Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Homeland

by Kubees - Compo Entry

Hi!

I am Kubees and this game, Homeland, is my first ever Compo entry. I was two times on Jam with friend, but Compo is much more stressfull. But I did it and here it is!

I won´t tell you so much about my game, just try it. It is interactive movie aaand it has story! Propably beacuse it is movie... This game WASN´T designed for fullscreen, so if you find some graphic bugs, leave here a comment, thank you!

So, that´s all, thank you for playing! Leave a comment with tips and opinions and links to your games! Also, visit my studio Dombee Softworks on facebook (here! https://www.facebook.com/Dombeesoftworks ). Thank you so much for playing one more time, hope you enjoied this experience! Have a nice day!

--Kubees

EDIT 1
So, some people can´t run this game, because of the .swf format, so I published .exe. If you want to run .swf, you will need to have Adobe Flash Player vesrion 11 or higher!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Audio4.16
#61Mood3.84
#89Innovation3.72
#111Overall3.73
#125Graphics3.90
#158Humor3.44
#208Theme3.79
#239Fun3.37
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:36am

#Deep
Nice music, nice graphics, intriguing message.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

Haha this made me smile, music was really catchy and I did enjoy trying to find what to click on next to continue :).

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Deep. Fun to find object to click.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:58pm

I liked it, even if the click boxes were *tiny*.

DoggyDog says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Simple, great idea, awesome graphics and music!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I loved the music and interactive game, however, I got frustrated trying to figure out what to click on next. THAT was annoying. Everything else was funnnnnnn!!!!

Frozen Ninja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Like the message, the art style too. It seems however that the engine you are using has some trouble with audio looping, either that or your sound files weren't cropped to the beat, i like that the music layers hover, good first game man!

hammerfrenzy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:08am

Nice! Liked the music and watching the world grow as you clicked.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:49am

Cute to death.Really cool concept, really great graphics, great music.

Tommyno222 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Amazing experience and very deep thought! Sometimes it's tricky to figure out where to click as detection zones are very small but I enjoyed it a lot.

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:23pm

this is so cool!! aha awesome entry

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Awesome game! Quite noting that you are a musician as the music is extremely awesome and well integrated in the game! I must say that the game felt a lot more awesome (if that was possible) in fullscreen, so don't try to scare us players from playing in full screen!

Thanks for the experience, awesome game with an awesome end text!

Vladirien says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Nice game and cute graphics. A bit hard to find what to click on the game.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Kubees says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

THANKS GUYS FOR GREAT REVIEWS! I got pretty good rating, everything under 300! With audio, I managed to be in 25 best (I am concretely 13th)! Thank you guys for support and rating of my game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]