Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are the Monsieur

by GhostBomb - Compo Entry

France has been taken over by robots or something!


A to jump

S to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#26Fun4.03
#69Graphics4.12
#75Humor3.73
#83Audio3.61
#111Overall3.73
#158Mood3.54
#548Innovation2.87
#866Theme2.45

Comments

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02am

way to hard for me! but it's fun to play :D
love the art and audio!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:22am

Those damn pesky robots won't leave monsieur alone. Fun platformer and liked the way you made it so that the weapons were french things. Took me a few deaths before I realised I could shoot the rolling wheels, was just dodging them at the start and was actual a fun challenge. Also really liked the run animation bounce.

SelfTitled says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32am

- Controls a little awkward. Having the shoot and jump on the same hand felt uncomfortable.
- I found the power up was worse and started to avoid them.

+ Love the art
+ Music and sfx were good

Quite fun, a little harder for me though

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I liked the mustachy character and that he throws baguettes. The controls were good, graphics too, it was fun.

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:01pm

THEME DIFFICULTY: TITLE PUN.
Haha trying to relate it was so funny XD
I must say though, most slick and smooth platform shooter I've seen here! Very good and polished work!

Aelius says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Really cool plattformer, I didn't know you could charge shots. Two bad the game is one game jam late: last time theme unconventional weapon.

VDZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

A solid (though short) platformer. Not very original, and the link with the theme is rather weak, but it does what it tries to do exactly right.

ekajjake says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33am

Quite difficult.

Logan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:46am

Heh, short, but solid! The graphics are really charming; I love the subtle mustache bounce.

Frozen Stick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:13am

Wow nice Graphics and great game!But it is really hard!

tobbez says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:19am

Solid platforming. The boss could have used some more work, it seemed a bit too luck-based as it is now.

Controls where good.

Some more instructions would have been good, I didn't know you could charge shots until I saw the comment here mentioning it (after I finished the game).

treeman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:37am

Very difficult but I loved the graphics! Nice theme interpretation, heh.

garvon says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:12am

good game. Could not get used to the controls. Jumping on the left hand with shooting felt really weird. I would much rather jump on up arrow.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:24am

You made a great job: leveldesign, gameplay and graphics are cool. It's like megaman transposed in France with a lot of funny cliché

Pardonne moi mon interpretation mais j'espère que le monstre ici n'est pas le français? ( je plaisante :D )

cynicalmonkey says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:54am

really liked the take on the theme and it played really well, looked great to

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:33am

Very fun game! Nice graphics, and funny idea. The croissants were difficult to master, but a nice twist. Not sure how you are the monster though...

Druid says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:34am

Wow... This one was weird fusion of Circus Charlie and Megaman on NES.. Monster indeed! :D Difficulty was pretty challenging, but not frustrating. I enjoyed it very much!

DerekRumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:39am

Really fun! I wanted to play until the end! Please make this a polished product that I can buy one day!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:44am

Nice art and music. Loved that you can actually charge the attack. Had a lot of fun playing this game!

It's also very polished (except that after defeating the boss the game just closed/crashed, so I guess you didn't have time to add credits/victory/ending screen).

My biggest problem here was the boss battle; Sometimes it would just randomly chain 2 or 3 attacks after it descends, with no no rhyme or reason. There should be a sort of tell-tale sign before each attack that let you know when it's going to charge or shoot, which are the hardest attacks to dodge (cannonballs at least have some reasonable air time before they land, and won't hit you if you are close to the ship, unlike the other two attacks, which are sure hits if you are not at a considerable distance from the enemy).

Alternatively, the number of actions the ship will perform should be related to its health (with some visual indication of how badly wounded the ship is), so when it's at full health, it would only perform one attack (on ground), when it's mildly damaged, 2, and then if it's badly damage, 3. This would let the player know when it's safe to get close and shoot, or when to keep a healthy distance and prepare to jump/dodge because another attack is expected.

Anyway, that was just a minor annoyance that can easily be solved. This game is great and definitely a very humorous spin on the theme.

Great job. :)

sorlok says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:06am

Can I say that I really loved this game? My only complaint is that the first croissant doesn't respawn (what an odd sentence!). Also, not sure how this relates to the theme..... ooooh, wait, I get it!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:34pm

It looks really great!! Keep it up!! The art is really awesome and the gamplay is very enjoyable.

Catmoo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:07pm

I really loved your game, I loved the power ups and that it felt like a shmup where you had control of the character and camera. Boss fight was a little iffy but I strove through until I killed it! Was a shame it didn't really have an end, but the game itself was so polished anyway I don't think that mattered.

My only annoyance were the controls as there were a little too close for my fingers to find it comfortable

MAnimal says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:22pm

hard to beat the boss but finally did it!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]