Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Steal Alive

by Pampattitude - Jam Entry

Steal Alive is live on the Google Play Store! https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pampattitude.stealAlive

And also on GameJolt! Holy hell, this is getting out of hand! http://gamejolt.com/games/steal-alive/88906

- - - -

Keyboard controls:
* W / up: jump
* A / left: move left
* D / right: move right
* J / space: attack
* Q: dash left
* E: dash right
* Mouse click: menu selection

Mobile controls: pretty explicit ;]
Please note that Android was the primary release platform. Also, loading is slow, don't freak out if you get a 5 seconds black screen after hitting "play"!

- - - -

Try to get back to your castle alive! Stomp chickens (what, you really thought chickens would **harm** you?), slash your way through soldiers and slay the androgynous **Hero** that's here to stop you!

This game is an endless scroller, 'cept it isn't endless. You can attack and avoid stuff, and your goal is to get to the end by defeating the boss and surviving the level.

Note that there is **only one level**, packed with awesomeness and stupidity. Hope you like it!
You can expect 1 minute game sessions, but the game is so hard I can't tell you how much it takes to get to the end. _I couldn't_. If you get there, please tell me what's there :D

The decompressed game is about 400Mo because of uncompressed sounds and unoptimized textures, sorry for that :x !

- - - -

Royalty-free music by Jason Shaw at [audionautix.com](http://audionautix.com/~audion/).
Sounds FX from [FreeSound](https://www.freesound.org).
Voices by the team, hope you like them!

Tools:
* Unity3D 5
* Adobe Flash
* Paint.NET
* GarageBand
* so much friends and Twitter support, thanks a gigantic bunch!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#79Graphics(Jam)4.38
#330Fun(Jam)3.33
#336Humor(Jam)3.15
#359Overall(Jam)3.41
#436Mood(Jam)3.26
#674Theme(Jam)3.25
#1001Innovation(Jam)2.21

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Very nice graphics and audio(I don't know why you wont let me rate this :( ) Very simple gameplay which is nice. Overall, great game! :D

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Great graphics. I really loved the animation!

Nek says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49pm

The graphics were very beutiful but the gameplay grows stale very fast and feels unresponsive,good job still.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Really nice look and feel!

It was fast moving and challenging.

Love the little bird knight things!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Love the graphics and animation, a lot of love has been put into this entry and that's always great to see. I hope you do well in the rankings :)

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Interesting twist on the autoscroller. Like the graphics and style. The movement controls seem a bit redundant.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

Cool game, but tough!

Tango172 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

Really fun to play - great graphics and audio too!

mota says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Awesome graphics and very simple and intuitive gameplay. Challenging game with great soundtrack. Simple and efficient game.

hrd_games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:51am

Very pretty, but unfortunately felt quite repetitive, and actually hitting the enemy was frustratingly difficult.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46pm

3320 is my best, cannot spend more time on it sorry. Controls response very well, graphics are alright. Sound effects are very repetitive but overall it's a nice little game. You should put it on appstore or something.

FiSilva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Great graphics, it's very fun too

Damdoshi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Le rendu est super = D L'animation, le graphisme, la musique aussi. C'est expéditif, et on rentre direct dans la partie. J'ai un peu de mal avec le scrolling (c'est l'age), mais c'est cool = )

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:43am

Looked nice but I felt that the sprites were a bit too detailed for the speed of the game - I know that sounds weird :/

Still good work overall!

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:47am

@LeafThief yeah, we got that comment a lot, and I can't point out what's wrong with it. I mean, Sonic games aren't that blurry, why is ours?

Do you think sprites should have been less detailed, outlined or something? :/

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:57am

I really liked the artwork here

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Really nice graphics and animations.

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:46am

A fun endless runner! Good job

JackDegree says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Crushing chicken is weirdly addictive thanks to you.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Cool runner! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CvW_HEqR1oI

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Played it on Android. Looks and feels great! I find the gameplay a bit limited though. I think obstacles or holes to jump over would enrich the gameplay.

nassi says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Got to 3350 points or something by fixing my sight at the right edge of the screen and hitting up and space the moment I saw a human figure approaching. At least for me the hit windup was a tad too long as I usually swung too late, combined with jumping over the enemies it worked pretty nicely though. The problem with this strategy however was that sometimes the enemies spawned so close to each other that you would've been only able to deal with them by jumping over one of them and hitting the other, but that was too complex for me.

Can't play more, since the game made my head ache. Maybe it's because of the low contrals between the characters and the environment, I don't really know.

It's a nifty entry with some big flaws that at least for me make it unplayeble.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:58pm

nice art, nice soundtrack, nice game :)

Selzier says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:50pm

3460 points 38 chickens!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]