Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

MO&STER TV

by Ivan Volkov - Jam Entry

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Description:

This is a strategic-economic-simulator game about TV Station company called "MO & STER TV".
Here you will meet FBI, chef and even the president!
Make cool reports, earn money, attract the audience and try to hold out for 10 days!
But be careful, don't become the monster in the process...
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rules:

1) Publish news, increase amount of your followers - earn more and more money. You need to hold out for 10 days.
2) Each day you have to choose news to publish. You will earn more money, if people interested in this category.
3) Buy different boosts to develop your agency. More employees will speed up your work.
4) Don't become the monster in the process
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
About us:

We are 4 students from Russia:

Volkov Ivan (3rd LD) - Programming, UI
https://vk.com/volkoivan
Mihaylov Artyom (2nd LD) - Programming, UI
https://vk.com/just_okey
Zhornickiy Evgeniy (2nd LD) - Programming, Writing
https://vk.com/id22918313
Chernisheva Anna (1st LD) - Art
https://vk.com/chernanna

Also background music was written by my friend - Halzov Evgeniy
https://vk.com/abatar
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
About the game:

Everything was made only by ourselves except music from news. It was taken from the game HorseZ. Perfect fit, right?

Used tools: Unity, Guitar Pro, GIMP, Photoshop
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Notes:

We are waiting for your feedback, especially about the balance in the game and what would you like to change/add here. it will be very useful for us, thank you!

IMPORTANT! For better experience please use standalone version
VERY IMPORTANT!!! Have a good day!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Innovation(Jam)3.79
#302Audio(Jam)3.29
#344Humor(Jam)3.14
#353Overall(Jam)3.42
#419Fun(Jam)3.21
#479Mood(Jam)3.18
#802Graphics(Jam)2.78
#965Theme(Jam)2.67
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:04pm

The game is interesting. I don't undertand exactly how interested people comes in play when i play with that sort of "wheel of fortune". I don't think either if the theme fits exactly here, because you can become a monster, but the theme is that you are already a monster.
But It's very impresive what you accomplished in the time. Great work!!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Cool cool. I'd like to play long version with more complexity.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Really interesting idea and mechanics and really good work. the only downside is that I'm not seeing the "You're the monster" theme in the game.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:24pm

That was quite interesting. I wish it was longer and had more variety of events and different types of upgrades. The idea is pretty cool, it has a lot of potential.

However I feel that the concept requires exceptional writing to keep the player curious and interested. I understand that English is not your native language, but the game experience would be much improved if the writing was more clear and interesting.

Also, it seems that the initial viewer interests are randomized each time you start a new game. The first time I played most of the categories were very low. Then the first event came and reduced everything by -15% leaving everything at 0% interest.

Still, I enjoyed it a lot. Great work! I'd like to see an improved post-jam version :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice game, I enjoyed watching my ratings and demographics grow. Everything seemed rather difficult until a certain point on about days 3/4 when suddenly my income went from ~500 per day to ~10000+ and suddenly I could buy everything (incidentally, I found that if you tried to buy more staff than the maximum, a console appeared on screen with a null ref error).

After that point, it was pretty easy, even if I said no to all the dodgy deals. Also, the slider minigame thing seemed a little out of place, although it did add some excitement.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:23am

Nice polished game!
After loosing on day 1 on my two first attemps, I waited a little longer to buy upgrades, and finally everything went a lot smoother ^^
As Cake_Catastrophe said, there is a pike in the game where you go from some hundred dollars to hundreds of thousands, it makes everything a lot easier!
The musics are great, by the way, and the mini game is amusing.

goodbadokay says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Perfect game, i like it, i won it.:)

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Interesting. But I couldn't find out if there was any hint as to when to click STOP so that the arrow ends up on green. Maybe this mechanism should be a little bit more obvious.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Really good idea!
At first i was not convinced the luck factor, but later that gives a funny mechanic.
Congrats!

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I was earning about a hundred or two per broadcast and then got 12k all of a sudden (didn't even understand, what for). Bought all upgrades and got unending NullReferenceExceptions in console.
Other than that, a quite good entry ;)

Xanjos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Managed to last 10 days whilst staying neutral. It's an interesting concept although the slider mini-game feels too random at times (the speed keeps fluctuating a lot).

BtheDestroyer says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:51am

Would you mind giving more information about why may game doesn't work? What OS do you have? What are your general computer specs (RAM, CPU name, GPU name/memory)?

I can't fix something if I can't figure out what's wrong the same way a mechanic can't fix your car if you leave it at home and just say "It doesn't work."

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:07am

Rare to see a news sim. And yes, news worker telling twisted face are sure a kind of monster..

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:11am

I really liked this game!
The concept is solid and working well. I especially liked the music.
Lots and lots of content! I'm impressed that you managed to write all this in such a short time.
To fit the theme a little more, you should make the "bad choices" good for popularity. I felt like every immoral decision had bad consequences, so I had no interest to become a monster.
I think the game needs more balancing as I earned more than 40'000$ the second day and managed to buy all the upgrades at once. On top of that, I managed to have more employees than the "max". In the end, adding one more employee would cost 2 millions (a little too much maybe?).
Anyway, that's great enjoyable work here! Good job!

sorlok says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:52am

Very cool concept; not sure how the theme applies. It's also not 100% clear how the green/red gauge works (w.r.t. stories having general appeal). Fun game!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Cool concept! I was also not sure how the gauge worked, but I got how media is sort of a monster, in a way. I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/rsAmrwtnu-0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]