Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Midnight Bootleg

by Pastry - Compo Entry

Atmospheric and thrilling game in which you must download a recently released episode of a TV Show. Have fun!

CONTROLS:
Mouse Left Click

I had a lot of fun working on this and it was a serious challenge. This is my second Ludum Dare game and I've come a long way since my first one less than a year ago. I really hope you guys enjoy!


///

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Mood4.31
#21Audio4.08
#25Innovation4.08
#39Theme4.18
#47Overall3.90
#92Graphics4.04
#135Humor3.51
#440Fun3.06

Comments

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55am

Hot dam that was great! Thanks for making it :)

Gelatohead says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:56am

This game REALLY puts things in perspective. Especially when it leaves you hanging after the climax. All of the weird "hints" that show up are nice tidbits.

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28am

Nice idea but very short. Could be a very good thriller.

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34am

Holy heck this is the best thing ever.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34am

Love the moral of the story <3

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37am

*spoiler waring*
That was a funny game. I laughed after that guy said You are the monster.
*spoiler warning end*

Not much to say here. 'Cutscene' was the best part. You got five stars in theme, humor and mood. Graphics were.. little bit to much pixelated maybe? Audio was, well, audio. I think that theme was used greatly here!

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:56am

haha music and the game feel was great! could have been a little longer. never knew it could be that fun to sit and wait for something to download..

JaytleBee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:57am

Really liked it, but kind of predictable.

krasus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

Interesting art style, the mood and atmosphere is great. Pretty cool!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:10am

Excellent atmosphere and wonderful take on the theme. Good job.

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:21am

Nice use of the desktop to catch my eye. So I'm not a big fan of thrillers so I was getting kinda nervous, but I love what it did. I think it was really cool that you those browsers to work the way they did. I think that the weird art style really contributed to the eerieness, and I like the build-up that it had. Really love the ending. Unfortunately the downloading part was way too realistic, and the search term was pretty specific. I know that's an appeal for these games, but from a personal standpoint I don't find them very fun. Great job!

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:11am

well that was terrifying...
Made me very unsettled, very nice mood creating!
Love every bit of it!

Lane says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Cool idea, nice and simple. Cutscene was creepy O_O

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Short an really nice. The idea is simple but all the things work together, even the final scene, and the end.
One of the best entry i have seen so far.
And the waiting is so meaningful, and reminds me personal moment.
Nice, short, meaningful! What else?

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:15am

I spent way more time than I should have playing around with search results haha. This was a very unexpected entry. Never been so engaged use a computer in a computer. Nice!

Kalm004 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Good work, short but good, I was kind of scared when downloading the file...

Jwgk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Best entry I have seen so far! Audio was really satisfying, graphics fit the mood and the end made me laugh. Good work!

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:09pm

nice concept! a very well done game.
Gj

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Woooah maaaan...
that was deeep...
Nice entry, thx!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:59am

Really interesting, great aesthetic, loved the art it was all really great.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:01am

Loved the heavy thick lines. You were able to create a really cool cyberpunky vibe with the dark room, the glowing monitor, the dust particles. The apps and browser were really fun to click through. nice touch with the automatically generated search results. Loved the bit with the giant download button when the actual link was super tiny. And the show at the end with the coffee mug gave a satisfying ending. Great game!

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

CheesyRamen says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:55am

That was pretty creative! You certainly nailed the mood pretty well... guess playing in a dark room did that for me =)
Excellent job!

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:59am

Nice playing with the mood. I hoped for a porn after that thumbnail, but was something else :P

Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:16am

Cool game. Is there an "end", or are you stuck after you've viewed the clip and the screen explodes?

Romaing says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:37am

Really good entry, and good idea!
I thought there would be something more surnatural with monsters and jumpscares, but i like the way it goes.

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice entry. I expected things to go wrong when dowloading the file but the cutscene was a brillant idea.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:42am

Hilarious entry. Nice pixel art, and a great mood. Bit lacking gameplay wise, but that didn't matter since it was short (the short duration was a good decision).

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:02am

Very well played. I could say, this one was pretty much one of the best entries for mood and theme.
Jokes on us!

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Awesome game! Really liked the twist of the theme, and the game as a whole! Excellent job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]