Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Oh! You Monster!

by rodobodolfo - Jam Entry

Meet Carl Boardbox.
He has a monstrous personality but has decided to try his hand at speed dating.
Help Carl to say the right things and help him land a date!

This Cardboard box speed dating simulator was made in three days, Tools Used:

* Unity with an adventure framework that we are developing.
* Sprite Something
* Visual Studio Community
* FL Studio
* Freesound

Development blog:
http://pointbleepstudios.xyz/blog/ludum-dare-33-oh-you-monster/

Linux Users: It seems that there is some bug preventing close ups.- (like picture #1) It should be finishable though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#8Humor(Jam)4.59
#54Fun(Jam)3.93
#54Overall(Jam)4.02
#72Audio(Jam)3.86
#96Mood(Jam)3.87
#116Innovation(Jam)3.68
#218Theme(Jam)3.83
#222Graphics(Jam)4.00

Comments

ghostlyguru says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

We had sorta similar thing going on with our games. Enjoyed it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:23am

Seriously laughing my head off right now, simply amazing.

Somfin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:25am

Just hilarious. Loved trying to work out the box social order/world rules.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26am

THAT GREAT!!!
Hahahaha That's a really funny game! I hope you'll make to the top!
100% Bauble Wrap! OBVIOUSLY!!! HAHAHAHAHA

hinerz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05am

All 5 stars. Holy crap, this is amazing. Beautiful writing. Upbeat music. I'm really happy that I played this game :D

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:16am

Music was great, cool gameplay, funny!

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08am

HAha, actual lol. Great humour! I'm a cardboard box! A Monster cardboard box. Fantastic!

Marjie62 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:00am

It was a cute game! It must have been fun for you guys to come up with box related sex jokes. Good job getting Unity to do pixels right.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:35am

Nice little speed dating simulator! It's so hard to find the right words the right time and your game has presented this in a good way! But his answers are really monsterous!

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:25am

Awesome game, had a really good laugh, the words sometimes don't do what you expect them to do, and that's actually awesome. Audio is fitting perfectly, very nice work !

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Really cool, man. Good job here. I laughed for real.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:43pm

hilarious! the lines are very funny and the mechanics are simple and good, really like the ending! good work =D

panda says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:17am

Hilarious, and great graphics and music! Very enjoyable!

imalerich says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:00am

ORMERGERD THIS IS AMAZING!!!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:08am

i really liked this one!

unique!

i like the camera zoom on the end scene

lots of good details!

i wish there were multiple win endings though!

cool : ]

KBF123 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:30am

heh, Carl's quite the charmer ain't he.

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:56pm

I love the graphics and music. Very tastefully done!

tayl1r says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I "won"!

paracelso11 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Great game! Nice music and very funny also!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice dating game. very funny...
(but I was hopping differents endings...)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:38am

Best box dating game I've ever played. That soundtrack is still stuck in my head

shawn42 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:51am

Definitely a shot for the humor award. I loved the sound/music too. Nice work.

EwChap says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:12am

Funny stuff. really good show

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:43am

Hilarious! Simply amazing... HAHAHAHAHA

Mase says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Very cute scenario.

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:01am

Oh Carl, you're such a gentleman. Very funny and well polished game! I wish I could help Carl out more.

kles4enko says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:59am

Funny game! ahah)

Wevel says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Cool music, nice idea

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Lol, I'm laughing loud while testing out bad answers! Found my 5* for humor, happy!!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Hahah very funny :) The lines are great and the game is really well polished

Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Great little game. If I was a participant, I would vote hands down on this little gem. Great job.

aprotasenya says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:19pm

This is very nice! I am really enjoying the humour and the overall gameplay. I thought that maybe signs on the boxes mean wat is "correct" to say to them,but it does not seem to work like that after all. Still, I think that would make the game easier, but even more cool.
Thanks, I've had a great time. :)

wooltech says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Oh! You Monster!

Wonderful music and the whole thing looks fantastic. Fun!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:52am

Great job, I laughed too much at the beach ending! xD

Krunoslav says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:20am

Hahahaha, very nice! Loved it!

thatwhichis says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:37pm

solid, funny X-D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]