Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mash It Down

by tonny_elhond - Jam Entry

A differente break out! You are a monster bar and have to mash up the village!

Sorry! There's just one level for now!

Thanks to the all team:

Antonio Elizio - programmer
Alexandre Massagli - 3D artist
Felipe Porteiro - 3D artist
Jean Quevedo - Soundtrack composer/ sound effects
Talita Tagata - 3D/2D artist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#101Audio(Jam)3.76
#219Graphics(Jam)4.02
#417Innovation(Jam)3.14
#422Humor(Jam)2.98
#449Overall(Jam)3.29
#518Mood(Jam)3.13
#521Fun(Jam)3.06
#892Theme(Jam)2.88

Comments

Silvio Tagata says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58am

cool!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:28pm

A simple and beautiful game. Perhaps a bit too easy.

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:36pm

A beautiful game! Love the style

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Well, the idea is nice, but the ball collision is a bit wanky, try next time to set the collision detection of the ball to continuous maybe. Its a good game!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Thanks a lot for the feedbacks! We'll do our best to make it better! =D

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:07pm

nice, an interesting spin on break out !


-CH

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Nice garpahics. Very nice soundtrack, Simple but addicting gameplay. My only problem: With two guys moving in a crircle It's always confusing which button turns which way.

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:46pm

A really well made game. Short, but that's to be expected. I suck at this type of game, but it's fun to play and plays very solid. The graphics are especially nice and look quite pleasant. Good work!

Reyn says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:40pm

I like your trees. The camera movement in the intro is a nice touch. The audio fits the graphic style. Like the other reviewer said I'm not always sure which button will turn which way.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Yeah, unfortunately the controls are indeed confuse... We'll try to make easier and more intuitive. Thanks you all for helping through the feedbacks! Also, thanks for all the compliments!

Twiebs says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Graphics and audio were amazing, nicely done! Controls were little hard to get used to but overall it was great.

VanDerGroot says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Love it. :)

Odefus says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:15am

Love the low poly style graphics. Gameplay was actually harder than I imagined. Took a moment to get to grips with the controls and the collisions. Nice take on a break out game.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Great game mechanic. And awesome graphics, looks really nice!

But I must say that the one level is really hard (or I'm just really incompetent, as I see other found it too easy). Perhaps the inner surface of the monster bars could be less bent. (or at least in early levels.

And awesome music, by the way!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Thank you for your comments on my game, by the way. Out of interest: In which way don't the graphics match together?

Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:53am

Thanks for the feedback! Well, the game could be very hard or very easy depending on your luck, hahaha! but you're right, the game needs more balancing to decrease "luck dependence".

Maybe less bented bars could be one of the solutions, thanks!

And about your game graphics: I had the impression that the scene was more detailed, complex and realistic than the characters (maybe the characters are less realistic because of it's stroke). But that is just a impression i have.

Glad you liked the music! thanks

shelleyl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:30am

Love the art style, super cute!

andreiichim says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:52am

Cool game. I like it. It has a playful vibe.

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:12am

Awesome, great style and simple yet engaging game play. the monster paddles could spin a little faster though. Awesome Job!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Graphics and sound are very cool, controlling the monster pad are a little difficult. Nice entry!

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Amazing graphics and the audio was very good too. It would have been awesome with a few more levels. Cool game though!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:21am

Simple and very well polished :D great work guys

gmaker says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:26pm

awesome art!I loved it!

Strike says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:00am

Wonderful graphics ! The ball physics seems totally random so each game can be either ridiculously easy or almost impossible. I would have loved a 2 players version, each person controlling one monster. Except that, it's a good entry and it was fun to play.

JoJoX says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:29am

Controls and physics are a bit clunky but graphics and realisation is great. Fun concept.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:12am

This could be a great game, but for now it's a bit too much punishing. Controls are slow, you should make the mouse controlling the pads.
Nice graphics and sounds !

Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Nice ! I liked the music even if it was somewhat over the top :) Gameplay was interesting but controls were a bit slow to my taste

Demy says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Fun game and nice idea

aprotasenya says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:34pm

This is very nice audio-visually and idea-wise, but MAN this controls are hard!! For me it was the main challenge - to overcome controls, to transfrom radial movement of two pads into my linear presses of left/right.
Otherwise a very good stuff. :)

igoramendola says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:05am

Great idea, but sometimes the collision works in a unexpected way. However, the music is pretty cool and the graphics are gorgeous. Nice entry, congrats :D

By the way, I couldn't play with default controls. I had to invert 'left' and 'right' arrows to play like I'm used to ^^

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:41pm

An interesting idea, surprisingly hard gameplay /at least for me/ and some very nice graphics, enjoyed it quite a bit, good job!

jordinuco says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Funny, nice mechanics, I don´t remember anything similar now, but it should run a little bit better (I had some issues with the buttons of the menu, for example).

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]