Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sewer Glue

by Damdoshi - Compo Entry

Sewer Glue is a little game, with a tiny concept:
You are a purple monster which hide in the sewer. You only get out to change from a manhole to another one, and have to pay attention to car while doing it.
You can eat people, almost any, but sometimes, you can only digest a special type of people.
Ten levels and then, an endless mode are available.

There is no time limit, it was too late when I got the idea to make an hungry bar.


C++ with SFML. Photoshop 7 for graphics and font (And the VIC-20 color palette and resolution). Guitar Pro 5 and Nuendo for music. I am afraid there is no sound effects.

The Bunny from the splash screen was not made during the jam (only modified to fit the color palette), same thing for the jingle.
From saturday 3PM to monday 2AM (French hour).

28 August - Update:
Fixed packet for the Linux version
New packet for the source code, separated from the linux version
Windows version unchanged

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#271Theme3.69
#284Audio3.12
#287Mood3.25
#304Graphics3.39
#357Fun3.18
#363Innovation3.17
#365Overall3.24
#443Humor2.77

Comments

jojocanard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:57pm

The text hurts my eyes !
But nice game, interesting and funny concept.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27pm

For such a simple concept I really enjoyed playing this. Has a lot of potential for further development. Looks well polished, fits the theme and most of all is fun to play. Well done.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Very good stylization! A fun, diverse game with very good graphics and sound.

Minor complaints: Objectives texts is hard to read and sometimes eaten persons glitch and remain standing where they were caught until the end of level.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01pm

The concept is tiny, but the gameplay is fun. You should continue this, with better features or so. The texts are a bit hard to see, but still, nice.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Colorful and funny :p

jlnr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Authentic retro feeling, gameplay is light-hearted and fun.

(I was running this in a fresh installation of Windows 7, and the game wouldn't run because openal32.dll was missing. I had to pull it from another game and then it worked.)

GBGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41pm

I couldn't run it:

$ ldd sewerglue
linux-vdso.so.1 => (0x00007ffda83f3000)
libsfml-graphics.so.2.3 => not found
libsfml-audio.so.2.3 => not found
libsfml-window.so.2.3 => not found
libsfml-system.so.2.3 => not found

And when I tried to install the libraries, my Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit system had libsfml-graphics2/window2/system2, which seems different enough to be a problem.

Atridas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Interesting approach. I liked the art style (very "Manic mansion"-ike). The music became repetitve after a while and some sFX whould have been great.

The text gets hard to read, and I had a "missing dll" problem when executing it (it was openal32, lukilly I had it somewhere in my PC :D).

adsilcott says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Really liked the concept and gameplay. My only complaint is you can basically stay in one spot to win. Maybe create a mechanic to encourage the player to move around to each sewer. Music was the best I heard so far.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Nice old-school PC style game! Nice job!

mubox says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:48am

Good game. :D
- Easy to learn how to play.
- Good audio.
- Good gameplay.

It's hard to read the text.

Drauthius says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Nice game, very colorful xD

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Those colors though :) Interesting

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Nice entry!! :) Love the graphics and idea!

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:53am

An interesting entry. The graphics are really nice, although the text was a little hard to read. It was definitely fun to play, I like the idea and the music is great, too. Very good entry!

glerikud says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:21pm

You made a great job with the classic graphics and music. I love it.

Jelinib says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:17am

Cool pixel effects!

The game gets long and hard when you have to eat a certain type of person, but at the same time there are also many incorrect people walking around. The target type rarely passes over you alone, thus making it easy to grab the wrong type at the same time as the target, and also making it easy to kill yourself in doing so. Unless you're prepared to wait around for the perfect moment, that is... but I was impatient, haha!

Nice detailed pixel art, unique concept, and pretty fun! Hope you add in those sound effects sometime. :)

Norgg says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Hey, been having the same problem as @GBGames, the versions of libsfml packaged with the Linux version don't match the ones it's linked against.

Norgg says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Whee, managed to build it, but had to set:
CC = g++ -std=c++11 -D_GLIBCXX_USE_CXX11_ABI=0
Because I'm silly and using gcc5.1.

Fun for a bit, but by the time it got to "only eat hot pink girl" I was finding it a bit frustrating just having to wait for one to spawn and then missing her and not being able to catch her at all.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:30am

Large life to SFML <3

nice graphics and funny gameplay, great job : )

Flaid says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:29pm

This game is great, especially considering that you accomplished everything in 48 hours! I really like that the concept allowed you to have different goals for the same game -- eat X of these people, eat X people, etc.

The graphic style was great, but the text was very hard to read.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]