Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Crawler -REVERSE!

by nuiguy - Jam Entry

My LD33 entry: Dungeon Crawler: REVERSE!
This time, you are the monster! Destroy all the heroes trying to escape your dungeon through the magical portal!! If you don't you've failed :( Use the arrow keys, or WASD to move around, and space to shoot Magical Bullets of DOOM! See how many puny heroes you can destroy before your might falls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#932Theme(Jam)2.78
#957Innovation(Jam)2.33
#961Mood(Jam)2.43
#962Graphics(Jam)2.27
#1017Fun(Jam)2.31
#1065Overall(Jam)2.43
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42am

Controls are a bit clunky, and hard to work with. Though the simplistic design is cool!

nuiguy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:44am

The plan was to implement the classic mouse controls as well, but I ran out of time :( Certainly going to create post-ld version, and controls will be updated. Thanks for your feedback!

grynca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:41am

Hard to aim when aiming is tied to movement.
Also i went to portal but nothing happened ;/

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45am

Pew pew, die you...hero thingies! haha i am invincible!
*couple of seconds later* you died! "what!?"

I liked the gameplay on this one, enemies even pushed me inside the wall when I wasnt looking :D

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:47am

The minimalistic art doesn't help you portray the theme unfortunately. Even though it's just the beginning, I'd like to see it more polished. Good job for a jam!

Keon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49am

I think this would be a lot more fun if I had a mouse version, as you said. As it stands it's hard to experience it fully without getting frustrated by controls. I do like the simple aesthetic though.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:58am

No audio played on the web version for -- not sure if it's supposed to be there since I see the audio rating category.

One suggestion, you might want to make the enemy cubes flash when hit so you know you're damaging them. :) A retry button would also be nice. If there is one I didn't find it.

nuiguy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:28am

@grynca The enemies are trying to escape from the portal, you are trying to stop them escaping

nuiguy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:28am

@AzureAspect You died because one of the enemies managed to escape through the portal :(

nuiguy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29am

@Caspila I definitely agree, there just wasn't time :( As timezones would have it, I get the theme Saturday, 1pm, and Jam finished Tuesday 1pm, but because ludumdare.com is blocked at school and I don't have much time in the morning, I had to upload Monday night :(

nuiguy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:31am

@GAFBLizzard Forgot to remove audio category D: I do agree with both of your suggestions, I certainly do want to continue this game post LD, so keep and eye on the gamejolt page :)

BOBANY says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05am

Game keeps on killing me for no reason. 10/10

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I like the top down visual. But its a bit hard to aim! Hard work on the models!

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:07am

Nice try for a game, but still needs a lot of polishing. Nice work with the lights.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:26am

Very cool looking, an interesting take on the theme.

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:27am

Great job! It was fun learning the behaviors and priorities of the AI. The minimalist aesthetic was pretty. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]