Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hotel Shmotel

by Matthew Rayfield - Compo Entry

HOTEL SHMOTEL - A hotel adventure game with tentacles for hands

_=_=_=_=_

WALK into front DESK dude to begin : ]

Controls: Arrow keys - Run into things to activate them. Like doors. And. People.

Tested in Chrome & Firefox & iPad Safari !
(a little slow on ipad, but give it a shot)

_=_=_=_=_

Thanks for playing!

Let me know what you think : ]

%%%%%%%%%%

Pssssst.... Can you speed-run it in under 1 minute?
I think it's possible, but I haven't quite done it ...

^^^^^^^^^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#40Humor3.95
#63Mood3.83
#65Theme4.10
#91Audio3.58
#93Overall3.77
#132Graphics3.88
#157Fun3.53
#172Innovation3.50

Comments

Chadivision says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:44am

Wow, very cool! This was a pretty ambitious project considering the timeframe. I love the graphics, and it did run mine on my iPad. Looking forward to playing this more.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Awesome!

That's a lot of content you put in here for a compo entry! I loved the exploration aspect, it reminded me of several old school dungeon crawlers (even if at times controls felt a bit stiff while turning)

I really liked it, well done!.

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Monsters and hotels always hold a special place in my heart, so will this game...

cicanci says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Nice game! The voice acting was so funny!

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Haha I laughed so much at the desk. The voice is awesome! Your game remembered me really old 'Titanic' PC game and I like it :)

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:38pm

How did you make this in 48 hours. That is really impressive
I love the voice acting.

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Loved the take on the theme, playing as a monster whose scary powers are used for 'good'! I felt immediately engaged roleplaying as this monster, and I liked the voice acting too. A bit of music would fit nicely I think. Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Cool. It's very funny for me!

martymon says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:44am

Great game! I loved the characters and how you've voiced them!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:54am

This is really cool and ambitious! The voice acting is hilarious. Would have loved some background music. Awesome job

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:55am

The graphics are nice and colorful... interesting sprites too.
The game involved a little too much bumping into locked doors... it gets monotonous. Though it makes sense in the hotel setting I suppose.
Seems very complete for a 48 hour game. Good job.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:21am

Fun and simple adventure game. 3D/2D perspective was cool.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:21am

Loved your take on the theme, and the style came together really well. Everything made sense and worked within your confines of the simple interactions (kudos on the elevator lights for up and down). It would have been nice to be able to strafe when I was searching the hotel room doors, but that would honestly be my only complaint in the entire game. Bravo!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:22am

waahhh those teeth!

superfluous says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Very fun. I laughed like a moron when the first guy floated away into the skies. The constant rotating gave me slight motion sickness, and a little too much of the game was rotating around to touch false doors. Overall great game. Voice acting was very good too.

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Neat hotel wow. I wouldn't stay there though

It's really easy to accidentally skip text by holding down forward just for a little bit. You should only advance text when the button is initially pressed

It was also a bit annoying to have to try every door since you can't see which ones you can enter. It felt like senseless busywork

The art is nice

Nice motel

I wish I could slap things with my tentacle hands

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:08pm

I didn't mean to call it a motel the second time

Aun says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice game. I liked your voices but I missed background music. Maybe the moves could be more smooth.

Mothdan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:09pm

This gets my highest score yet! Great work, man.

I agree there are some things that could have been added but there is a deadline after all, this was really cool.

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:20am

Cool game. There was potential there. Running into all the doors and all the objects until I found the ones that interacted was a bit tedious. Could have used more clues.

I beat it in 8.6 minutes.

iossif says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:06am

lovely entry! too bad i had to kick the cats out, they seemed so happy in the hotel.

Kai20 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:40pm

sorry but i dindt get the last one but the other two were very cool and the voices great

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:50am

Ridiculous but fun! I liked the whole style of the game and it was an interesting take on the theme. I got lost a bit trying to find the key. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]