Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Sheep

by Caspila - Jam Entry

A sheep must become the monster to save its friends against traps, UFO spaceships and dangerous cliffs! Be fast and save all sheep to get more points and enter the leaderboard!

How to play:
Use your special abilities to herd your friends to the barn and move on to the next level.

Controls:
LMB: Control sheep
Put on/off wolf mask (Hotkey 1) -> scares away other sheep
Howl (Hotkey 2) -> make your friends run far away from you :(
Eat grass (Hotkey 3) -> Get extra speed for a little while!

Game was developed by:
Guilherme Cunha - Programming (www.ynotgames.com)
David Gutierrez - Soundtrack (www.davidfga.com)
Daniel Snd - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#25Audio(Jam)4.18
#32Overall(Jam)4.12
#34Graphics(Jam)4.58
#39Fun(Jam)3.98
#51Humor(Jam)4.02
#80Innovation(Jam)3.82
#108Mood(Jam)3.84
#157Theme(Jam)3.94

Comments

nevet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57am

This is awesome Gui!!!

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05am

Awesome jam! Definitely one of the most polished games I've tried so far, really impressive work.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07am

Nice game! 5/5 humor, incredible graphics. Overall very polished. Can't get enough of those sound effects!

Vycerys says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:08am

Definitely a game to be proud of. Good job!

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09am

Really fun as well as looking and sounding nice, but wasd instead of clicking would have been better controls

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:10am

Interesting concept! Never have I had so much fun herding sheep.
A tutorial would be a nice addition.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:13am

The graphics on this game are incredibly appealing for a accessible casual puzzle game. You clearly have good experience with 3D design and animation and the result is a delight to look at. Good work!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:12am

Man, this is 5/5. Fun ,humour, sound - everything is so damn cool!

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:18am

Very great job ! Graphics,gameplay,Audio are good :)

neroyow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:51am

Can't beat GUI..sad...But this is a really nice game!!! Ever think of releasing it?

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54am

A lot of fun! Very nice graphics and sounds.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56am

Amazing game (concept and arts are really cool !)

Benier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56am

Although it was at times difficult to move around with the mouse, the visuals, polish and gameplay are a treat. Nice job, keep making games!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

Extremely polished finish

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:33am

This game is perfect, 5stars, Nothing negative to say.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51am

Took me a while to figure out what to do. But the sound when you finish a level is hilarious!

Awesome graphics and sound effects!

headchant says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:08am

Amazing graphics and art! Really nice controls, too. The gameplay is a bit slow maybe but solid. First I thought this was dota with sheep :) Still a good game.

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:22am

Good stuff. I like the art style

marshys says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40pm

yay I finally finished the game! I really love your concept, game design and sound! Great job! :)

jgthespy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:04pm

This is really awesome! The art is fantastic and the game is really fun to play.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Cool game with great music and graphics! Was a bit hard to click on buttons or move, and the sheep could sometimes get stuck without being able to move it. Nice use of the theme and nice twists of sheep "abilities"! :)

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:27am

Great fun!! I liked the concept and I'll play it again and again, please improve this game and sell, it would be nice to play on a mobile device.

Shugor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:54am

Really cool game! Interesting mechanics, and the art style looks amazing. I think this could make a really good mobile game!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:55am

The sound effect when the sheep get beamed up is hilarious, and the art is really great. Would definitely work well on a touch device. Top notch stuff!

Twinters says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:55am

Insanely amazing graphics, sounds and gameplay. Most polished game I've played so far during this edition.

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:14am

everything is 5/5 for me, awesome game, very well done, very fun to play, I like the "online scoreboard" it kinda add a little kick for us to play longer and beat other peoples

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:16am

Game are pretty nice. Maybe control it's not accurate. Overall it's a nice game!

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:26am

You are the monster with a twist, good art and concept

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Good, funny game. Mouse controls felt a a bit uncontrolled. WASD/Arrows would have been better. Also, pressing two didn't always work.

Kalkatos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Really good and polished game! 5 starr too.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:32am

very polished art!

Jimjam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:47am

Fantastic entry, well done!

Grhyll says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Well, what an entry, that's a lot of stars XD

I don't know if I'm the only one who tried to play it in full screen, but the mouse detection was offseted, only the upper-left part of the screen received inputs (and dispatched them on the whole surface of the screen); but it finally was ok when I relaunched it in windowed mode.

The game itself is very fun, with nice graphics, cool sfx and original gameplay. I found it a bit hard, but it's my opinion.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:41am

Great entry, so polished game!
But the GUI detection is wrong when the screen is bigger.

pavel_insight says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Funny concept, appealing graphics and sounds.

Sometimes gray sheep walks out of the screen and gets out of control. In fullscreen mode: mouse controls work with an offset. I believe it can be fixed easily.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:25am

Nice work! The graphics are beautiful and the sound effects are also really fitting for the game! :3

It's quite fun to play, and offers quite a nice challenge!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]