Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

FBI Attack

by Donni11 - Jam Entry

Hello :) ! Here is my almost LD entry :

[b]Story :[/b]
You're a monster ( yay ! ) , but the FBI caught you ( oh no ! ) , and now there trying to kill you !! Your located in a valley between 2 fbi sergeants , try to stay alive as long as you can!

[b] How to play :[/b]
Use the arrow keys to move to avoid the fast bullets shot by the FBI sergeants , use the enter button to shoot the sergeants. You have 30 seconds to live. Press the up arrow to jump and dodge the bullets. For every 2 seconds you stay alive you gain 5 points! Play again and again and beat your record !





[b]Credits :

Tiles - The IndieStation
Music - syncopika - link : http://opengameart.org/content/high-energy-bgm

Known issues :
Game may crash on very old computers.

Any other common bugs you receive please report in the comment box and I'll try to fix them ASAP.

Update :
Update now online.

Changes:
- There is now a timer , you have 30 seconds to get as much points as possible. The other way was unbeatable. This change in noted as a post-jam.

-Scoreboard ( coming in a update later today) (post-jam)

Bugs Fixes:
- Bullets in place
- Game doesn't crash anymore when trying to shoot
- More small bug fixes

Bugs remaining :
-First sergeant shoots backwards, I'll try to have this fixed in the scoreboard update coming later today.

------------------------------------------
Well thats the entry! I had fun and I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#582Audio(Jam)2.59
#907Theme(Jam)2.84
#1045Mood(Jam)1.94
#1059Innovation(Jam)1.58
#1106Fun(Jam)1.58
#1130Overall(Jam)1.65
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Up arrow doesn't work. Everything aside from music is bad.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40pm

The agents don't shoot, you don't die after 5 seconds, and the game crashes as soon as you hit an agent. This game is currently unplayable; please fix ASAP.

Donni11 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:03pm

I'll be uploading a update in a few minutes that fixes these bugs.

Donni11 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Sorry there is a delay,I'll try to upload it asap.

Donni11 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Update now online.

Changes:
- There is now a timer , you have 30 seconds to get as much points as possible. The other way was unbeatable. This change in noted as a post-jam.

-Scoreboard ( coming in a update later today) (post-jam)

Bugs Fixes:
- Bullets in place
- Game doesn't crash anymore when trying to shoot
- More small bug fixes

Bugs remaining :
-First sergeant shoots backwards, I'll try to have this fixed in the scoreboard update coming later today.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Got the theme! Music was good, even though it was made by someone else, it was well chosen. Unfortunately the game is solvable. Just stand in one spot and keep hitting the space bar. Art scared me...not sure if that was intentional.

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:16pm

This is definitely a start, and I can see this growing into an entertaining game. As it is now, the game feels a bit unpolished (understandable because of the time constraints!) as far as art and gameplay go. One of the soldiers doesn't shoot far enough to hit you and currently it doesn't seem like the player can jump. I think that polishing up gameplay and having the player strategy get a bit more varied would help.

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Not my favorite game. But good job getting it done!Music is pretty good!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:19pm

I think this game is awesome! Five stars for mood. Take that, FBI attackers!

lonewookie says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Very simple concept. I imagine if it was polished a little more it could become a challenging arcade-style game. You should be proud of making a game though, just keep at it and enter more jams!

fafastudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:43pm

At least you tried man xD

jeapple says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Interesting stupid but ok idle game, increasing score automatically.

merrak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Good job getting that crash bug fixed! It's now playable. The speed of the bullets, angle, etc. could use some variation. That's a quick way to address the problem of the game being solvable.

ceosol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Since you didn't create any of the audio, I think you should take that out of the ratings.

I don't think you should be focused on leaderboards and such. You should focus on the game mechanics and really hammer out what you are trying to do. Artwork can draw people in, but the game mechanics make them stay. Nobody cares about leaderboards unless they actually want to play the game.

Donni11 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:02pm

@DarkwindMedia, Yes the art is quite scary...
@dacharya64, yes its quite unpolished I'll be working on it
@lanestp, Music is probably the best part about the game.
@scriptorum, Thank you :)! I really appreciate it!
@lonewookie, thanks for the encouragement :).
@fafastudio , yes I tried :).
@jeapple, the score is suppose to increase automatically.
@merrak, yes thats a good idea I'll be working on that
@ceosol, yes I'll be working on the game mechanics

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I was very unsure what I was doing there. I seemed to stand still and win... Since you didn't create the audio you should opt out of it.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:24am

Game is really on early stage, but I liked the concept! I can see this turning into a bullet hell game. More challenges like different bullet patterns, more FBI agents, difficulty increasing as it goes and I think you would have a fun game to play~. Then no timer and a leaderboard to keep your best score!
As it is, you can't really die, since there are spots that the agents can't hit. Collision box are a bit strange too, bullets that are a bit bellow the sprite can hit the target. The player can't currently jump, but it would be a nice feature for the future. The art... I understand that some of them you didn't create, but still is important to keep the coherence to the style. The agents, the monster and the tiles don't really mix up. Some work with the buttons would be nice too, better font, uniform and cleaner.
Still, congratz on your entry! Keep the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]