved the sound of it, it was extremely satifying and cute at times. The gameplay was simple, but functional and I simply loved the way the little guy before the waves was implemented. Stellar entry!

Krunoslav says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

I love the art syle! Funny troubador! :)

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Perfect game. Exactly what I was looking for with this theme well done.

Larzan says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Love the gxf style, good monster anim, fun to play :)

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Great art and great sfx!

lallous says ...
Sep 18, 2015 @ 8:12am

Awesome visuals and solid gameplay. Now expand on this :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]