Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Jenkaiu

by PeYMaN - Jam Entry

MULTIPLAYER: ¡Two players in one computer!

One building.

Two MONSTERS.

Year 1934.

Be the king of monsters.

Destroy the building but you can only destroy one floor at a time. Destroy two floors and you loose. Be careful, you can't touch the roof either.

Press Space key to charge and then... release it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#98Innovation(Jam)3.73
#177Theme(Jam)3.90
#199Humor(Jam)3.49
#212Fun(Jam)3.51
#218Mood(Jam)3.55
#223Overall(Jam)3.60
#251Audio(Jam)3.41
#339Graphics(Jam)3.77

Comments

x2l2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56am

Juegazo!

marcosplay says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:24am

Like it

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Nice game

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I really like this. The atmosphere of the game is great. The visuals and audio really work well together. Well done!

Crosstales says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I really love it
would like to play it on my iphone
great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Jenga with monsters? Genious! Good, simple and fun game.

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I liked it! The "Player's Turn" notice disturbs the flow a bit because you can't keep playing while it is showing. It would feel a little more snappy if you wouldn't have to wait or had a better audiovisual indication of exactly when one can press again.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05pm

nice concept with the theme! X)
nice game

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Jenga!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Wow, a great concept, nice 1930's aesthetic, complete with static, and a lot of fun to play. Super cool and really fun, great work!

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Really great game! Everything fits together and it's quite fun, it might be a bit annoying sometimes to wait for the monster to move the finger up to where you want it to, but that's just a minor flaw!

Keep up the good work! :)

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Excellent styling and music, perhaps a /bit/ too much film grain : )

I didn't realize that you could charge up the hits at first, and kept poking the building as the same monster until the whole thing crumbled. Figured out you could hold down to charge up and took the whole place down. FEAR ME!

Great work, and thanks for sharing this!

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:08pm

So clever. So fun. Love it.

PeYMaN says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:30pm

We have built an Android version:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.telekinetic.games.jenkaiu
Hope you enjoy.

CortezBR says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:52pm

very good game

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Very nice thinking of the theme. The game is just great with nice audio and creative art. Congratulations. Keep it up C2 :)

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Perfecto my friend! It's so fun when play it alone :D
5\5

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:05am

I loved it!!!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:53am

Great! Couple of minor nitpicks (I spend more time complaining than praising but really, it's great), the power bar probably moves a bit fast and the player turn messages seem to go for ages. But really, it's awesome.

PeYMaN says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:01am

We've fixed this issues for the final version... but we decide to not change the submission here (maybe it isn't etic).

Final version for Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.telekinetic.games.jenkaiu
Final version for web: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/92015/JenkaiuMobile/index.html

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Its fun but the wait time between players gets annoying. Its a bit weird that if I hit a block and it doesn't go all the way out, it doesn't count as a go so I get to try again and really screw it up for the other player. But I suppose that is another tactic.

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Really fun game!
It's a little bit too easy to never make the tower fall though, maybe if it was less wide the balance would be a bit harder to keep and I think that would make it a bit more challenging :)
Anyway congrats, I really enjoyed this!

Razoric says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Really cool idea. High marks for sure. =)

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Looks great, fun to play, no complaints here :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:27pm

This is so fun!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Great game!

LeoM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Very nice ! ^^
Need to find a friend to challenge him.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Awesome idea for a game! Love it

lemer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Great visuals and nice gameplay. Good work.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Really love this. I burst out laughing when I saw the gif. Great idea. The static effect is a bit painful on my eyes.

OFF says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:04pm

REally nice game lack maybe of more challenge : time limit, people inside the building, zone to avoid on the building, fire to avoid. But the game is really well finished. It could have been evne more old looking even in the graphics, but it's still very impressive.

Krunoslav says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:16pm

@x2l2: juegazo, justamente!
Nice concept, original and I liked the ambience created by the music and the effects.

AdayMC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Nice and polished game, I liked the gameplay, it reminds me to Jenga board game.

Good style and mood, good work!

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Great concept and really fun game! I wish there could have been some ai, though and it would have been harder if the power meter went up and down. Overall, really nice job!

wesley werner says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Simple and fun! Well Done!

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:24pm

This is a rather good multiplayer game, and a great take on Jenga. I would really see this go well as a smartphone game, maybe with gyro sensors that also effect how the tower's movement.

flokitall says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Awesome, well polished game! Great job!

The music and art fit together really well and the film grain effect adds a lot to the atmosphere.

Glad to see you've also put this on mobile devices. Obviously this would be way beyond the scope of Ludum Dare, but if you're considering working on this further, online multiplayer (asynchronous or real time) would be a great addition.

A minor change that would be nice would be shortening the animation between turns, right now it blocks input for quite a long time and it takes up a bit too much space. Other than that minor complaint, awesome game!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:28am

A charming take on a tried-and-true monster rivalry. :)

Koneke says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:00am

Looks great, sounds great! My only complaints have already been mentioned, ai of some kind would be nice, powerbar should maybe move down again if you overshoot, and the time between turns is maybe a bit much, but overall it's very fun. The physics also feel really onpoint! Well done!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Pssst - you have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWkF7dp7EeE

PeYMaN says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Thank you so much!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Cool :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Very cool idea! You guys are very creative! Congrats!

zatyka says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:10am

Short, but fun. Played it with my girlfriend. We both enjoyed it. Nice graphics, but I personally think the noise filter took away from the visual.

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:02am

Wish there was more to do than just hold space and let go. Not having any CPU AI really hurts this game as well.

oakus says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:14am

For me there should be some controler for the strength of pushing the pieces of jenga. All the games I have played were really short, because I couldn’t control it and it was a little frustrating.

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:44pm

I likde the graphics. the kong remembers me of some game but I c'ant recall the name. Simple but effective. nice. could be fun on tablet if player could play at the same time.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Almost! Good concept, feel like you could have executed a bit better. Still, though! :)

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Loved the graphics! the game you can play with someone else :) well it is just great!
well done on your entry! that was a flaback to the 30's! :D

qkerguelen says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Loved it! Wish there were more multiplayer games in LDs!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Good game I really like the music!

dos says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Love the visual noise effect! Fun little minigame.

Zccc says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

This is amazing, really great idea :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]