Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Jack the Grinder

by Stechas - Compo Entry

Jack was exiled from human society due to his differences which others didn't tolerate. After many lonely time in the desert, Jack had found a peace and everything seems to be okey ...

But local questgiver has decided that Jack is ideal candidate for his new quest since he has various abilities that would be challenging for adventurers. He has surrounded Jack by magic field and created portals for brave heroes promising a great reward for Jack's head.

Jack is trapped and there is no way out so he is decided to take down as many as he can till his last breath. They shall learn the meaning of name Jack the Grinder!

Let's grind!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#234Theme3.74
#282Humor3.14
#357Mood3.14
#361Fun3.17
#436Audio2.78
#540Overall3.04
#602Graphics2.83
#602Innovation2.78
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13am

The knights can't hurt you for some reason. Other than that, I liked the idea of it all. Archers seem to be much more powerful than mages. Good job!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31am

You die too easily and attacks only hit on occasion.
I like the look of the monster and the story behind the game.

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Nice idea, dying too easy makes you try harder and utilize the powes you have. I loved digging in and out right next to a victim to claw him.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:40pm

This game is GREAT! Super funny and really fun to attack and dig....although using the close up attack was frustrating....overall great work!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53pm

The digging mechanic is fun. I'd like the monster to move a little faster. The fang/bullet hit boxes can be tricky to line up! Didn't have much use for the oil spill. Monster health points and a way to heal might be a nice addition - perhaps some corpses turn into food instead of disappearing, and you can fang to eat the food?

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

very addicting game.
The music is amazing.
Die easily makes the game hard in a good way.

Copzi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Actually very fun. I enjoyed it a lot.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Interesting idea. I like being able to go underground.

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Big Cow says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Yep thought the theme was great for this one. Being hunted down for being the monster. Strangely addictive. Wanted to see the different "enemies" great step up in difficulty as it progresses. Also liked the variety of inventive attacks from both the player and the enemies. Nice little game. Oh yeah character animations and sounds are funny too.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:40am

nice game! But i think its a little too hard! and the "bite" skill is almost impossible to use.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]