Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Monster Way

by Nomys_Tempar - Jam Entry

You are the final boss of a donjon, heroes come in your lair to defeat you, but you will not let them succeed so easily, do you ?

For this game we were a team of two, a graphic designer currently in India and a writer in France.


Features :

- 3 Monsters.
- One only ending but multiples paths.
- 10 achievements.
- 3 fights to the death.
- 7 weapons.
- A famous guest from the free culture, cause in the end we're all born form that.


Post-Jam :
- A little credit screen added somewhere with a post-mortem and some licensing about the game.
- Corrections of various bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Theme(Jam)4.08
#128Humor(Jam)3.67
#284Overall(Jam)3.51
#336Fun(Jam)3.32
#381Mood(Jam)3.32
#457Graphics(Jam)3.54
#699Innovation(Jam)2.78
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Much cleaner than the previous one with the images and color thème, and with much less english mistakes too ! ;)

terop2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I haven't seen many html5 entries, and thus dunno what exactly is possible with the tech, but the entry looked like few web pages... Nice graphics though.

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Very well done. I liked the writing and the branching, and the drawings were really nice. Good job!

mitkus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Good writing and lovely picture. Kept me hooked till the end!

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

good start screen fun to play i can't say there is anything wrong with this game its great

dos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Hooked me till the very end - and there are still some achievements to unlock!

Felipe Tasca says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41am

I played twice ! Very well done!

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:57am

Really nice art. It's not super fancy but I really like the perspective and the style in general.
The writing was excellent and it was overall a fun read. I wonder how many endings and branches there are.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I like the graphics, they make the experience much better! One of the best text games made for this Ludum Dare.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Good writing, superb illustrations. This is the first Ludum Dare text game I've ever finished (and replayed two times).

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:22am

Best part: catching up on my accounting :-D Fun!

psychonull says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:26am

Wow that was a big writing! nice job, I loved to "sit and wait" haha. loved draws and black-white style. I'll come back to continue playing ;)

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Great story/art. (could I have killed that halfling?)

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Yes it's possible :)

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Super story and great visual presentation. Congrats for your entry!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:26am

The writing was intriguing and the drawings were great. I really got caught up in the characters. Well done.

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:59am

Beautiful illustrations! I like the way you tied in a faux-achievement system to act as the conclusions to your stories too, makes each one feel less like a deadend and more like another small victory.

struffy says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:27am

Nicely written and I like the achievements - will go back and see if things can turn out differently :)

K.Chplr says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:17am

Enjoyed my two playthrough (managed to kill the halfling in the second one). Good job ! Multiple endings would have been really nice :)

Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Well done! Nice drawings, many choices and much text. :)

At first, it is a bit hard to see what is important in the game, since there are many distractive elements around the game itself (the buttons, title, ChoiceScript link). Perhaps you could seperate the game more from these other elements?

dregamr says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Good story, and fantastic drawing! :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:12pm

ahah this waws really funny! had to play it until the end. I like killing minions

Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:11pm

An interesting little game. Really interesting mechanics. Unfortunately the gameplay was a bit slow for me and the writing just slightly boring but good overall.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:56am

Reminds me of Monster Loves You. It's nice. My only complaint is we have to scroll a lot. We would be nice to find away to fit everything in one screen

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Yeah, I agree, but choicescript is not built for pictures. Using smaller images is the best way to correct the scrolling issue. I will do that in the future.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]