Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Basement

by AdayMC - Compo Entry

Hi!

I loved the theme this edition so I had to do something with it. I couldn't be full working but I found time to develop this, THE BASEMENT.

Help the monster to eat all the COOKIES!

Be careful with oversize the bite and don't take the red cookies (THEY ARE WITHOUT SUGAR! can you believe that?)

Will you be able to help the monster? 20 levels awaits for you, it autosaves on your browser so you can eat more and more without losing your progress ^^

Check it out!
You just have to use your mouse:
Left to aspire & Right to blow

Have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#109Humor3.60
#163Fun3.51
#194Audio3.32
#196Innovation3.46
#299Overall3.33
#437Theme3.44
#455Mood3.00
#502Graphics3.02

Comments

MaesK says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Hahaha, nice mechanic! Its fun to try to get the normal cookies instead of the red ones, but just fail one or eat too much and bleeeergh :D

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Good Game, 2d point physics working well.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Fun!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:50pm

The mechanic is very sweet. it's fun to play this game. Everything is nice. Strong submissions

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

It's a simple but a fun game. Physics working really well. Nice work!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:33pm

AHAH niceee!

tomdeal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Very cool idea! I also want more cookies :-)

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Fun theme concept :) Would be more challanging if mouth was always open and a bit slower turn for example, so it's easier to accidentally eat the red cookie.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Fun them concept :) Would be more challanging if the mouth was always open and a bit slower turnspeed for example, so it's easier to accidentally eat the red cookie.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:26pm

The audio was great :P The gameplay... a bit repetitive. I enjoyed the physics a lot, but it was more or less the same all the way :( But all in all, a nice entry, I must say :)

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Great entry! These physics work very well here. PS. Now I want cookies.

wavertron says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Neat mechanics. Took a moment to realise you have to wait to swallow before just vacuuming in everything, which was a nice touch to add a little more complexity to it. Looks like a good base for developing further.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Awesome ! Mechanic is great, monster is nice and sound is funny :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I never knew the cookie monster was a frog. Thanks for giving me this knowledge. Also nice idea. Physics working well too.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Wow, great entry! I think it's the most fun game I've played till now. Your game is simple, clever and humorous. Even losing is fun :)

peterkirk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:58pm

The voice acting is funny and I like how I can tell you made the sucking sounds yourself.
It wasn't very hard but I don’t think it needed to be. At one point I spat out 80+ cookies and found it humorous when having to do something over would normally be frustrating.
I find it weird that there is a gulping sound regardless if you eat any cookies on that mouthful.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Deceptively simple yet oddly compelling. My only issue is the game could've used a few extra curveballs at higher levels - it gets a LITTLE repetitive. Other than that, great stuff!

ccglp says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Very original little game. The sounds are so great, good overall :)

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Hahahahahah. Interesting concept.

Quij says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:59pm

That was fun! Very satisfying. Solid controls. Well-drawn and animated monster. I liked the feedback when eating a cookie (just slightly growing the monster), and when eating a red cookie (bwahahha).
With so many levels it felt like there was room for another mechanic or complication. Though I did appreciate how the inhale capacity increased each level.
Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]