Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Eye of the Basilisk

by dkdwrek - Compo Entry

You are Baldrick, a young basilisk living in the basement of Hagworts. Destroy those pesky magicians with your laser death stare by making eye contact. Eat mice to regenerate health. Use WASD or the arrow keys to move.

How this was made:
Haxeflixel
Pickle
GIMP
Bfxr
Bossa Ceoil
FlashDevelop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#177Audio3.37
#210Fun3.41
#303Humor3.08
#332Overall3.28
#405Theme3.49
#533Graphics2.95

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12am

Really nice graphics and models :D Laser Eyeballs! I liked that you had to regen health by eating mice.

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

Nice entry! I like the concept and the execution. I found that the game was constantly dropping my inputs and making me move in random directions which was pretty frustrating. I also couldn't find any consistency in how the enemies ended up dying to my lazer eye beams.

The tune was really catchy though, and I liked the sound effects.

Congrats on the entry!

weazen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37am

Enemies seemed to clump up along the right wall for me. Used it to my advantage by getting multi-kills when they would hit a corner and then turn towards the left :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:40am

There's a solid game idea here, and the graphics and sound definitely fit, but it's too easy right now. I got bored after 2 minutes because there wasn't any challenge. I wish I would've wanted to play longer!

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

I am a laser shooting snake? AWESOME! :D

Laddo D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:08am

very clever and fun

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

Honestly i didn't read the rules but once i figured out what was going on it turned out to be super fun. would play a mobile version on the train all the time. ^^ great job

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:38am

Cool concept. Lots of fun to melt the wizards. Would be nice to have some difficulty ramp to it, but your foundation is awesome.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:50am

It was so satisfying to use the laser beam :D I loved how everyone was running in terror from you. It had a polished arcade-y feel. Great job!

watupdb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:51am

Nice! I like the art. The input seemed a little wonky at times, but nothing that made the game unplayable. The laser seemed a little unreliable, but maybe I missed something - still super fun though!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:08am

Love the music :)

lowercaserho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34am

My favourite of the games I've played so far. Great stuff.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47am

I had a good laugh with the whole "eating mice" thing. This was great.

kcaze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52am

I liked it! The kill enemies by shooting them with laser beams was pretty funny and it makes for a pretty cool game mechanic too. Also, that description :P

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:15am

great

cynicalmonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:52am

died in about 4 seconds first attempt but made it almost 3 minutes on turn 2, plays really quickly and smoothly, very easy to pick up and satisfying when you can kill 3 or 4 at once

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:53am

Very good. Nice graphics, fun gameplay, just overall a very good game! :)

jodizzle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:06am

Really great submission. I think it's a nicely clever twist on the top-down, survive forever type game. The graphics and music were especially nice.

A couple things I noticed:
- The eye beams don't seem super consistent, both in terms of how you have to line up with the wizards and when the animation plays.
- The game feels pretty easy overall; I found that a lot of the time I was able to just stand in the corner and wait for a couple wizards to line up before turning to face them. Since the score is passively increasing, you could argue that it isn't that necessary to use the eye beams at all.
- Taking damage on impact is good, but in combination with my first point, this can lead to scenarios where an undying wizard is banging up against the player. Maybe have a single hit do more damage but also bounce the wizard and the player apart?

Overall though it's a fun submission!

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:09am

(spoiler alert!) 57 million points and lasted almost 6 minutes. Could have gone on for hours. How'd I do it. I hung out in the corner ... almost the perfect defensible location. Could fix it by making it wrap around. Fit the theme really well. Good job.

ArchBang says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09am

Cool little idea nicely done. Didn't encounter bugs. The graphics are fitting.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:41am

Exploding wizards and witches with laser beams is always fun..! I liked the graphics, control was easy enough... Nice work...

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47am

Great entry, really like the attacking mechanics. It both looks nice and is executed well.

scottredrup says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10am

This is a really original game mechanic that is excellently implemented! To take it further I would make the collisions a bit less harsh, especially when enemies can almost spawn on you, it makes dying too easy! Good fun though!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26am

Most polished game I have played so far, really enjoyed the art and overall a very fun few minits of my life!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33am

Great graphics and laser eyes. Didn't expect a snake to have it though :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Once I figured out what was going on it was great. Could have done with more instruction though

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

pretty good... it's cool that they had to stare at you in order for your lasers to hit them

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Great game, loved it :)

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Great! Love the animations and music. It might be fun if instead of exploding, everyone was paralyzed and they just kept filling up the room while more people opened a door or something to come in and check on where everyone was.

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Wow, the points accumulate quite fast!

bradur says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

The laser effect was awesome! Good music & sounds as well. Diagonal movement would have been nice though.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Very cool !

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Nice one

reecpj says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Got a cool 3 million points! Fun though I couldn't figure out when the laser would fire

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Okay, yeah, this is actually amazingly engrossing and fun. Simple yet clever. Hagwarts—nice.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:09pm

I really like how you interpret the theme, and the look-into-eyes mechanic was fun. Music was a tad too chaotic perhaps.

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Cool! Smooth gameplay, nice graphics. Would kinda help to have a goal (like, reach ten-thousand points or something).

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06am

Haha! I loved that! lasted 106 seconds for a score of 2599176 :) Simple yet effective.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

wow, very interesting attack mechanic! well done! for some reason I don't see innovation here for rating? did you take that out? i think this is rather innovative...

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:55am

Really nice graphics. The execution is pretty brilliant

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:04pm

It was simple but fun. I liked the as them facing you, it made it interesting. Good work.

APC says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I liked the game. I thought the concept was really creative, and it really changed up the game play a lot.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Oh I love this game! This is so arcade! The music is simple but very great! Maybe you can try to add a multiplayer for more fun!

Supernaught says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Pretty cool and simple mechanic that is executed well. The controls, the speed of the units and the enemy behavior are just perfect. Killing enemies with the laz0r eyebeams feels really satisfying!

Good job on the game!

– Alphonsus

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:45pm

quite difficult game but very original. I liked it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]