Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Amebiasis

by theshadowteam - Jam Entry

[Updated few hours after game jam]

We adjusted some bug fixes for optimal gameplay

-------

In this cruel dark world, you are a virus. designed to kill and eat every antibodies exist in the human host.

Kill the antibodies in the correct order,
start with the easiest one, the green Slime. Then the red Devil, and lastly the Golden Antimo.

Press Space to jump!

*This game is available for Android too* , get it here:
http://lightgearlab.com/games/amebiasis/amebiasis.apk

Credits to:
Art and Sound Effect: Akmal Hakim
Programming : Sani, Wanda, Fauzan
Music : Najmuddin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Innovation(Jam)3.31
#419Fun(Jam)3.21
#500Overall(Jam)3.24
#546Graphics(Jam)3.36
#580Mood(Jam)3.04
#703Theme(Jam)3.21
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

Four stars just for that opening pixel art piece :)

The idea is sound, but there're quite a handful of things that make it not awesome:

1. The sloshing arrow is way too fast. You've made it developer hard, and that's frustrating and unfun. It can go faster later, but from level one that'll turn a lot of people away.
2. The game description said to hit red first. The game killed me for hitting red first. Eventually I hit a green first.
3. As above, you need an indicator for what you want to hit next.
4. Omg that music. My ears.
5. When I hit two things in a row, in the correct order, it killed the first and then I was hurt by the second. That really shouldn't be - lining up an epic multi shot should be part of the fun.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:12am

Makes me think of the egg launch mechanics in Yoshi's Island, though much more fiddly. Aiming seems more a matter of luck than timing.

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14am

Thanks for the feedback! Guess i need to tweak a bit on the arrow speed :D

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:33am

I enjoyed the basic mechanic. The difficulty also scaled really well, with the different types of terrain. However, the music quickly became grating... Add an option to mute it next time please. :)

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:01am

It is an interesting concept and it is quite fun, but I think that the speed of the rotation was a little high and was quite difficult. Maybe let the speed of the direcion increase speed with each level? Also, when I hit an enemy, they do not disappear immediately, which leads me to think that I didn't hit them for a second when in fact I did, which can be quite confusing.

Silverfyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

I like the game overall, beat all 9 levels, the lined up combinations are fun to beat up :D

orukinawa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Nice theme and gameplay :)

justinooncx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Pretty cool puzzle game! Difficult, though, I have to admit. And great art, too!

spatanz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Innovative idea, keep it up~!

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02pm

It is inspiring the way you move around!

jackrugile says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:33am

Great concept! It was a lot fun. And the art... was amazing!

TMW says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:48pm

:D Very nice product! I like it!

Kassimkot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:44am

loving the sound of it. though i wish there was music. overall it was ok. interesting use of the virus is the monster.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:01pm

A little bit tricky to get the game mechanic and it's not super effective. Btw nice idea!

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Thank you Nikteddy for the comment, trying to figure out which suits the best for this mechanic

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Cool game! We need to do the rhythm gameplay.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I enjoyed playing this a lot! It gets so much harder and the gameplay is addictive.
Well done!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:54am

Really good gameplay concept; haven't seen a game like this yet (in or out of Ludum Dare). I will admit it did get frustrating on the levels that had the fireballs in it. The game is difficult to control with the fast moving aim arm, so timing is nearly impossible. On those levels I just prayed I didn't hit the fireballs when I made my shot. I made it through all 9 levels, but it was very frustrating at times.

To be honest I think the game ramped up too quickly. I think a lot of interesting puzzles could be made either by letting the player control the direction of the shot (thus opening up much more precision levels, or by have more puzzles that don't have instant kills and random shots being fired, but are treacherous in that the enemies themselves are damaging until you get up to your level and the player needs to solve the correct order to move about the level without painting them into a corner.

Despite this, you have a very good start to a great game, and one that would be mobile friendly with the single button control.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:44am

Cool game, sometime hard but it stays simple so the fun is here :) Cool level scaling too !

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:44am

FYI you can just add the Android link with the other links :)

I'm about to try it on Android, it's currently downloading...

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:19pm

I didn't find the game that fun... I think the main mechanic itself isn't really fun in itself. Essentially what you end up doing is waiting every time you land for the pointer to be in the right direction, and then knowing what you want to do to complete the level but having difficulty doing it.

Just reflecting on the games I've played recently, the controls have been designed so that it's easy to do what you want to do, and so the game is made so that figuring out what to do is the challenge.

Perhaps this could be resolved by reducing the speed of the pointer. Or maybe if the pointer slowed down when you pushed down the key/held down the touchscreen, and then you had to release to go. So you get fine controls without having to wait too long for the pointer to be in the right direction.

I don't really like the 'inside a person's body' aesthetic in general, so that detracted from the graphics for me. I don't of lots of fleshy redness looks very nice. Which is unfortunate because the quality of the graphics was good!

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:08am

Nice puzzle game, awesome graphics, interesting mechanic. Nice job!

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:59am

Neat game, cool game mechanics :)

Ninja Garage says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Great concept! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]