Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Investigation of the Empty House

by TrashLord - Jam Entry

You're a monster who should scare the owners of the house. But also you're monster-detective. Owners of this house mysteriously disappeared. Try to find out what's happened and be meticulous!
Link to Unity3D Web Player file is presented.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#572Humor(Jam)2.70
#920Mood(Jam)2.52
#1049Fun(Jam)2.21
#1057Overall(Jam)2.46
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

It was hard but I do click on every clickable thing and it shows me scary story! You should add some sort of indicator to show what was clicked already.

BluShine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I walked around and clicked on everything I could find. I think I figured out the story, but it would be cool if there was something to tell me "you found all the objects". Or something where I have to answer questions to prove that I solved the mystery.

TrashLord says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:56am

Thank you for the comments and suggestions! Next games will be much better!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:55am

Is something meant to happen after I clicked on everything? Or was there something I missed, despite my multiple passes...

Strike says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:14am

I'm not sure if I missed the point of the game so it's very hard for me to rate it now. I'm wondering why I can move around if it can simply click on everything from anywhere. Is the goal to find every interactive object and click on all of them ? Maybe if you could had some context and explanations in the description it would be great. The game looks interesting so it's even more frustrating ;) I really don't want to rate your game wrongly so I'll do that after I figured it out. Thank you :)

mar3k says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:54am

Interesting idea, but it is quite hard to even see what is he telling because of the black on dark blue and also the font is really small. Also because of there not being any visible objective, the game will get boring after a few minutes. But as I said, cool idea.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:56am

I don't get it? I moved around clicking on stuff and the descriptions come up. If I'm supposed to put together a story based on all the different things or something, sorry, but my attention span just isn't up for that.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Looks cool! No mac port. Can't play. (sad panda)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:59pm

- cool art style
- interesting idea
- story was creepy but I couldn't figure out what happened to the family
- maybe i missed something but seems like story could have used more depth and a conclusion

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:38pm

A little glitchy in places however still playable. Overall it was an interesting thing to play. I would recommend looking into how you are doing collisions to prevent the teleporting.

Arnage says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:47pm

PSA: Don't zoom in your browser to get a larger view of the game as it will cause issues with the game.

Some more polish would have helped, but I like the underlying idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]